We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating & Unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palace (Residenzschloss)

Royal Palace (Residenzschloss)
Schlossplatz | Taschenbergpalais 2, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany (Innere Altstadt)
351 49 14 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 60 Attractions in Dresden
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, History Museums, Cultural
Attraction details
Detroit, MI
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fascinating & Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I absolutely loved this place! I visited the Historic Green Vault one afternoon (which was an incredible experience), then returned a few days later to see the rest of the collections. I was even more impressed with the New Green Vault, and really enjoyed the Turkish Chamber (the tents were amazing) and the Armory. When planning my visit, it seemed that it would be too overwhelming to try and see everything the Residenzschloss has to offer, but that wasn't the case at all. Check it all out if you can, you won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    50
    5
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire/Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“English Speakers Will Have No Trouble”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

There are already 63 reviews of this site, so I'll just tell you that the audioguides for both the Historisches Grunes Gewolbe and the Neues Grunes Gewolbe in the castle have very good English explanations. And if you're audioed-out after having listened to three hours worth in the Historical Green Vault, there are English descriptions below each item in the New Green Vault. There was no English, as I recall, in either the Turchische Cammer (Turkish chamber) or the Rustkammer (armory). A few of the room guards speak a little English, but most do not. Everyone is handed an audioguide upon entering the historic rooms. But for the other audio guide you have to leave an ID. I don't carry my driver's license overseas; I don't hand over my passport to anyone. So I didn't have an ID with me and couldn't borrow a (free) audioguide. I was perfectly happy without audio.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worth a walk around the free areas.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We didn't walk through the whole thing, as it was rather expensive, but the history about the building itself and the one connected to it, which was built for the king's mistress, was very interesting! Definitely worth walking into the free areas and the indoor courtyard. We were more interested in the building and architecture than the exhibits anyway, which weren't even German related. Free bathroom as well!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Must see green vault.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Jewels and more Jewels like one has not seen before. The vault is overwhelming. Check times to make sure it is open. They close museums on different days.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Such a lot to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I was really impressed with all the treasures to be seen in the Royal Palace. Particulary fascinating for me was the Turkish section where they have full tents built.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Palace (Residenzschloss) also viewed

Dresden, Saxony
 

Been to Royal Palace (Residenzschloss)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palace (Residenzschloss), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.