We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Porta Nigra Platz 1, 54292 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“amazing city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I paid a small amount to get a room with a view of the Porta Nigra and it certainly did, as does the restaurant. You park in the public carpark just underneath the hotel and they validate your ticket, very convenient.
Nice staff.
The only niggle was the overpriced breakfast.

Room Tip: overlook the Porta Nigra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    247
    52
    12
    3
See reviews for
75
255
40
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

W found our room comfortable and quiet, at the back of the hotel overlooking the car park. We could walk to the hotel from the station ( about 800 metres). Staff were very helpful and we had an excellent dinner in the restaurant.We skipped the breakfast because of the price (16 euros).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

It was so exciting to leave the hotel and look right at the gate of the Porta Nigra.. What great building the Romans did and left for us to enjoy!
The hotel staff had many pointers for us. A walk into the gates leads to many more historical sights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

It's a very good hotel located right in front of the gate of porta nigra which is at centre of the town. Every nice buildings are within walking distance or you can take a short trip around the town by the city train but I would suggest walking cos the train won't stop at these nice places. They will just pass by it and you won't get enough time to snap pics. It was an amazing experience walking.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, England
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our second "Mercure" hotel of the trip, the location of this one would be hard to beat. The reception staff welcomed us warmly and efficiently and accessibility was first class with blue-plaque parking right outside the door. Our room looked directly over the Porta Nigra and was comfortable and well appointed. The contemporary styling was to our liking and everything in both bedroom and bathroom was spotlessly clean and well maintained.
With so many excellent restaurants in the pedestrianised city centre, just over the road, we chose not to dine in the hotel restaurant but breakfast was excellent and we were spoiled for choice at the well presented buffet.
Just one factor beyond the hotel's control spoiled an otherwise ideal overnight stay. One of the bars on the opposite side of the busy road junction had an outdoor event until late, with exceptionally loud music. Hopefully, this isn't something that happens every night and we'd risk another stay here, keeping fingers crossed that we'd chosen a non-music night!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

After driving trough the Mosel Valley we stayed one night in Trier. This is a beautiful city and the hotel is located opposite of the Porta Nigra. Our room had a nice view to the car park.
Room was quite big, it was clean, the beds were confy. The room was a bit outdated with its 1980`s look. The air-con was not working very well so it was very warm. No free wifi.

The rate was good and the location was superb!

Overall we had a good stay at this hotel.

Some upgrading on the rooms and it would`ve been 4 stars from me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the Porta Nigra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra

Address: Porta Nigra Platz 1, 54292 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Trier
#4 Luxury Hotel in Trier
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the world-famous Porta Nigra and just a few minutes from the historic center, our modern 4 star hotel bids you a warm welcome with its 106 rooms. Our restaurant features a view of the Porta Nigra, the tavern Salong, the international casino of Trier, conference rooms and a fitness center (near the hotel) with medical section, sauna and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Trier Porta Nigra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.