We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, functional, close to railway station for better and worse” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal International Leipzig

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal International Leipzig to your Saves list
Royal International Leipzig
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Richard-Wagner-Strasse 10, 04109 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Big, functional, close to railway station for better and worse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Spent one night here while at a conferences. Rooms are relatively large, furnished in functional, modern and simple style. A kind of mix between DDR-chic and American student dorm. Ours had a kitchenette, quite spacious, that some people would find useful.
If you are a light sleeper - and not, like us, an exhausted conference goer who also went to watch football at the Leipzig stadium - you may find the traffic noise disturbing, especially in the rooms facing the railway station area.

Room Tip: Rooms are relatively spacious. Those facing the railway station inevitably get some noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    63
    40
    25
    34
See reviews for
22
54
22
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The hotel itself is quite nice: is clean, the reception staff are nice and accommodating, I had wifi in my room, unlike other people, the rooms are spacious, comfy beds, it had a kitchen, decent shower, great location.
Not so good were the very noisy roadworks outside, which apparently will go on until sept/oct 2012. Make sure you ask for a courtyard facing room, very quiet. The staff changed my room as soon as I asked, it was smaller than the other one, but at least quiet.
No air conditioning, why oh why is this so difficult to find in Germany, and they do provide a kitchenette, with plates, cutlery, kettle and microwave, but not even a small pot or pan. When asked, I was told the management doesn't provide this - so what's the point of having a kitchen in the first place? So if you want to save some money by cooking a meal a day in the room, bring your own pot :D
The electric lighting both in the room and in the bathroom is too weak - buy more powerful bulbs plz.
No idea how the breakfast was, I was never up in time to eat it, and didn't even see what the bar/breakfast room looked like.

Room Tip: Until the building works go on (sept/oct 2012 apparently), ask for a courtyard facing room. Otherwis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The advantage of this hotel is that it is in easy walking distance to the Hauptbahnhof and the city centre with its many beautiful buildings and sites. It is also clean and reasonably priced, but should not be described as a 4Star Hotel. Our twin room was large enough but did not have an iota of ambience or character. The furniture was reminiscent of office furniture. The twin beds were narrow with thin mattresses and only 1 lumpy pillow each. The bathroom was exceedingly small, even by German standards. In a supposedly 4Star Hotel we did not expect the toiletries such as shampoo and body wash, to be in containers attached to the walls. We found the room depressing and checked out after the first night of a planned (and booked) 3 night stay as there was no hot water in the morning! The boiler needed to be fixed, and of course this can happen. But as I had pre-booked through a wellknown travel site we had to pay the full amount, with no concessions made for the collapse of the hot weater system! So double check with whom you make your booking and their cancellation conditions so that there won't be any nasty surprises! We "escaped" to the Marriott Hotel next door for the remainder of our stay, and loved it!!!
Very comfy beds, a generous number of pillows, soft carpet, and all the other little luxuries you expect in a 4Star Hotel! It is well worth the slightly higher price! Interestingly, the receptionist told us that they were used to people changing over from the Royal. So, on your next visit to the beautiful city of Leipzig, stay at the Marriott!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Stayed in April '12 & had 2 different rooms, both were massive and had a type of open pantry incl. fridge but no tray with coffee/tea/sugar. All was very clean, bathrooms (no window) all modern & also clean. Lighting could be improved a lot but was ok at the bedside. Furniture is a little bit on the dated side though but beds were comfy. Very pleasant & helpful staff.
Lovely, varied breakfast: Cakes, fresh fruit, pancakes, joghurts, salmon, herring, cheese, cold meats, 5-6 different types of bread/bread rolls, different juices, teas & coffee aplenty.
If you close the window, a lot of the building noise is blocked out but that is a major minus if
you're used to opening windows.
Not the Hotel's fault though that a major tunnel is being built.
Would stay again & can warmly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Very good views if opting for street room - cannot comment on the inside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Nice hotel located right across the street from the railroad station. Quiet rooms, with very comfortable beds. The staff was very nice and helpful. All in all, a great hotel experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed at the hotel over Easter weekend, 2012. The hotel is centrally located, it's about a 5 minutes walk to the train station, the Rathaus and to St. Nikolas Church and about 10 minutes to St. Thomas Church. I found the young women at the reception desk to be nice (unlike some reviews I've read). I was traveling by myself and this is the first time I've ONLY had a twin bed. My room had a sloping roof. It was like a studio apartment with a small kitchen area and a couch. If there had not been someone walking by when I was trying to open the door, I'm not sure I would have been able to get it open. They use a "fob" that electronically allows it to open, but then it has a small knob to open. I think that anyone with problems with hand grasping would have problems trying to open the door (I will attach a picture of the door, the top part is just to pull it open and does not move). The room I was in has not been painted in years (it looks like it has been at least 10 years since the rooms have been refurbished). I was warned in another review that they do not provide shampoo or conditioner. They have a soap dispenser in the bathroom and shower( both were labeled "Tricky Ricky" which was appropriate as I tried to figure out how to get soap from them... and I felt like the one in the shower was diluted). The hotel advertises free wifi. The Wi-fi works if you are on one of the first two floors. I was on the 5th, so had to go down to the lobby to use the wi-fi. On a positive note (besides the location within sight of the train station and centrally located) they do have a great breakfast buffet with more food than a lot of hotels I've been in. Overall, I'm not sure it was worth the 200 euros I paid for a single bed, even with the buffet. The hotel sits on a corner and there is construction on both sides which is a pain. Fortunately because I was there over Easter weekend, there wasn't any work going on at the construction sights.

Room Tip: One that doesn't face either street. Don't tell them you are traveling alone and maybe you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my parents (in their 60's) for a trip around Germany. This hotel was so much better than expected!! The rooms were huge, very comfortable and well furnished. The hotel is located on the corner of the main shopping area, it's about a 10 minute casual stroll to the Thomaskirche and a short walk to the Natural History museum. The main train station is accross the main road. Although it is very central the rooms are very quiet. The breakfast was quite good too. The reception staff were fantastic, great english , courteous, helpful and very knowledgeable.
The price was what knocked me over, I thought the rooms would be quite small, given that they were not expensive.
I was so impressed with the value, condition and service at this hotel I would wholeheartedly recommend it and will stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the road have a better view, there is a construction site along one side. Couldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal International Leipzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal International Leipzig

Address: Richard-Wagner-Strasse 10, 04109 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal International Leipzig 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal International Leipzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal International Leipzig Hotel Leipzig
Royal International Hotel Leipzig

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal International Leipzig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.