We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No good feeling” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Bellevue Dresden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Bellevue Dresden to your Saves list
The Westin Bellevue Dresden
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Grosse Meissner Strasse 15, 01097 Dresden, Saxony, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 125 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Tilburg, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No good feeling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

21 euro p.p. for breakfast is overdone, as well as a bottle of water in the room for 6 euro.
For everything you have to pay extra. The beds were too soft and did not sleep well. The room and bathroom were verry dark and depressing! The room was airconditionned but it did not cool well. First and last time for us in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear guest, we thank you for your review and we regret that we could not meet your expectations. Should you give us occasion we would do our utmost during your next stay with us. The Westin Bellevue Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    250
    92
    28
    9
See reviews for
94
287
65
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The hotel was beautiful, and in a super location. However, we had to pay for parking. Around 16 euros per night. Considering that the Westin is a brand hotel, there was paid Wifi, 15 euros a night, no coffee/ tea in the room. Cobwebs everywhere, which was a surprise. There were Spa facilities, a pool and sauna. However, if you are a tourist, these facilities won't matter. Expensive A la carte restaurant, so we didn't try it. Overall, I was disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear guest, we thank you for your review and we regret that we could not meet your expectations. Should you give us occasion we would do our utmost during your next stay with us. The Westin Bellevue Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Like most of Dresden, this hotel is new but designed to look old. Rooms are okay in size; a little cramped with the cot they provided for our 15-yr old daughter. Overall, hotel is a little on the pretentious side; you could spend more money here very easily if you wanted to. Didn't try the restaurant as it seemed over-the-top--you'd probably want to dress up. However, breakfast buffet was nice, if a bit crowded, and dressing up was definitely not required for this. Lots of good stuff to choose from the buffet, and the freshly made omelets were quickly made and tasty. The pool area was nice but not really big enough to swim laps. There were limited cardio machines available in the small, pool-adjoining exercise room--only 1 exercycle. Walk to old town was about 10 min across the bridge, and walk to new town in opposite direction was similar. Make sure to have dinner at SophienKellar in old town but make a reservation before you go so you can sit in the main part of the restaurant; their boneless duck is very good, but is not on the English menu--ask for it! Rent a bike from the hotel (15 E a day) and bike up river on the opposite bank to Pillnitz Palace--that's a good day trip (but you will need to ferry across the Elbe at the end--3.60 E roundtrip). Big downside: wireless Internet at almost 15 E a day is ridiculously expensive. I don't know that I would bring young kids here--the hotel did not seem to be all that kid friendly. Better for families with well-behaved teens. Finally, Westin "Heavenly" bed? I don't think so, at least not in our room, although the beds were not uncomfortable. We took the train from Berlin--2 hours each way, and cab fare from the main train station to the hotel is about 10 E. Next time we go to Dresden, we'll probably rent a car to be able to also explore Liepzig, Meissen, and Saxony Switzerland (supposedly very scenic and great for hiking).

Room Tip: If you plan to exercise, ask for a room close to the pool. We were way on the opposite end and it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you so much for your warm words and taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to our Hotel. Should your travel plans have Dresden on schedule - please do us the honour to be our guest. Your The Westin Bellevue Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Perfectly located hotel on the 'New Town' bank of the River Elbe, giving the 'Canaletto View' of beautiful Dresden from the rear of the hotel, so very beautiful in the July early evening light. Easy walk across the bridge to the 'Old Town' and the major sights. Efficient and very welcoming staff. Super buffet breakfast. Dresden is awe inspiring and the architecture stunning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear User,

Thank you for your nice comment. Thank you for being here and thank you for your evaluation! Hope to have you here again in the not too distant future!
Yours sincerly The Westin Bellevue Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Superbly located just across the river from the city centre, which is just a 10 minute walk away. The room was very comfortable with a great view, and all the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The only thing that lets this hotel down is the food service. There is one very expensive a la carte restaurant, where the food is excellent quality but takes FOREVER to reach your table. The only other eating option is bar food; again good quality but it took nearly an hour to cook us a burger in the quiet part of the evening.

They really should have an in-between option for evening food, such as using the breakfast restaurant which is only used for the first meal of the day. As they do not, the result is that we ate out almost every evening.

However, we will stay there again because it is good in every other respect and in an ideal location.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear User,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like you to apologize for the delays and assure them that this is not part of our standard.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logrono, Spain
Level Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Thére weren t all the extras : no free wireless, no free parking, breakfast extra, summing allrogether this is expensive. Still the rooms are quiet, functional and large enough. The view to the old town is precious. Not exactly as extraordinary as venice but still good.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Samuel H

It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Westin Bellevue Dresden. Apparently you were not pleased about the parking price here at the hotel but unfortunately I have to tell you that our garage is operated by an independent firm so we are not able to set the prices ourselves.
We hope that you can enjoy your next stay with us.

Refreshing regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Everything cost extra here, no information that the rate was excluding breakfast. Machines in fitness not working properly. Terribel and expensive WIFI that does not work! Extra bed for kid first not possible then possible at €30 (without breakfast). But the bar staff was nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear User,

We would like to thank you for providing a description of your experiences with us and with Tripadvisor.
We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused and regret very much the unfortunate impression you gained during this stay.
Thank you again for taking the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
NH Dresden Altmarkt
#7 of 125 in Dresden
4.5 of 5 stars 670 reviews
Swissotel Dresden
#2 of 125 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 stars 1,389 reviews
Bulow Residenz
#8 of 125 in Dresden
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Neustadt
Bulow Palais
Bulow Palais
#3 of 125 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Innside by Melia Dresden
#5 of 125 in Dresden
4.5 of 5 stars 796 reviews
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#10 of 125 in Dresden
4.5 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bellevue Dresden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bellevue Dresden

Address: Grosse Meissner Strasse 15, 01097 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#16 Family Hotel in Dresden
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
#22 Business Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Bellevue Dresden 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the city, surrounded by picturesque gardens along the banks of the river Elbe, The Westin Bellevue presents Dresden’s famous “Canaletto view“ of the baroque city centre’s skyline. The Church of Our Lady, the Semper Opera house and the Green Vault are only a footwalk over the bridge away. Enjoy the young part from Dresden, Dresden Neustadt awaits you with restaurants, bars and cafés. Start your day right with our Super Foods breakfast at our restaurant Palais with terrace. Refresh your senses in the spacious wellness area” Bell´Acqua Spa” with pool, sauna, solarium and fitness area.Eat well at our restaurant Canaletto. The chef Marko Poike-Wenzel will take you on a culinary journey through the German cuisine with Mediterranean influences. The Café-Bar „Pöppelmann“ combines the charm of a coffeehouse with the atmosphere of an elegant bar and welcomes you for lunch, coffee specialties or a cocktail. During the summertime you enjoy your drinks at the baroque courtyard with Italian flair. Cool down in our beergarden “Elbsegler”. Comfortable furniture next to barbecue specialities and a cold beer provide the perfect place to feel good and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and EasyToBook so you can book your The Westin Bellevue Dresden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bellevue Dresden Hotel Dresden
Westin Bellevue Dresden
Westin Dresden
Dresden Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Bellevue Dresden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.