We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretty and atmospheric” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hexenhaus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hexenhaus to your Saves list
Hexenhaus
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Hofwiesenstr. 28, 01169 Dresden, Saxony, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 99 Dresden B&B and Inns
London
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Very pretty and atmospheric”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

I was very much looking forward to staying at the Hexenhaus and I was not disappointed.
It is very old, very small and exactly what you expect. We ate in the restaurant on both nights that we stayed as it is a bit of a trek out of Dresden and there really is nothing else around. I would recommend that you book if you wish to eat there as it gets busy. The food is the usual German type of fayre which we enjoyed.
The rooms (apart from 3) are not in the hotel and are a 5 minute walk away. They are very new and really nice - spacious, modern and well equipped.
When we were there the weather was awful (heavy snow and -12 degrees) so the walk to the hotel for breakfast and dinner was a bit of a nuisance for my elderly parents but fine for us.
The big drawback is the commute to Dresden. You have to walk to the end of the road catch a bus that goes to the main railway station or change for a tram that also takes you to the main railway station. There is then a good 15 min walk to the Altstadt. Having said that we caught a taxi from the airport which cost €30 and then used taxis where possible except that we were in effect snowed in!
All in all we had a very nice trip and I loved the Hexenhaus but with the weather and my parents it was just a bit too far out of town.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    6
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
6
31
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

We are currently on night 3 of 4 nights at the Hexenhaus. We're staying in the upstairs apartment just across the road from the main hotel/restaurant. The room is absolutely charming - tasteful and not overdone, and absolutely, spotlessly clean. We have a small kitchenette, a small bath with shower, and a king bed that is actually two twins within a single frame (common, here). We haven't stayed our final night yet to settle our bill (cash only), but we believe breakfast is included - and it is a full breakfast, too. What a bargain at apx. $100/night. Free WiFi, too - you just have to ask for their security code.

Parking has not been a problem - there are at least 3 spots for guests. Plenty of birds singing, beautiful flowers, and charming decor with, of course, many witches as the theme. It is a wonderful place to come home to each day after long days of exploring. Probably about 6 kilometers from the Old Town. We have a car - not sure how accessible the hotel is by public transportation.

A word about the restaurant's food - wonderful. We've not even ventured out to other restaurants, the food is that good.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Teilleul, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

Your journey into Hansel and Gretel land is about to begin - in Dresden, where I was a year or so ago, in summer. Flights were booked and the next step was an Hotel. Enquiring on the web, I asked about a ‘character’ type, reasonably-priced Hotel, in Dresden. I was told to look at the Hexenhaus. What a find!

This short story sums up the Hexenhaus, its staff and owners. Our Lufthansa flight from UK to Dresden was delayed. Instead of arriving at 6.00pm it was 12 midnight. After just one text and a phone call everything was sorted. They would be shut at that time, but would leave us a note saying where our room key was. We arrived. This note was pinned to the creaky front door: “Dear Mr S. Your room key is under the third flower pot to the left of this door! We will see you tomorrow at breakfast!” It was. And we did!

The Hexenhaus (Witches House) is 12 minutes, by tram, from the centre of Dresden, in a leafy, sleepy, suburb. It is in two parts, the main building and annexe. Both are ancient and amazing. Our twin room, in the rafters of the annexe, was large, bright and airy, spotlessly clean with a sitting area, table, flat screen TV and French windows on to a small balcony, overlooking the back garden. Perfect. The bathroom was similarly first-class. I have never stayed in a hotel room with such character.

Breakfast was in the main house, just over the quiet road. It was simply excellent, with everything you could want, including newspapers, lovely staff and fellow guests to chat with. Once breakfast was over, the two ‘eating’ areas were cleared and laid up for the lunchtime and evening diners in what, we discovered, was a VERY popular eating house, with a fine kitchen and chef. As we left for the first day out we were told what the ‘special’ dishes of the day were going to be and asked if we would like to eat with them when we returned. After the beautiful meal that first night, served outside, under their flower-laden pergola, the answer for the next six days was always ‘yes please’! For the record, prices were not expensive, and children were made very welcome.

The walk to the Tram stop took about 10 minutes or so, down the narrow lanes and across a small park containing a children’s play area and a modern indoor swimming pool at the far end. Families please note! Over from the Tram stop was a shopping complex, including a supermarket. Yet another plus!

Dresden is a spectacular city, and, as we know, almost destroyed in February 1945. The painstaking restoration work from these terrible days is almost at an end and should be seen NOW, before the city becomes over-run with hoardes of tourists.

As we had plenty of time to sight-see we ventured out of Dresden to the old town of Meissen – with the world-famous porcelain factory - and to Colditz and the castle. Both places were fascinating. These towns can be reached on public transport, but we hired a ‘basic’ car, at a bargain, weekend price, from Sixt car hire, and collected it at the main railway station. The ‘budget’ car turned out to be a BMW Mini Cooper S.

And now, back to the Hexenhaus. Words cannot adequately describe it. Only a stay there can. With this review I have included some pictures, which I hope are posted here, to try and convey the atmosphere which lies behind the tiny, blue, front door, with the big step! Go there!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

We have stayed in many placed in Europe and the Hexenhaus in Dresden is one of the very best, dollar for dollar. Most noticeable was extra caring attitude of the personnel. They met and exceeded every one of our wishes. We weren't just a couple walking in off the street to them but were made to feel as if we were part of a family. Breakfast was on a par with 4 star hotels we have visited and the dinners were great. Meal prices were very reasonable and food preparation superb. Truly a unique and outstanding place to stay when visiting Dresden. We will stay here on future visits to Dresden.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hexenhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hexenhaus

Address: Hofwiesenstr. 28, 01169 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hexenhaus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 3, 5 km away from Dresden's old town but also at a rural neighbourhood, the "Hexenhaus" welcomes you with 10 individual rooms and a small restaurant at the historic village centre of Nieder-Gorbitz.Because of the poor conditions long time ago, and the remote location, the charm of the village has been remained until today.The "Hexenhaus" is listed as a historical monument and consists of two very rarely over 200 year old half-timbered day labourer houses which gives you the unique opportunity to experience the geneses of Dresden.Here you can find everything you need after an eventful day:Quiet, relaxation and good Saxon cuisine.Enjoy our hospitality-we are looking forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hexenhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hexenhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.