We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, flawless stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Dresden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hilton Dresden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Dresden Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   An Der Frauenkirche 5, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €103
Ranked #10 of 123 hotels in Dresden
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect location, flawless stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a perfect location for all the attractions of old town. The room are spacious and very clean, and the hotel benefits from a big and modern gym. We had a room on the Executive Floor which gave us access to the lounge, which offers a more personal atmosphere than the canteen like breakfast and dining area which is probably reminiscence to the roots of the hotel which was built pre German reunion. Everybody was very friendly and helpful, and i would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Stefan,

Thank you very much for your kind appreciation and review.

Our main goal is to deliver excellent services to all our guests and we were very glad to read about your pleasant stay.

Our staff is doing their best to help you enjoy every minute of it.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel at your next visit in Dresden.

Kind regards,
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    523
    337
    68
    16
    4
See reviews for
143
358
79
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed last weekend over a Saturday night to take a break from the grey skies in Berlin. I called the Diamond (Hilton Diamond Member) desk in the US because they are a lot better than calling the international desk. - The Diamond desk called the hotel directly since I asked for two rooms that adjoined so that our kids could be in one room and the wife and I in another. Roland at the Hilton Dresden made sure we had our rooms together and even moved us to the 5th floor - Business Floor-. When we arrived Roland recognized us at checkin and everything went very smoothly -Special mention to Roland and his example of customer service is why I spend 60 nights a year at Hilton hotels.

The location is perfect and square in the middle of everything. The indoor pool is great, they have an outdoor jacuzzi big enough to hold 12 people. The gym is solid and not cramped. We had dinner at the bistro to avoid the crowds in the center restaraunt and the food was right on. Piece of advice - it is not the norm to tip in Europe. However, I believe it is the right thing to do. Here is the good news with a few tips/gratuity here and there your face is remembered and you will suddenly find yourself with a higher level of priority than those that are a bit stingier.

Gave it a five star rating.

Room Tip: How the hotel sits you will most likely not have a view of the church but it does not matter because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear David,

It was a pleasure having you and your family as Hilton HHonors Diamond Members at the Hilton Dresden.

Thank you for taking the time to write this very positive review. Your loyalty to Hilton Worldwide is highly appreciated and we are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to Hilton Dresden in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Perfect location right in the center of Dresden with der Frauenkirche as neighbor. Nice rooms and excellent breakfast. Parking is rather expensive but easily accessed just below the Hotel and it is of course heated which is very nice when it is cold and snowing outside. Only thing missing is free internet come on we are in the 21st century.

Room Tip: Free internet is missing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Andreas,

Greetings from Dresden. It was a pleasure having you as our guest at the Hilton Dresden.

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review with your valuable evaluation.

We are happy to inform you that we offer free Internet access to our guests in the public areas of our Hotel for a short time.

Your loyalty to Hilton Worldwide is highly appreciated.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Dresden in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I went here with a friend and we stayed in a room on the business floor for one night. The room was clean and a good size and the bathroom was ok but there was a textile shower curtain over the bath that tended to billow inwards when you took a shower.
The carpet in the hallway has seen better days.
The reception staff and concierge were very friendly and helpful in every way.

In the evening we had a drink at the hotel bar which was VERY pricy. It took nearly an hour for us to be even asked what we want even though only five tables were occupied and there seemed to be three members of staff jumping around - I think everyone had ordered cocktails.
On Sunday morning there was an enormous queue to enter the breakfast area. After waiting a while with little or no progress we left and had breakfast in a cafe in town. That is something I have never experienced in a Hilton or any hotel of this standard

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear User Bizzy6,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete this review regarding your recent visit at the Hilton Dresden.

We very much appreciate your comments as they help us to continuously improve our services and we sincerely apologize for the impression left by the equipment of our bathrooms.

Furthermore we very much regret the inconveniences caused by the non-satisfying service at our Balance Bar and our Hotel Restaurant during breakfast. Your observations have been shared with our Team, as the mentioned services do definitely not belong to the standard we strive to reach and which you may expect from Hilton.

We hope that you will give us the chance to prove that we can be indeed better hosts.
We would be delighted to welcome you again at the Hilton Dresden in future.

Kind regards
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Perfect Hotel in a great location. Excellent Food & Beverage outlets also within the hotel. One of these days even Hilton will provide for free WIFI services particulary on their Executive floors. Concierge advise to leave the hotel at 600am for an 0820 flight
incorrect for a seasoned traveller - I still left too early at 0630 and missed out on a great breakfast.
A hotel definately worthwhile recommending in every other aspect.
Hope to return and the Hilton Dresden will be my first choice with good value for money.
People in Saxonia seem to be very friendly!
Thanks and well done

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear User Chrisinder,

Thank you very much for staying with us recently and for your kind review.

We very much appreciate your gracious remarks concerning our location, restaurants and the quality of service which you encountered from our Team Members.

We are very proud of them and have already shared your compliments. However we sincerely apologize for the incorrect information you received regarding your departure time.

Thank you once again for your comments and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hotel is located about a 15 minute walk from the train station. All the places you'll want to visit - the Zwinger, the opera house, the Elbe River - are all within a few steps of the hotel. The tourist information office is also located very clost by. Unfortunately, free wireless is only available in the lobby. The breakfast buffet is very good with omelets made to order.

Note: there is a grocery store on the lower level of the shopping centre.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear User Rose2364,

Greetings from Dresden. It was a pleasure having you as our guest at the Hilton Dresden.

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review with your valuable evaluation.

Your loyalty to Hilton Worldwide is highly appreciated and we are looking forward to welcoming
you back to Hilton Dresden in the near future.

Kind regards
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

On business trip to Germany had weekend to kill between meetings and decided to visit Dresden as a tourist. Location of the Hilton is just perfect; right in the middle of the old city, straight across from the Frauenkirche. Liked the hotel too, comfortable Hilton standard; rooms are typical and just fine. Offers underground parking at a (hefty, but not excessive) fee. Wifi cost is a bit crazy (switched my ipad to G3 roaming, would cost me a lot less). The place was buzzing during this weekend, many tourists, although it was the middle of winter. Had a dinner and a breakfast in the Bistro, a nice and lively casual place basically on a square in town. At night many locals come and go, there was a soccer game on a large screen TV, service was friendly, food was basic, but good quality (had entrecote with frites and good glass of wine in real bistro style - was excellent). Did no try the more luxury restaurant, being on my own. Hotel has a large gym (apparently also a health club for locals); and did a Sunday morning run there; very nice and very well equipped. All in all, great place for a Dresden cultural visit

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear User FD-GSO,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and for for choosing the Hilton Dresden Hotel.

We are delighted that your experience with us was fulfilling and you enjoyed the location and service of our hotel. Your comments help us to continuously improve our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Dresden in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Dresden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dresden Hotel

Address: An Der Frauenkirche 5, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Dresden
#5 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#8 Business Hotel in Dresden
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Dresden Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Dresden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dresden
Dresden Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Dresden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.