We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“+ Scenic views over old town and Elbe river, + nice interior, + attentive staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Bellevue Dresden

Save Saved
You added The Westin Bellevue Dresden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Bellevue Dresden
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Grosse Meissner Strasse 15, 01097 Dresden, Saxony, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 123 hotels in Dresden
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“+ Scenic views over old town and Elbe river, + nice interior, + attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Although the hotel is located on the opposite of Dresden’s old town the Westin Bellevue is the perfect accommodation in Dresden. It is situated next to Augustus Bridge that brings you in directly to the historic center.
Moreover most rooms face Elbe River, its long promenade and the famous and historic buildings and places. I recommend to sign up for their Starwood Preferred Membership before your stay to get a free upgrade to the rooms with the scenic view.

Approaching the hotel from Große Meisner Straße it might not appear very attractive but this changes as soon you entered the brown shimmering bulky complex. The building frames a beautiful old palace containing a restaurant and atrium, besides you have a direct access to Elbe River Promenade.
In summer (weather permitting) to hotel opens its beer garden that faces Elbe River and Semper Opera. The perfect location to end the day after an extensive sightseeing tour.

In case the weather is not cooperating hotel guests have free access to the pool area in the basement. Since large glass windows you can enjoy frame it the scenic view while you are swimming or relaxing in the loungers. Sauna fans can splurge themselves in one of the different saunas and have the opportunity to cool off at the outdoor patio.

BTW - Third parties like Expedia offer sometimes rates far below the hotel webpage!
+ Scenic views over old town and Elbe river,
+ nice spa and pool area
+ attentive staff

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkloss, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear travelinmatecom,

We would like to thank you for providing a description of your experiences with us and with Tripadvisor. No better words could be used to explain our hotel and therefore THANK YOU!

We hope to see you soon in Dresden! Wishing you all the best,

The Westin Bellevue Dresden team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    215
    79
    28
    8
See reviews for
75
241
56
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have just returned from a 4-night stay at the Westin Bellevue. We found the hotel extremely comfortable and the staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. We were staying with our 2 young children and found that the hotel claim to making children welcome was absolutely true. The swimming pool and spa were perfectly clean and of a good size and our children enjoyed the smaller pool. The breakfast was the highlight of the children's day with a wide range of options (and more, when we asked). Overall, I would certainly recommend a stay at the Westin Bellevue, with or without children.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkloss, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Britfr0g,

We are really happy to see that guests, the big and the small ones, are happy. Of course it is our aim to meet the expectations of the guests and our efforts were worthwhile when we were successful.

Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope to see you soon. All the best for your family and best regards to your children,

The team from The Westin Bellevue Dresden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Westin Bellevue hotel for two nights while on a business trip. The location is beautiful, along the river with excellent walking paths right outside the rear of the hotel. Most of the tourist sights are a short walk across the bridge. The room was well kept and modern. The breakfast buffet was very good. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkloss, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear chasam2 ,

Short and crispy is your comment - short and great is our Thank you. Thank you for being here and thank you for your evaluation! Hope to have you here again in the not too distant future! Yours Westin Bellevue Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at The Westin Bellevue Dresden this October. The staff is incredibly polite and efficient. We had a wonderful breakfast at the hotel each morning which consisted of everything from fresh pastries, to pancakes to fruit smoothies. The hotel has a great location; it overlooks the Elbe River and the Old Town to create a magnificent view. In addition to great views, the location puts you right near everything you want to see.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkloss, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear CCW1987,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. If you like our breakfast, try our Christmas specialities at the famous Christmas market in Dresden. Thank you so much for your kind words and be welcome already today upon your next Dresden trip.

Best regards, your Westin Bellevue Dresden team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was there for about a week to visit the city and I could not have picked a more perfect hotel. The location is spectacular, and the staff was unbelievably helpful and pleasant. The Canaletto restaurant was a great experience and our room at a spectacular view of the old-town and the Elbe river.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkloss, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Laurent S,

Short and crispy is your comment - short and great is our Thank you. Thank you for being here and thank you for your evaluation! Hope to have you here again in the not too distant future! Yours Westin Bellevue Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Visited Dresden for a business conference. The hotel was very comfortable. The front desk staff was outstanding and very helpful. The conference organizer had my arrival wrong and when I went to check in the hotel was not expecting me until the next day. My arrival being on a busy Saturday this was a problem. In a matter of minutes the problem was resolved and I was in my room. Then I realized I forgot my converter so that my computer could be plugged into the european outlet. Again the desk clerk to the rescue. I wanted a referral to a store. What I got was the loan of a hotel converter for my week stay. The other nice thing was that the hotel is right at the bridge that crosses the river to the historic district. Beds were ok. Rooms very clean. Breakfast was very good. We had our lunch and dinners at the buffet and they were ok.
All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkloss, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear DandCWags,

Feeling home away from home is our motivation and we are really happy, that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel during a conference. Maybe you will come back with your family to explore Dresden?
We look forward to seeing you! Yours, Westin Bellevue Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel for its peaceful setting on the Elbe River. Ask for a River/Old Town view on an upper floor (there are only 4 floors). We had a Classic Junior Suite which was very spacious. Our room was 443, the first room off the elevator, and although we didn't hear any noise from the hallways, we did hear chimes or a glockenspiel that started at 7 a.m. every morning, chiming every 30 minutes until after 11 p.m. If you are a light sleeper (like me), plan to be awake at 7 a.m. each morning. although the chimes are quite pleasant. I'm unsure if you can still hear the chimes further away from the elevators, but you might ask when you book your room.

Come prepared for any excursions you may have planned as the front desk will not help you. I asked for a map one morning and was given a photocopy of the surrounding area, with numbers circled, but no explanation as to what those numbers referred to. I wanted to plan a cruise on the Elbe and found the times and locations confusing. Approaching the front desk on Sunday, I asked for the concierge and was told the concierge had left for the day and they did not expect to have another concierge until the end of the following week! She then shoved a ship schedule toward me and when I was confused, she rudely told me to read the schedule.

The morning breakfast is plentiful and the view of the river is lovely. However, if there is a conference at the hotel, be prepared for a very crowded room. We arrived for breakfast one morning at 9:15, only to be met with a line up of about 30 people, waiting to enter the breakfast room which already holds approximately 300 people. Not wanting to wait, and it being a Sunday, we asked the same lady at the front desk if any of the local bakeries might be open as an alternative. She shrugged and said she didn't know. Really? sigh...

The staff at Cafe Poeppelmann are wonderful and the small courtyard is a lovely place to enjoy lunch or dinner. The food is simple yet delicious. Canelleto is a very nice restaurant with wonderful food, although we found it overly bright for such a romantic restaurant.

The Old Town is a short walk across the bridge, and the park setting outside the hotel is wonderful and peaceful. There are 2 beer gardens within walking distance on this side of the river. In Neustadt, just a short walk from the hotel, you will find wonderful shops and restaurants.

Other than the front desk staff (not all, a few of the girls were friendly and helpful), I highly recommend staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkloss, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear CCW1987,

We would like to thank you for your honest and constructive feedback and of course for having taken the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate it a lot, as it is the perfect chance to really listen to our guests needs and to constantly improve our service.

We deeply regret your disappointments concerning the Front Office and sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused. We already discussed the situation with the Manager. He will take appropriate measures to eliminate such problems in the future.

Apart from that we are happy to hear that you liked the atmosphere and the setting. We would really appreciate it to welcome you back soon.

The Westin Bellevue Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Bellevue Dresden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bellevue Dresden

Address: Grosse Meissner Strasse 15, 01097 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#9 Family Hotel in Dresden
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
#19 Business Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Bellevue Dresden 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the city, surrounded by picturesque gardens along the banks of the river Elbe, The Westin Bellevue presents Dresden’s famous “Canaletto view“ of the baroque city centre’s skyline. The Church of Our Lady, the Semper Opera house and the Green Vault are only a footwalk over the bridge away. Enjoy the young part from Dresden, Dresden Neustadt awaits you with restaurants, bars and cafés. Start your day right with our Super Foods breakfast at our restaurant Palais with terrace. Refresh your senses in the spacious wellness area” Bell´Acqua Spa” with pool, sauna, solarium and fitness area.Eat well at our restaurant Canaletto. The chef Marko Poike-Wenzel will take you on a culinary journey through the German cuisine with Mediterranean influences. The Café-Bar „Pöppelmann“ combines the charm of a coffeehouse with the atmosphere of an elegant bar and welcomes you for lunch, coffee specialties or a cocktail. During the summertime you enjoy your drinks at the baroque courtyard with Italian flair. Cool down in our beergarden “Elbsegler”. Comfortable furniture next to barbecue specialities and a cold beer provide the perfect place to feel good and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your The Westin Bellevue Dresden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bellevue Dresden Hotel Dresden
Westin Bellevue Dresden
Westin Dresden
Dresden Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Bellevue Dresden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.