We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and a nice personal touch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Hugel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Hugel to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Hugel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bernhardstrasse 14, 54295 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Trier
Den Haag
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent and a nice personal touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

I arrived from big conference in Lisbon, held in one of these big impressive hotels with huge conference facilities. This hotel was a welcomed change. Very nice location. Extraordinary service minded staff and a nice room with free wi-fi. I had a superb dinner at the terrace in the sunset at a corner table from which I could speak with my wife and children via Skype without disturbing anyone. The breakfast was healthy and extensive and again with a nice personal touch from the waiters. I even borrowed a bike and took a quick ride to the nearby city center of Trier and enjoyed a cold glass of white wine on a cafe enjoying the sunshine and the impressive Roman 'fingerprints' on this cosy city. I will definitely be back - this time with my wife.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    46
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
178
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

The hotel sits on a hill overlooking Trier and the ruins, and is about a 10 minute walk from the old town.

The hotel was immaculate. The rooms were spcaious, and the beds comfortable. The sauna appeared to be new. There was a nice room in the sauna area with a fountain and waterbeds. It was very relaxing.

The service was amazing. The staff is very friendly, professional, and helpful.

We highly reccomend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times now. I can not fault the hotel, service or staff. The owners are very hands on and make you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monchengladbach, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

This was our first conference venue as a new company. 4 of us stayed for 5 nights and we will definitely use this venue again. We were treated like royalty. Everything was done with a smile and wonderful enthusiasm. Nothing was too much trouble and always delivered above expectations.The spa is a gem. A beautiful experience orchestrated by a beautiful staff and lovely owners. Well done Villa Hugel, you are a example of real value.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trexr
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Beautifully restored mansion, completely modernized, atop a prominent hill overlooking the city. Room and bath very clean, usual amenities. Breakfast choices and quality were especially good, with a superb morning view, and a large terrace. The pool and spa are spacious, sparkling, and lightly used during our off season mini-break. The sauna area is large, with a half dozen rooms and temperatures/environments. The 10 minute walk to the historic areas and city center requires more than a few steps, but is an easy hike.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed 4 days in this hotel and had an excellent time.
The breakfast is great. I am used to staying in 5 star hotels for work related travel, so I am familiar with lush breakfast buffets, but here it is something different. Much more refined.
The Spa is super.
And most important the hotel owners and personel are really and helpful.
This hotel is surely a "hidden" gem and has a great value for money ratio.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

We spent two nights at this small, elegant hotel to end our car touring winter holiday in four countries in March 2009. We chose Villa Hügel based on the previous reviews and were not disappointed. Having a car the location a bit outside the city centre was not a problem. The staff is genuinely friendly and efficient, we had immaculate service throughout our stay. The rooms are named after different cities, which was nice curiosity. Our room was very satisfying, large room with a proper double bed, suitable warmness and a good bathroom. The decorations were elegant and everything was spotlessly clean.

The grandest thing in this hotel was the true quality breakfast, with wide and I mean really wide variety of delicious choices in the best end of food items. The breakfast room also had nice views from the hill towards the city.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Hugel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Hugel

Address: Bernhardstrasse 14, 54295 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Trier
#1 Family Hotel in Trier
#1 Luxury Hotel in Trier
#1 Romantic Hotel in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Hugel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Hugel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Hugel Hotel Trier
Hugel Hotel Trier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Hugel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.