We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, clean and beautiful but cheap BH brand” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Dresden Altmarkt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Dresden Altmarkt to your Saves list
NH Dresden Altmarkt
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   An der Kreuzkirche 2 | Historic Centre, D-01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #5 of 124 Hotels in Dresden
jax
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“New, clean and beautiful but cheap BH brand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Our room overlooked the Kreunzkirche tower...literally 30 feet. Note- bells start ringing at 7am (not too bad with hotel soundproofing)..but ring "repeatedly" on Sunday mornings.

The hotel is new, clean and beautiful. NH still is uber cheap on wifi services. Wifi is 5 Euros per 15 min. REALLY - not a place for a business traveler.

Close to restaurants in Altmarkt, train station (up a pedestrian mall walk), and historic sights.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    197
    22
    2
    0
See reviews for
82
254
27
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhague, Dinamarca
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The hotel is excellent in most ways, very centrally placed within walking distance of most sights. All the staff were friendly and helpfull. Breakfast is not included, so we tried it one day. Good quality except for the bread and rolls.
One thing could be improved - between the room and bathroom there is a very large mated window - when you use the bathroom during the night the room gets quite lit up and that disturbs the other person in the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Centrally located, modern business hotel. Rooms spacious and spotless clean. In December direct view on famous "Striezelmarkt" (Dresden's largest Christmas market). Excellent breakfast buffet. Very nice and modern sauna facilities, small and functional gym. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Modernes Hotelambiente, Top Lage direkt am Neumarkt, schöne Zimmer, schönes Fitness- und Saunabereich mit Dachterrasse, netter Empfangsservice, gutes Frühstücksbuffet. // Modern hotel interior, located right in the city center close to shopping and sights, nice rooms, nice fitness and sauna area with roof-top terrace, friendly reception, good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Deutsche Bahn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We arrived Christmas Day, greeted by a very kind receptionist who gave us a lovely tray of Stollen. He spoke with us only in German --never once suggesting to switch to English, which I loved!! Our room had a gorgeous view of the Christmas Market, and the location is central to everything. There is no place I would rather stay for Christmas in Dresden. This was just perfect!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Issambres, France
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Looking for a hotel in Dresden that would be well located and confortable for a family of four, including an 8 year old boy and a 16 year old teenager, we booked a suite at the NH Altmarkt (not to be confused with another NH in Dresden) and had a very enjoyable surprise. The suite was L shaped with a closed bedroom, a "corridor" with a bed and another area with a foldaway double bed, two tv's, closets and drawers that many houses would envy AND ground to ceiling windows all-around to allow a wonderful view of the square. We weren't there for the Weinartmarkt but could just imagine the view. There were even cushions on the window sill to sit down confortably. The service was good. The parking underneath can be difficult to find but we got good infos at the reception. Note that you can park for 5 euros /24 hours in the Altmarkt parking lot and park at the entrante of the section reserved for the hotel. You can then access the elevators that reach the lobby. You just need to present your parking ticket at the tourism office at the other end of the square.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demorest, Georgia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Location, location, location. We had been to Dresden in the summer and decided to go back to visit the AWESOME Christmas Markets. Remembered the NH as being next to the Altmarket Square so booked a standard room, when we checked in the receptionist asked if we would like to upgrage to a room with a view of the Christmas Market for only 10 Euro, yes, yes, yes, great move. At night it was simply a fairytale and we were tired from walking all day so poured us a glass of wine, pulled up tow chairs and just watched in amazement below. WOW. OK, the hotel was beautiful, the room was modern, clean and the bath was perfect. You can see all the amanities on their website. We had a king size bed (not two twins as others have stated). The parking garage was easy to find if you follow the NH Signs that are clearly posted, we drove into the garage and again followed the NH signs to the Private parking area for the hotel, the elevator was right there to take our luggage up and the door opened into the loby of the hotel. We were greeted with some juice and stolen and our room to our surprise was ready even though we checked in at 10:30AM and did not request an early check in. We had our dog and the hotel charges 20 Euro for a pet (higher than any other hotel we have stayed in around Europe). We were offered breakfast at the hotel for 19 euro per person, NO, NO, NO, there is no breakfast anywhere in the world that is worth that. Breakfast is one of the cheapest meals to prepare and we went to a steak house for dinner and had a rump steak, salad, & baked potato for 15 Euro,,,,,enough said! There is a bakery/coffee shop right outside the front door and a Starbucks right around the corner. I would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Dresden Altmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Dresden Altmarkt

Address: An der Kreuzkirche 2 | Historic Centre, D-01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#4 Business Hotel in Dresden
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#5 Family Hotel in Dresden
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — NH Dresden Altmarkt 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new NH Dresden Altmarkt is located a few blocks from the Elbe river, in the very heart of the beautiful city of Dresden. Guests are just minutes away from numerous attractions, such as the renowned and recently renovated Frauenkirche (Church of Our Lady), Semperoper (Semper Opera House), and Zwinger (Dungeon). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NH Dresden Altmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Dresden Altmarkt Hotel Dresden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Dresden Altmarkt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.