We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Bellevue Dresden

Save Saved
You added The Westin Bellevue Dresden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Bellevue Dresden
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Grosse Meissner Strasse 15, 01097 Dresden, Saxony, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 123 Hotels in Dresden
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Perfectly located hotel on the 'New Town' bank of the River Elbe, giving the 'Canaletto View' of beautiful Dresden from the rear of the hotel, so very beautiful in the July early evening light. Easy walk across the bridge to the 'Old Town' and the major sights. Efficient and very welcoming staff. Super buffet breakfast. Dresden is awe inspiring and the architecture stunning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear User,

Thank you for your nice comment. Thank you for being here and thank you for your evaluation! Hope to have you here again in the not too distant future!
Yours sincerly The Westin Bellevue Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    207
    81
    24
    8
See reviews for
80
252
57
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Superbly located just across the river from the city centre, which is just a 10 minute walk away. The room was very comfortable with a great view, and all the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The only thing that lets this hotel down is the food service. There is one very expensive a la carte restaurant, where the food is excellent quality but takes FOREVER to reach your table. The only other eating option is bar food; again good quality but it took nearly an hour to cook us a burger in the quiet part of the evening.

They really should have an in-between option for evening food, such as using the breakfast restaurant which is only used for the first meal of the day. As they do not, the result is that we ate out almost every evening.

However, we will stay there again because it is good in every other respect and in an ideal location.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear User,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like you to apologize for the delays and assure them that this is not part of our standard.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logrono, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Thére weren t all the extras : no free wireless, no free parking, breakfast extra, summing allrogether this is expensive. Still the rooms are quiet, functional and large enough. The view to the old town is precious. Not exactly as extraordinary as venice but still good.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Samuel H

It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Westin Bellevue Dresden. Apparently you were not pleased about the parking price here at the hotel but unfortunately I have to tell you that our garage is operated by an independent firm so we are not able to set the prices ourselves.
We hope that you can enjoy your next stay with us.

Refreshing regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Everything cost extra here, no information that the rate was excluding breakfast. Machines in fitness not working properly. Terribel and expensive WIFI that does not work! Extra bed for kid first not possible then possible at €30 (without breakfast). But the bar staff was nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear User,

We would like to thank you for providing a description of your experiences with us and with Tripadvisor.
We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused and regret very much the unfortunate impression you gained during this stay.
Thank you again for taking the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel has a stunning location and arts of it are pretty as a picture - the iconic view on the hotel brochure is of the old part of the hotel at the back, next to the river. The windows of the breakfast room look straight out over the river Elbe to the old city which is just a short walk away over the bridge. At the river's edge just a few metres from the hotel garden is a picture frame through which you can see the view painted by Bernardo Bellotto, sometimes called 'Canaletto# after his more famous uncle. Bellotto's painting of the view from the hotel, along with others, hangs in the art museum on the other side of the river. Breakfast was an extra €21 but worth it if you had time for a leisurely full buffet, Internet prices were high at €15 for 24 hours but we were able to connect up to six devices.

Room Tip: Although the view from the bedroom was less inspiring than the view from the back (we overlooked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Judith,

Thank you very much for your kind comments which have been gratefully received. I am very glad to read that overall you had a nice stay at our Hotel.
Thank you for sharing your experiences at our hotel on TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Starwood apparently bought a chain of the top former GDR hotels after the Wall came down and it really worked.
This was my first time here but have stayed at the Westin in Berlin Mitte several times and had similar great experiences. Best location,top quality construction and top quality staff.

Will stay here next time !

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Andrew V,

Thank you so much for your review and for your recommendation. We loved to read your comment as it of course we are pleased when our guests were happy with their stay here. We hope it was not your last and we are looking forward to your next Dresden stay! The Westin Bellevue Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very good hotel in great location at walking distance from the old city
Staff was very helpful
quiet and relaxed area
we ordered room facing the old city, the view was limited
Room was cleaned and with all what we needed

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear User,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted to read, that you enjoyed your stay at The Westin Bellevue Dresden and considered our staff.
We look forward welcoming you soon back to Dresden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Bellevue Dresden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bellevue Dresden

Address: Grosse Meissner Strasse 15, 01097 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#12 Family Hotel in Dresden
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
#20 Business Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Bellevue Dresden 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the city, surrounded by picturesque gardens along the banks of the river Elbe, The Westin Bellevue presents Dresden’s famous “Canaletto view“ of the baroque city centre’s skyline. The Church of Our Lady, the Semper Opera house and the Green Vault are only a footwalk over the bridge away. Enjoy the young part from Dresden, Dresden Neustadt awaits you with restaurants, bars and cafés. Start your day right with our Super Foods breakfast at our restaurant Palais with terrace. Refresh your senses in the spacious wellness area” Bell´Acqua Spa” with pool, sauna, solarium and fitness area.Eat well at our restaurant Canaletto. The chef Marko Poike-Wenzel will take you on a culinary journey through the German cuisine with Mediterranean influences. The Café-Bar „Pöppelmann“ combines the charm of a coffeehouse with the atmosphere of an elegant bar and welcomes you for lunch, coffee specialties or a cocktail. During the summertime you enjoy your drinks at the baroque courtyard with Italian flair. Cool down in our beergarden “Elbsegler”. Comfortable furniture next to barbecue specialities and a cold beer provide the perfect place to feel good and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Westin Bellevue Dresden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bellevue Dresden Hotel Dresden
Westin Bellevue Dresden
Westin Dresden
Dresden Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Bellevue Dresden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.