We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent, small hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Pieper

Hotel Restaurant Pieper
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Restaurant Pieper to your Saves list
Hotel Restaurant Pieper
Thebaerstrasse 39, 54292 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Trier
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A decent, small hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Overall: A decent, small hotel close to the town centre. Noisy though.
Check-in: Standard Hotel check-in
Language: German. The owner did not speak English or French. A local gentleman translated for us.
Space/decor: We had a double bed. There was a wardrobe, a rack for 1 suitcase and room on the wide window ledge for another. The ensuite was fine.
Noise: We did not hear any guests in other rooms, but any noise from the halls and street travelled into the room easily. You might want earplugs -- traffic on European streets always starts earlier than I, at least, want to wake up.
Comfort: The bed was fine
Cleanliness: excellent
Heat/ac: Unknown -- we didn't use either
Internet/TV: You can apparently pay for WiFi. We didn't. There was a TV.
Breakfast: 7 euros per person. I thought that was too much and we got pastries and a coffee in a local shop instead.
Parking: There's a tiny lot behind the hotel.
Distance to attractions: very close to the Porta Nigra, which is the entry to the old town. It's about the same distance, but in the opposite direction, to Saint Paulin's church which has an unusual colour of decorations: go and look. :)

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
10
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed one night in a single room. The room was clean and tidy but the bed was too narrow. The room was too warm even the weather wasn't so hot. There were no a/c in the room, just a small fan. The hotel is in a old building with steep stairs and no lift. Therefore I wouldn't recommend it for anyone with bad feet. Location was good. Just a short walk from the railway station and the major sights of the city centre. All in all I feel that I got good value for my money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Stayed at the Hotel Pieper for a long weekend, Saturday to Monday. The location is great, just a 5 minute walk to Porta Nigra. The breakfast was lovely and plentiful and compared most favourably to a lot of the hotels we have stayed at in Germany. The room was a good size, very clean, lovely comfy bed, great shower, and for the price I don't think it could be beaten in terms of value at any other hotel in Trier.
Recommend you also eat at the Gastehaus Krokodil Restaurant while in Trier - food was great, service great, and a really good price.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Trier.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

Stopped in Trier to see the Roman Empire sites,a nd the old part of the city. Hotel Pieper is very conveniently located to the Porta Nigra, which supports a walking tour of the old city/sites. The hotel is clean, offers parking, and has a good restaurant attached. Our room was spacious, clean and quiet.

Only cautionary note I offer is that the hotel ground floor hosts a butcher shop - you catch some of the butcher shop odors in the foyer entering the hotel. It wasn't a ig deal, but something you should be aware of.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

The Hotel Pieper is a short distance from the train station in a quiet residential neighborhood. Our rooms were of moderate size. We walked up 4 floors. The Hotel is a 5-10 walk to the Porta Nigra. The best part of the Hotel was the owner/manager/waitress. She was very lively and friendly.

We had lunch at the restaurant which is only open on some days, and usually only for lunch. There are a limited number of choices but each meal comes with soup, starch and salad. Everything was well prepared and in large quantities. The meal was a real bargain, especially if you are really hungry.

We would readily return to the Hotel Pieper.

Regards, Gary

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

Avoid this place! Despite being recommended by R. S. this was the only low point of our entire three week trip to Europe.
I reserved a room six months in advance. Being just a tad OCD, I reconfirmed frequently. Yet, when we showed up after a 12 hour travel train day the owner said "my computer deleted your reservation...sorry". Arggh.
Needless to say, I can't describe the accomodation. I can tell you this. It is not that close to the train station (20 minute walk), and is also not on a public transportation route. The neighborhood is full of graffiti and garbage; with bars on all the windows of every establishment. In any location the need for that kind of security is worth a thousand words.
When we arrived, the procedure for check-in was most confusing. We finally discerned that we needed to go the next door restaurant to check in. After three weeks in Europe we were used to smoke; but the tiny room that passes for a restaurant had the thickest tobacco cloud we encountered anywhere. The (apparent) owner told me "We have a little problem. My computer deleted your reservation. We can give you one night in a single room, and that is all. Let me try to help you find a room for another night" He then proceeded to use the phone, and was rejected. My fried brain was scrambling, but I finally asked him where the nearest Internet cafe was thinking we could find somewhere else online. He said he didn't know, but directed us to the Tourist Office. (which was already closed, and as a local, he would have known this)
Fortunately, my husband had his GPS with him and it brought up several options. We went to the first one listed, and it proved to be so good that is was one of the highlights of our trip. (Römischer Kaiser,read that as a separate post).
Let me repeat. Avoid the Hotel Pieper at all cost. No matter what promises you are given (my email correspondence was cordial and welcoming) you run the risk of having no reservation when you actually arrive. Considering that Trier is "out of the way" for any sort of transportation the risk is not worth it.
Now, check out my posting about the Römischer Kaiser.:)

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

The hotel is very nice and the staff is very helpful although not many speak English. The rooms have a shower, TV, and hairdryer. The street is generally quite so you can get a good rest. There is a gourmet shop/deli right next door to the hotel. Breakfast (included) was very nice - cheeses, cold meats, fruit, yogurt, cereal, soft and hard-boiled eggs, tea, coffee, juice, breads - quite filling. Within walking distance of the bus/train station. Also a short walk to the Porta Nigra and the pedestrian zone of Trier.

It's a 3-minute walk from the hotel to St. Paulin's church, which is a lovely baroque church not often visited by the throngs of tourists in Trier. Take a moment to enjoy the beauty and peace of this nearby church.

Another thing to do in Trier, in addition to seeing the lovely city squares, cathedrals, and Roman ruins, it to take a hour-long cruise on the Moselle river (7 Euro pp) and enjoy some of the regional wine - I recommend taking the cruise in the evening after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Liked — The staff were so very nice!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Restaurant Pieper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Pieper

Address: Thebaerstrasse 39, 54292 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Pieper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Pieper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.