We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Martha Dresden

Save Saved
You added Hotel Martha Dresden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Martha Dresden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieritzstrasse 11, 01097 Dresden, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Hotel Martha Hospiz Dresden) (Innere Neustadt)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #22 of 123 hotels in Dresden
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and place was excellent. Very conveniently located 5mins walk from train station and within 10min walk over bridge to main square. Best to stay on this side for more local and therefore less expensive food. The entire city is so walkable that for us it was about convenience to the train to come and leave. The breakfast that is included is excellent. As are the staff! I'd book this place again no question.
Food Tip: we also ate at a pasta place nearby called the Pasta Manufacturer (but in German). It was rediculosly inexpensive and very good (bottle of great Italian red wine for 12.50euros and pasta for 6.50euros).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
14
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NIAGARA ON THE LAKE
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Martha. This is a wonderful hotel with large well appointed rooms. Our room had a two person soaker tub, great after a day of seeing the sights in the old town. The Neustadt location is quiet and an easy, pleasant walk into old town. The breakfast area was lovely, with a large choice of items. The hotel has a pretty garden area. We had wine in the garden area one evening and it was good and also reasonable (unlike most hotels).
The hotel is wheel chair friendly (there were several people each morning at breakfast who had chairs and there was easy access for each person, even with the largest of chairs), which is wonderful.
The hotel donates a portion of the proceeds to the poor, from what I understand.
We look forward to staying at the Martha again.

Room Tip: If possible a garden room would be the prettiest and also very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I recently led a group of cyclist from Prague to Dresden and I spent our last night at Martha hotel.
We were all very impressed by the kindness of the staff and the quality of the room at an affordable price. Surely Martha will be my choice all the time I will go to Dresden.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury-uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights while attending DATE2012 at the Exhibition Centre just over the bridge. The hotel is very pleasant, and my room up on the top floor was both large and nicely equipped.

For those who like some fresh air between stints at the Exhibition centre, the hotel can hire a bike for 6Euro a day...much better than a taxi if the sun is shining. It also allows you to cycle along the river banks, over the bridges and around the old town.

I'd also note the honesty of the staff, as I left a wallet in their safe, on departing. It was returned ASAP, and at no charge! I would not hesitate to return, or to recommend it to others.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRW
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is a very sweet hotel in Neustadt. I found the location very convenient as it's in a nice and quite street but only a short 15 min walk to the Altstadt and even closer to a few relaxed restaurants and shops in Neustadt. While my (single) room was not really newly furbished, the bathroom was huge and bright and clean. The double rooms were also lovingly decorated. Staff was friendly and helpful in organizing visits for us. The breakfast selection was absolutely satisfying in a very nice room. There's also a wintergarden and patio.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

I stayed there for 2 nights. Excellent in all aspects, and very close to the old and new towns as well as Neustadt railway station.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

The hotel is located in the Neustadt district of Dresden, a mere 5 minutes walk from the Neustadt train station and a 10 minutes walk to Altstadt where most of the tourist sites are located. My single room was lovely and I really liked its design. Upon opening the door of my room, I entered a small ante room with closets, and then walked through another door into the remaining living space. As the second door can also be shut, this ensures that no noise can possibly heard from the hallway. The remainder of the hotel room consisted of the bedroom, a separate alcove with a desk, and a really nice bathroom with a walk-in shower. Free WiFi. I was really impressed.

The hotel staff were friendly and the buffet breakfast good. And I really liked staying in an area away from the hustle and bustle of Alstadt. Lots of restaurants in Neustadt.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Martha Dresden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Martha Dresden

Address: Nieritzstrasse 11, 01097 Dresden, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Hotel Martha Hospiz Dresden)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden > Innere Neustadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 123 hotels in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Martha Dresden 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Martha Dresden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Martha Dresden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.