We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and well positioned hotel ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Dresden Newa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Dresden Newa to your Saves list
Pullman Dresden Newa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prager Str. 2c, 01069 Dresden, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Mercure Hotel Newa Dresden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 125 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Modern and well positioned hotel ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed over one night at this modern and well situated hotel. Our room faced over a beautiful shopping square and the view was made even better by the floor- to- ceiling windows! All the finished in the rooms are modern which makes for a very comfortable experience. The hotel is a short walk from the old city centre as well as the well- priced shops in close proximity.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinhard H, Manager at Pullman Dresden Newa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Good day,

we are delighted that you have taken the time to review your stay and that you liked so well in our hotel. And thank you for the very good rating. This shows us that we are on the right track to make our guests well-satisfied.

Nice if you want to recommend us. And also you would love to come back very soon if you are in Dresden - we look forward to you.

Kind regards - the team of your Pullman Dresden Newa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    405
    107
    20
    13
See reviews for
95
470
105
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is extremely modern and well appointed and is situated very conveniently for both the railway station and city centre. Our room on the 14th floor provides superb views, our room overlooking the railway station and the countryside beyond. The staff are great and the included breakfast excellent. But are we in hotel paradise? Unfortunately not, because the air conditioning isn't working. The night staff said that it isn't swtiched on till the 1st May. The day staff say that it is being repaired but a previous reviewer was told that it is not switched on till the 1st May too. So I guess the day staff are covering for a ridiculous management decision not to run the air conditioning until the 1st May even though right now the temperature is 24 degrees in the day despite the calendar saying it's still winter. Either way, the full glass wall of the room makes it like a greenhouse inside, making the room very uncomfortable at night. We can open a window but then the noise of the city and the station especially makes sleeping in sauna conditions impossible. When we first saw the room we were so very pleased. But what appeared so promising has turned out to be so disappointing.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellently presented. Just don't visit before the 1st May!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinhard H, Manager at Pullman Dresden Newa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Good day and thank you for your good assessment of the employees of our hotel, our breakfast and the excellent location of our hotel right in the city. We are pleased that we were able to make happy with it.

As for the air conditioning, so we're sorry for your understandable trouble. We had placed a complicated and complex renovation of air conditioning intentionally on the months from February to April to be finished by the beginning of the warmer season. With daily at quite high temperatures during this period we could not count. Now, however, the air conditioning is working again.

Nice if you would still recommend us. But please come back to us again - and see for yourself then also excellent temperatures in your room.

Kind regards - the team of Pullman Dresden Newa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmead
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived to a really warm welcome from the check in lady. She was so efficient and gave us a map, voucher for a drink. We had a room on the 7 th floor facing towards the station. Good size room, nice to have a table and 2 chairs by the window. It had the modern glass shower in the middle with the rain shower head which was excellent. Service was excellent when we requested additional pillow and a kettle and both were delivered very quickly. Our rate included buffett breakfast which had an excellent range. Internet was also ncluded and was good speed. On our morning of departure we had to leave before 6.30 and we asked if a breakfast box could be made up for us. When we were ready to check out they were there for us. What a fantastic spread. 3 good quality sandwiches, lots of fruit, muffins, vegetables and water. A nice spread for our long train trip to Budapest that day. The only negative point I can think of was the air conditioning cooling was not on. While we were there it was quite warm up to 18 degrees on 2 of our 3 days. Our room had large glass windows and when we came back the room was very warm. We were advised by a staff member that the air conditioning cooling had not yet been turned on due to the outside temperatures but on those days 2 days it had got to about 18 and therefore made the room very warm. Great location for the train about a 3 min walk to the train station. Major shopping centre outside great range of shops. The old town about 15 min walk away. Worth taking a stroll to the major park which is beside the zoo. It is only about 10 min walk away and a lovely spot for a stroll or running which we did. There is a fantastic house in the middle and a beer garden.

Room Tip: Request a high floor room on the Prager Strasse Side as room will be cooler on hot days and you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinhard H, Manager at Pullman Dresden Newa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Good day,

We are pleased that you have taken the time for such a detailed review of your stay and that it has given you so very much in our hotel. And thanks for the consistently good grades. As a result, we know that we are on the right way to provide our guests on all sides happy. Nice if you want to recommend us. And also you would love to come back soon - we look forward to meeting you.

Kind regards - the team of your Pullman Dresden Newa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

There really isn't too much to complain about this hotel. It's professional, complete for what any traveller needs and is what you would expect from a hotel catered to business types.

Perched right next to the main train station, and then down the road from the long shopping strip and museums, the location sells itself.

The building appears dated from the outside, with only some areas within the hotel also telling of its age. But the hotel predominantly has been well maintained and generally kept up to date with modern furnishings, as can be seen from the moment you walk through the lobby.

The room was great. A comfortable bed, fantastic shower and bathroom facilities, plenty of space and decent wardrobe space. Cable TV, electronic safe, fridge and a work desk are provided in the room for your convenience. As I said, the basics are fine and what you should expect from a 4-star.

There is also a small gym available for your use, with a small selection of equipment for use. But it is open 24 hours and stocked with bottled water and fruit.

Overall, a decent option in Dresden, worthy of the rate we paid and what a 4-star should deliver you.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinhard H, Manager at Pullman Dresden Newa, responded to this review, March 23, 2015
Good day,

We are pleased that you have taken the time for a detailed review of your stay and that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel as well. And thanks for the consistently good rating, especially of your room and the equipment. This shows us that we are on the right track to provide our guests on all sides happy.

Nice if you would recommend us. And even occasionally want to be our guest again. We look forward to you.

Kind regards - the team of your Pullman Dresden Newa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Pullman has a great location if you come to Dresden for shopping trip. The standard rooms are clean, practically done. With the shower and toilet right in the bedroom (just glass door separation) a high degree of intimity is necessary. Indeed not perfect for a first romantic weekend or just friends stay. You will share more than intended. But the location is good, the reception staff very helpful (early checkin, late checkout), the parking reasonably priced (18eur per night).
If you come to Dresden for a weekend trip, romance or sightseeing, stay directly in the oldtown or across the river in the newtown. And careful, in Germany, all shops are CLOSED on Sunday, so the Prager strasse beneath your room will resemble a ghost town :)

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinhard H, Manager at Pullman Dresden Newa, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
Good day, We are pleased that you have taken the time to review your stay and that you liked our hotel. And thanks for the good review, especially our employees. This shows us that we are on the right track to provide our guests on all sides happy. Nice if you want to recommend us. And you would love to come back again - we look forward to meeting you. Kind regards - the team of your Pullman Dresden Newa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Dresden Newa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Dresden Newa

Address: Prager Str. 2c, 01069 Dresden, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Mercure Hotel Newa Dresden)
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#11 Business Hotel in Dresden
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
#19 Family Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pullman Dresden Newa 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pullman Dresden Newa awaits you in an ideal city centre location right on the bustling Prager Strasse shopping boulevard. Your hotel in Dresden's modern city centre is easy and quick to reach either by public transport or by car. Dresden's renowned sights and its key business addresses are just a short distance away. You can look forward to an innovative hotel concept designed to meet your wishes and expectations. Experience a hotel with style and appeal, personal service and an atmosphere of well-being. Whether you are here on business, for a conference or on a relaxing holiday, your stay in Dresden will become an experience to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pullman Dresden Newa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Dresden Newa Hotel Dresden
Accor Dresden Newa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Dresden Newa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.