We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food at a very reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zest

Zest
Bornaische Strasse 54, 04277 Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
0341 / 231 91 26
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 553 Restaurants in Leipzig
Restaurant details
Barnet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb food at a very reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I took our son and his wife to this small vegetarian/vegan restaurant in South Leipzig. The menu is in English as well as German, and changes seasonally. The burgers were amazing - you have to choose 5 times from a range of fillings - and my wife was ecstatic about her 'meze' - a wonderful selection of 7 out of 10 ingredients, each one delicious, with superb home-made breads! The freshly made juices were also to die for.... the place is down in the more 'alternative' end of town, but trams 10 or 11 stop close by. It's a must!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I want the recipes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This food was so good that I would like to see this restaurant/the chef publish a recipe book. If I lived in Leipzig, or indeed Germany, I would be a regular visitor to make my way through the menu. My food was incredibly tasty as were the dishes that my friends chose. I even considered asking the people at the next table if I could try theirs (but didn't). A shining star in an otherwise curious area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Special, inspiring vegan food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a great vegan restaurant, I was releived to find it after all you often get is that vegan hot dog or vegan burger, or veggies with rice/pasta when going to vegetarian/vegan restaurants. The food is delicious and special, you have hardly ever eaten veggies, seitan or tofu that way before (at least I hardly haven't), even my omnivore Mum was amazed. It's a tiny place so be sure to book a table in advance.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Truly amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Been here one time while visiting Germany and it was truly amazing!
The food is made of season products. There's a variety of vegetarian and vegan dishes to chose from. Really enjoyed home made lemonade...
You might give up meat for food like this. ;)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good and interesting food, but service is a problem”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were a party of ten fir lunch and even though we were 80% of the clientele, it took over an hour to actually get our food. The food was good -- the soups were especially wonderful. There is some variety, and a lot of "build your own..." allowing varieties on set dishes. Even people who don't usually eat vegetarian, will find this vegetarian menu satisfying. But if you can call in your order by phone an hour in advance, you'll have a better experience. Everything cooked fresh but the time it all takes is a real challenge. Some joked the place should be called "zets" (sit) instead of Zest.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zest also viewed

Leipzig, Saxony
Leipzig, Saxony
 
Leipzig, Saxony
 

Been to Zest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.