We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in a perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romischer Kaiser

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Romischer Kaiser to your Saves list
Romischer Kaiser
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Porta Nigra Platz 6, 54292 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in a perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

The hotel is set in a lovely building in a great location just beside the Porta Nigra in Trier. It is also in a perfect location for strolling around all places of historical interest or the shops and restaurants. The hotel itself is very clean and bright with friendly and helpful staff. The room was bright, clean, airy and comfortable. We enjoyed breakfast which was included in our room rate, there was plenty of choice (both hot and cold) and it was a good start to the day. There is so much to explore in Trier and the Romischer Kaiser is the perfect base for a city or business trip to Trier.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    43
    17
    9
    2
See reviews for
13
49
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Although unassuming and modestly priced the rooms are large and comfortable with excellent heating. Although we had a reservation we needed to change our arrival date at short notice. Our email request to do this was dealt with very promptly. The hotel is very well located in this wonderful, historic city. We stayed here four nights on this visit. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful and very obliging when we needed to bring our departure date forward due to prospective train strikes. Breakfast was very good. We ate in the restaurant twice and found the restaurant staff and vegetarian food superb!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trier
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

We stayed for only one night, the location is just perfect and dinner absolute perfect. Including breakfast we paid only 98 euro. The room 318 was just perfect for the two of us. Certainly a place to return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

We spent one night here (31st Oct 2010). We were v. pleased with both the room and evening meal (service was a little slow but the food was excellent). Breakfast buffet also v. good. A good base to discover the Mosel region (we spent one night in Cochem/Mosel and wished we had spent both nights here & opted for day trip to Cochem as our hotel was rather disappointing (room & food & was more expensive). We would recommend this hotel to other travellers (we were in room 317 - v. pleasant room with balcony). Staff helpful.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel over the Easter weekend of 2010. It was a lovely hotel literally steps to the Porta Nigra (Black Gate). The location of this hotel couldn’t have been better. It’s also walking steps to the Tourist Office with helpful staff, located next to Porta Nigra; the main market area and most of the tourist attractions in Trier. I don't know how close it is to the train station.

It was a short 2 hours and 30 minutes drive from Frankfurt. First, we drove on the side of the hotel to their gated parking area, there is a call box and you have to tell them your name before they would open the gate. It’s free of charge, some hotels in Germany ask for a small parking fee. Very secured, ample parking for both hotels the Alstadt and Romischer Kaiser. We arrived at this hotel at 12:30 pm, the check-in time starts at 2 pm; but the receptionist allowed us to check in early. That’s a nice touch. We found the staff here very helpful. My husband speaks enough German and we spoke with them mixed in German and English.

There is a lift/elevator and our room was on the second floor. We had a view of the next hotel, but it wasn’t a big problem coz we didn’t stay in the room all the time.

The room was not that big, comfortable bed and lots of wall sockets to charge electronics. It has a small refrigerator; we bought our own bottles of water and sodas and asked for ice at their restaurant. The best part was the big bathroom and separate shower stall, we found it big coz most of the German hotels we’ve been to had tiny bathrooms. There was enough space to put our toiletries both for me and my husband, one side for me and the other side for him. That’s a bonus for us. Liquid soap/shampoo provided in the shower. There was an old style hairdryer attached to the wall, not helpful; good thing, I brought my own.

The breakfast spread was nice and plenty, lots of tables in their stylish restaurant located on the ground floor near the reception. When we checked out, we left the car in their garage and continued to tour the city and came back later in the afternoon. No charge at all.

Although this hotel is near the street, we weren’t bothered by the noise coz it was Easter Friday when we stayed there and not a lot of tourists yet. We highly recommend this hotel, it’s close to all Trier has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed at the Romischer Kaiser during a weekend trip to Trier as the guests of my in-laws. It's a bit pricey, and we probably would not have dropped so much money if we were on our own, but it was a really beautiful hotel, and certainly worth the price if it's in your budget. My husband and I had a fantastic corner room with lots of windows- as someone else said, try to get room #16 or 17 on the first, second or third floor. We found the bed to be a bit soft, and didn't like that it was two twin mattresses put together, but otherwise we really enjoyed our room, and all of the staff was fantastic, except for one waitress who may have just been having a bad day. The bathroom was a reasonable size for a European hotel. We were right on the corner of the pedestrian zone where most of the tourist attractions are, and it only took about 15 minutes to walk to the water for Mosel River cruise. Also, there is a gated lot 2 minutes away that has free parking for your car.

There is no AC, so beware in the summer. We were able to keep the room cool enough by leaving windows open, but there are no screens, so you will get bugs. There also was a lot of traffic noise (not horns, thankfully, they're illegal to use here except in an emergency)- it didn't really bother us, because we're city folk, but if you're looking for peace and quiet, this may not be the best hotel for you because it's right on a main road. We also found the breakfast buffet to be decidedly unimpressive. Plenty to eat- yogurt, cold cuts, make-your-own muesli, cheese, scrambled eggs- it just wasn't very exciting food.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary and were a bit disappointed with the accommodations. First, we paid extra for a room with a "view." The view was of the very noisy street, which sounds better than, say, a brick wall or the garbage cans, but less than romantic. There was always a lot of noise and not much to see except for the air conditioned Mercure Hotel across the street. Which brings me to our next complaint, the room was very hot and stuffy even with the windows open, and it was not even that warm out, maybe 22oC! With the windows open the noise was horrible all night. The room itself was OK, not the romantic spot that we were hoping for nor was it of the quality as advertised on the website or for the price. There was a view of Porta Nigra from the narrow balcony if you leaned over far enough, strained your neck and looked to the left.

On the bright side, breakfast was good, not great by any means, much lower quality than a Novotel. The location was good, you could walk anywhere worth walking to in less than half an hour. Also, there was no extra charge for parking.

If you are in Trier and hungry for some very good, yet inexpensive Italian food try San Marco Ristorante located on Neustralle 17, about a 10 minute walk from Porta Nigra. We ate there twice and loved it. Excellent pasta, pizza and fantastic salads! Also, the restaurant right next door to the hotel towards Porta Nigra is good for local cuisine.

  • Liked — the breakfast
  • Disliked — accomadations were substandard for the price!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Romischer Kaiser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romischer Kaiser

Address: Am Porta Nigra Platz 6, 54292 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Romischer Kaiser 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Romischer Kaiser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romischer Kaiser Trier
Romischer Kaiser Hotel Trier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romischer Kaiser, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.