We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in good position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Constantin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Constantin to your Saves list
Hotel Constantin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Barbara Ufer 1-2, 54290 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in good position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

On the fringe of the City Central, within walking distance to just about everything, this friendly hotel was perfect for our needs. Very comfortable bed, lots of hot water in shower, easy parking for car (although 4euro fee to carpark owner on exit). Breakfast was wonderful. Good value for money. WIFI worked in our room.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
17
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, Arizona
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel was apparently remodeled this past winter. We were here with friends for the start of a 10-day bike tour from Trier to outside Koblenz along the Mosel. Our room was clean and comfortable, and we had a nice view of the Roemerbruecke and Mosel. The location is quite nice and was an easy ride on the local buses from the train station (to that end, really recommend getting the DB Navigator app from Deutsche Bahn - covers buses point-to-point too...). Breakfast very good as well. If you're a bicyclist they do have an area in the underground garage for secure bike storage. No complaints. Yes it is on a busy street but with the windows shut it isn't much noticeable. Interestingly too there were some businesses around the corner on the street that weren't ideal (a porn shop?) but we never saw any questionable activity, so not a problem. Mention it only because I find you may have photographs of the hotel but unless you can check Google maps street-view you won't necessarily know what's around, a good thing to remember to check. Bottom line - I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I liked facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in April, 2013. The hotel was a 10-15 minute walk from the town center. The hotel is located on a busy street but the room was quiet. We were able to get free internet connection only from the lobby. BUT the lobby and all the hallways smelled like an ashtray. The two rooms that we had retained a smokey aroma. It seemed worse after the cleaning crew was finished Perhaps they smoked in the room while cleaning?? I went to the front desk to complain about the smell and noticed the staff was smoking in the back of the check in area.

Room Tip: Breakfast was 7 euro per person per day. I would skip this and pick something up to eat in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for the weekend in December 2012 to visit the Christmas markets. It was a nice hotel and we had no complaints, it was also only walking distance to the town centre. We had a nice room overlooking the river, the only criticism I can make is that on their web site the hotel goes to great lengths to say how comfortable their beds are , I did not find them very comfortable at all .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed here for a week in March and was very happy with the hotel. It was very moderately priced and our room was very spacious with a double bed and a pull out couch. The hotel was small and quiet, although it is on a busy street and the staff was really friendly. It has a very interesting decor, with museum-like displays. Breakfast was in their restaurant upstairs and this was also very good. In the beginning, we were a little hesitant to visit the restaurant for dinner because it was so small and there are other much flashier places around, but on the last night we were tired and ended up going there for dinner and it was one of the best meals we had that week. It tasted like a home cooked meal. There isn't much of a selection in the off-season, but what they had was amazing. Compared to other hotels in the city, its proximity to the main area of town is a little farther, but Trier is small and easily walkable, so it wasn't a big problem. I would definately come back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Found this hotel on trip advisor and booking.com. Read very accurate reviews and decided to book this hotel for 2 nights. If you buy a parking token from Reception, parking is 2 euros every time you leave the parking lot, which wasn't a problem for us at all. Old town Trier is walking distance, so you don't really need your car in order to explore. Since we don't mind walking, we didn't mind the location of the hotel. There are two gas stations that are close for drinks, snacks. The room was very spacious for a European hotel. Actually one of the biggest I've stayed in. Actually had a loveseat and a coffee table, which was very nice. The heat in our room wasn't working properly, told the reception and she immediately gave us a space heater and said she would look at it the next day, so the service was great. I did not eat at the hotels restaurant so am not sure about the food. I would stay here again if ever returned to Trier!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I was booked this hotel by a friend for a stay in Trier. What a mistake!

I requested a double bed so I could stretch out in bed instead of a small single bed. So imagine my disappointment when my 'double' bed was in fact two single beds pushed together! It was impossible to stretch out at all with this for my 3 stay in this hotel. I complained to reception when they came and shrugged their shoulders "Zis is normal!" was the response. Actually, this is not normal. I have stayed at many hotels in many counties - many more primitive than Germany too - where a double bed actually means a double bed. A twin room is a room with two single beds and intended for two people to have separate beds whilst in the same room. I know many hotels cope with this by having a special cover which goes over two single beds to make a comfortable double bed. No, not at the Hotel Constantin. They are more than happy to charge me for a double rate and give me two single beds. Of course, I can only be on one bed at a time as there is a crack between the two beds means it is very uncomfortable. I was astonished that they rent these beds out in all honesty.

Then there is the pillows...wow. These were so uncomfortable that I needed both pillows (the other from the other single bed of course) - of course they were the worst ones I have ever come across in a hotel ever. Why not actually but some good quality pillows for your guests? Do you wish them to have an unpleasant stay?

The mattress was so poor that I had a bad back for the first few days - as did a friend who was in another room - seriously are you trying to ruin my trip?

The shampoo / shower gel was of measly amount and not enough for anyone to use at all. Talk about being mean.

There was no sign on the back of the door to request the maid to clean later on as you did not want to be disturbed. Well, guess what? I was disturbed by the maid. As a result, my room wasn't cleaned for a day. I only got it cleaned on the second day due to me insisting to the manager that I needed it being cleaned and 1pm was ridiculously late.

The room was clean, albeit cold, as the only heating was a low-power radiator in the bathroom. The television, although working, only had one international channel - CNN. Hardly appealing to a tourist is it? No safe, no mini-bar.

I was just so bemused on how things which you simply expect in a basic hotel just weren't even considered. Whoever is the manager / owner of this hotel really needs to do some research by travelling and checking out other hotels as this was quite simply an embarrassment. It's not hard, it's just basic common sense - the first thing, sort out your double beds. You can't charge for two singles instead.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Constantin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Constantin

Address: St. Barbara Ufer 1-2, 54290 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Constantin 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Constantin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constantin Hotel Trier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Constantin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.