We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun location, should be 3.5 stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Las Tapas

Las Tapas
Muenzgasse 4 | 01067 Dresden, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
+49 351 4960108
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #169 of 710 Restaurants in Dresden
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Experience our Mediterranean flair paired with the uniqueness of Spanish cooking in the Munzgasse, the most popular restaurant mile between the Sachsische Dampfschiffahrt and the Frauenkirche. Fine foods await you in the tapas vitrines at the bar, with the famous Spanish air-dried hams hanging from ceiling. You may also choose among a wide range of well-tempered wines and traditionally prepared foods. Free wifi, heated terrace, spanish cooking as well as friendly service. Las Tapas the first spanish restaurant (since 1999) in the Muenzgasse near Frauenkirche
Canuck in Idaho
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Fun location, should be 3.5 stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My friend discovered this tapas restaurant on her last trip and we snagged the only open table. There were 3 of us, so we ordered the tapas for 2 plus a couple of extra items. Most of the food was delicious especially the artichokes and the salt potatoes; the questionable shrimp was the only thing we did not care for. However, my spouse and friend did not think the food was as good as the last time they were there and decided they probably would not return. I think my favorite part of this place was the location in an alley full of restaurants and people having a great time.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    47
    22
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I visited this restaurant yesterday and last year and still is very good restaurant. We traied several tapas - sausages, great ham, meatballs and very nice sandria royal. They have super dark bread. Service is very good, menu in English. You can see and choose several tapas in the bar. Perfect !

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BS-Salmunster
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“past its best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

the last time I had visited Las Tapas, some 8 years ago, I had found it very good, so this week when in Dresden we went there for dinner, the restaurant is still attractive, and the service is friendly if not always competent, the food is not what I remember and the house wine both red and white are not to be recommended the price was high for what we got, not a place to send your friends.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Reasonable prices for seafood in the heart of Old Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Not many choices for non-German food in Dresden Old Town, so this place is a good find. I showed up on a Friday in early August around 2pm without a reservation, and there were plenty of tables available indoors. The seafood tapas were pretty good considering that it's Germany and Dresden is nowhere near the sea. Quantities were good for the price. Service in general is pretty poor, though the last server I got (out of 4) was very good. English menus are available. I would go back again, because I love seafood and I doubt there is any other place with comparable food quality and prices in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good, fun meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The tapas bar is very much alive, with a cross section from starry eyed couples to large, local family outings. This, combined with the somewhat cramped quarters, lively street parade and shared food makes it an enjoyable, fun experience, with the time passing quickly.

The service appears short numbered compared to the crowd, but is actually very effective in getting your order in and bringing the drinks and food out. They offered us a chance to shift from the bar to a lovely table without request, even though new patrons would have grabbed at it - great service culture.

Food is typical tapas, with medium sized serves (for example, squids as two tubes, mushrooms dish about one large cup) at a reasonable price. All were cooked well, with good quality ingredients. House wine was good, no need for anything else.

I would recommend this as a good alternative to the German or Italian more commonly on offer. Would not hesitate to go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Tapas also viewed

 

Been to Las Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Tapas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.