We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stylish hotel let down by a few details” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski to your Saves list
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taschenberg 3, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany (Innere Altstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 124 Hotels in Dresden
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“A stylish hotel let down by a few details”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Kempinsky's style is swanky and the public areas of this hotel are certainly that! The rooms are large, but the space isn't particularly well planned. Also, the TV system in the room was too difficult to navigate- I couldn't find an english speaking tv station other than Al jazeera! In common with many german hotels, the pillows provided were one very large pillow and one small thin pillow, which is just weird unless you're german! ( they did bring more pillows on request)
My biggest criticism was the gym- poorly equipped, no water, no A/C, only one german tv station, and no attendent, even though it was part of the spa area. It's not as if the city is so big that everyone gets their exercise walking!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Taschenberg, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear j0gli,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
Furthermore, we would like to take this opportunity to apologise for our shortfall in communicating to you upon check in the availability of a room comfort menu in every room offering, amongst others, a broad selection of alternative bedding options. Also, a channel overview is available through the “menu” button on the TV remote control – another important detail which we will work on communicating more clearly to our guests in future. Of course, we have immediately forwarded your comment regarding the problems you encountered with regards to the gym to the Spa supervisor.

Dear j0gli, we thank you again for your honest feedback which we consider a very important source in our endeavour to improve our service and performance standards on a daily basis.
We would be delighted to welcome you again to on your next trip to Dresden and remain
with kind regards,
Your Team at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    131
    49
    8
    5
See reviews for
100
284
53
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Okay -- it's expensive -- but worth every penny! Right across the street from the Green Vault. Concierge will get you tickets if you didn't book early. The desk representative will personally escort you to your room. Service is only beginning there! The rooms and suites are beautiful. The city is historic. There is so much to see and do. Just a wonderful city and place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I really loved this hotel. Very well decorated. Staff are great. Rooms are spacious. Fine breakfast and oh the location. Just where you should be (if you are a tourist, not sure if you are going in a business trip)...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Had to visit Dresden for a GM's meeting where the party was booked in to the Kempinski, i think possibly the biggest drawback for this hotel is the name, it really takes some remembering, so word of mouth reccomendations are a little difficult.

The rennovation of this classic building has been beautifully carried out, the service was excellent and the rooms stunning. the central court yard is particulary pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Tasch is an old palace remade by the European chain Kempinski into a very large hotel. Service was courteous, the rooms were large and well appointed, the location was central. The only thing I didn't like about the Tasch is that my room (327) was all the way at the end of the hotel almost a one block walk from the hotel only entrance. My friends were on room 306 on the same floor but on the opposite site, it took me almost 5 minutes of brisk walking through the hallways to reach their room. The mattresses are typical of Europe, a glamorized, padded box-spring so hard it made me sleep on top of the extra pillow I asked for. Still, it is a very nice property and everybody did their job well and with little fuzz. Would return for sure if I'm ever back in Dresden.

Room Tip: Ask for a low number room (00 to 10) they are closer to lobby/main elevator)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Taschenberg, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear miamiajp,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us! We were delighted to read that the property and especially the service were to your liking.

Furthermore, we apologize for the insufficient communication in regards to the three different hotel entrances available to our guests. For your next stay, our reservations team will be more than happy to arrange for neighboring rooms according to your information about social affiliations and room type preferences. Also, a room comfort menu is available in every room offering a selection of pillows and bedding options – and our Executive Housekeeper will be happy to assist you with anything else, in order to make sure you are getting the well-deserved rest and comfort you expect.

With kind regards from Dresden,
Your Team at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Like so much of the old city of Dresden, this building was essentially destroyed in the 1945 Allied air raids. It was rebuilt and has charmed guests for many years according to travel books and TripAdvisor reviews.
This was our first visit and it was a delightful three days - the service, the accommodation, the daily buffet breakfasts and a couple of other meals, the location were all high quality

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

great location! the rooms are very nice and the staff very helpful. You have a choice of 2-3 restaurants in the hotel and there's a little coffee shop wihch is just great to sit down and get some work done in a cosy atmophere. The hotel's bar is a really cool place to chill after work and they have an impressive choice of drinks. The hotel has a fitness center and pool. I found the fitness center to be a bit small and limited in terms of equipment, but hey, you're in the middle of the old town... mind as well go outside for a run!
The breakfast buffet was nice, but a bit pricey for a quick bite before heading to meetings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski

Address: Taschenberg 3, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden > Innere Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#6 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
#7 Family Hotel in Dresden
#8 Business Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Hotel housed in a rebuilt (from WW II rubble) 18th-century Baroque palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Hotel
Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Dresden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.