We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Schloss Eckberg, or Villa Rufolo on Elbe.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schloss Eckberg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Schloss Eckberg to your Saves list
Schloss Eckberg
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bautzner Strasse 134, 01099 Dresden, Saxony, Germany (Loschwitz)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 124 Hotels in Dresden
Boston
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
“Schloss Eckberg, or Villa Rufolo on Elbe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Schloss Eckberg is a truly magnificent place that surpassed our expectations in many ways. Although it is not inexpensive, it is such a worthwhile experience to stay there.

I knew of the hotel high reputation, yet we were still surprised by utmost professionalism in service and accommodations. We were offered to upgrade to a room in the castle for 57 euros, and it was a great choice - the room was superb, with fabulous view of Elbe and the park, extremely comfortable bed, exceptionally adorned bathroom, a plate a fresh fruit and a bottle of water - that is true hospitality by modern standards, in a world where "Herzlich Willkommen" often comes at a measly price of a few euros for bottled water even in better hotels, revealing their cheap nature. Here in Schloss Eckberg everything was done with generosity and elegance.

The room is indeed well-adorned, there was also a fridge and a safe. We were overly elated after great breakfast and champagne (not free, though) to forget our passports and wallets in the safe, and when called to the hotel a few hours after checking-out, from the auto bahn to Berlin, they've found it and were willing to ship to Berlin via UPS, but due to the holiday we chose to return to pick it up; all was ready and intact.

The breakfast was fantastic, with herring salads of a few kinds. There is fabulous outside seating for breakfast, allowing to enjoy the gardens and the view over Elbe to the horizon. The gardens were particularly beautiful at the time of our stay, in June, with roses blooming, and the design reminded of the gardens of Villa Rufolo in Ravello, where Wagner supposedly worked on Parsifal.

Perhaps the very high quality of this hotel comes from the direct supervision of its owners - it feels as someone is truly engaged into making a stay here a special memorable experience; oen does not get the same feeling in Hyatts or Hiltons. Definitely this is so far the best hotel we've stayed in Germany. Bravi!

Parking is free at the hotel; I really don't have anything critical about this place - maybe, being picky, it would be nice if they had a pool. But I am not sure if that is a necessity in a place like this. They have great access to the river bank (Elbe) and bicycle trail along the river, truly a beautiful place it is. One thing is that it is not in the center, and without a car it is probably not that easy to each it by tram - meaning this is a hotel for travelers with a car, and there was a Lamborghini parked there at the Schloss indeed. This is a place to return, even if you don't drive a Lamborghini.

Room Tip: Get an upgrade to the room in the castle itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    22
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
44
5
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Attended friends wedding held at the hotel. Stayed 4 days. Service, rooms, scenery, area, atmosphere - 5 star all the way. Only one comment - partying too much to get some sleep :-)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

This lovely hotel totally exceeded our expectations! It is not an inexpensive hotel, but it was certainly worth it! We had a room in the Kavalierhaus, modern and well equipped, and we enjoyed our short walk to the castle where we had breakfast and dinner. We had booked a "half pension" package and we were truly delighted with the quality of the food and the wines and the service. The location and the park are stunning and the view on the river is beautiful. It was unfortunately too cold to enjoy our meals outside, but we would love to go back during the summer be able to do it. All staff members were friendly and competent and they all contributed to make our stay memorable.
Travelling to Dresden with public transport was easy and inexpensive, and I would certainly recommmend to leave the car at the hotel. It was great to go back to "our" castle for dinner at the end of a long day of sightseeing!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Bay, Alaska
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Schloss Eckberg sits on grounds on a cliff overlooking the Elbe. There's a castle with rooms (where the restaurant and breakfast is served), and another building which is the Kavalierhaus which houses the not as ritzy. Absolutely immaculate property. My room in the Kavailierhaus was a suite with minibar, two small LCDs, a couch, safe, et. al. The only knock is no bathtub, but the shower was of good-size and great water pressure/temperature. I stayed here 3 nights. Free parking outside, felt very comfortable parking there. Free wireless internet (must get login/password every day). Breakfast is in the castle (just a 3 minute walk), and is ample and delicious and fancier than typical. On a side note, and I'm not even sure if the hotel is too blame or just me, but I arrived with an IPOD, and left without one. I was sure I left in the room, but not 100% certain. I do have my suspicions it may have been stolen from hotel workers though. (You need an electronic key just to enter the building, and yes there was a safe in the room, but it was very fickle.) Oh, Dresden is cool, and so is Swiss Saxony. Tram 11 about 5 minutes walk away - takes 20 minutes to downtown.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2007

Found this listing on Lonely Planet and was a bit concerned when I made the booking that it would work for us. We are a family of four with two teens. But, boy, are we glad we did!!! It was a little out of town up on hill overlooking Dresden, but the tram has a stop right out the front gate so it worked out perfectly for us. It is an old castle property with two parts you can stay in. We opted for the Cavalier House which was a bit cheaper but still allowed us to stay on the property and enjoy all the pluses. Food at the hotel is above top notch. We had two excellent meals-- although be warned, it is a bit expensive. But the food was well prepared and very creative. Sevice all around is excellent. After walking Dresden for three solid days, I truely believe we made the right choice. I am glad we stayed a bit out of the downtown section and enjoyed the quiet and views of the Schloss Eckberg.

  • Liked — food was excellent
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2003

I stayed at the Hotel Schloss Eckberg for 3 nights in January 2003. I stayed in the Kavaliers house which was not in the main castle, but it was a very good value. The rooms were spacious enough with a nice sitting room with a couch which made it very comfortable to watch TV and relax. The room I was in was spotlessly clean, well maintained, had an excellent shower and good lighting. The staff was very friendly and efficient. The grounds are very picturesque and with a snowfall, it was amazingly beautiful. I would definitely come back.I had a rental car which I found to be useful since the hotel is not really centrally located. Public transportation is good, cheap and nearby, but for those that aren't too adventurous or willing to try their German will need to budget a little extra money for taxis back and forth between the hotel and the various city sights.

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schloss Eckberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schloss Eckberg

Address: Bautzner Strasse 134, 01099 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden > Loschwitz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 124 Hotels in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Schloss Eckberg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Schloss Eckberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schloss Eckberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.