We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent restaurant in the centre of Trier” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kartoffel Restaurant Kiste

Kartoffel Restaurant Kiste
Fahrstrasse 13-14, 54290 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
0651 / 979 00 66
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 249 Restaurants in Trier
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Sulmona, Abruzzi, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An excellent restaurant in the centre of Trier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed in this restaurant last May. We read reviewa on tripadvisor and we chose this place because it was in the center of Trier. The inn is very nice, the food is excellent in very german style. Waiters are very kind. It is not expensive.
The only problen was that the inn is very crowded so there was too much noisy and desserts were orrible. I'm going to come back there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    130
    35
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Reliable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

the food here is some of the best in Trier, locals and visitors alike share the experience...the steaks are fantastic, best during the summer months when you can spill out onto the square but inviting and homely during the off-peak months

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fantastic food and service !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This restaurant will NOT disappoint if you're looking for real German food. They have an unreal selection and the variety of German foods on the menu is exceptional.
The service is extremely efficiently and very friendly. I sat outside under an awning and enjoyed the late sunsets of July.
I ordered a traditional pork roast with a side salad end some Heffe Weiss beer. Now that's what German food should taste like.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broughshane, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Nice choice of dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Although it is supposed to be all potatoes, and things do generally come with potatoes, the range of things with which the potatoes come is large. The food we had here was very nice, and did not take long to arrive. The service was good too, and our waitress was very pleasantly helpful. At lunchtime in summer on a nice day it was very busy and luckily we did not want to sit outside as all the tables were occupied, which is a good sign.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torhout, Belgium
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“For a fast lunch or dinner with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you do not want to loose too much time or spend too much money, this is a very good address to visit. They have a big menu, reasonably priced and they serve you fast. On a good summer day, they also have a big terrace on a nice square.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kartoffel Restaurant Kiste also viewed

 
Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate
Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Kartoffel Restaurant Kiste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kartoffel Restaurant Kiste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.