We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stadthausschanke

Stadthausschanke
Stadionerhofstr. 1, Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
06131-225845
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 415 Restaurants in Mainz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Restaurant details
Rosharon, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I've visited stadthaus probably 12 times and EVERY dinner has been delicious! The portions are large and the prices are not!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    20
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great German Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Great food, service and atmosphere. Staff is friendly and helpful. They have outdoor seating which is nice during spring/summer days. The white asparagus soup is a must (seasonal, I think May-June). Great Schnitzel also.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Met My Criteria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

In Germany, I search for a restaurant that serves spatzle, and good, cold beer! Finding the beer is easy, but Stadhausschanke has wonder food...and great spatzle! I enjoyed the medallions of roast turkey over spatzle in cheese sauce, and the fried mushroom appetizer was very good, too, and it included a large portion of salad garnish, with tasty dressing. The venue is very clean, bright and with a welcoming atmosphere, and the staff is very friendly. (It helps for me that the staff speaks English, and they offer their menu in English, too.) I will definitely revisit this establishment.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious German food and wonderful Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is wonderful! I highly recommend visiting for dinner. Delicious cuisine, great selection and the service was very welcoming. The restaurant was clean and fast service even on busy nights. I went twice during my last trip to Mainz. It is slightly challenging to find when it's dark out though, but well worth the adventure to find! Thumbs up ;)

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blainville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice homemade german food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is a place I visit almost everytime I go to Mainz. The place is very easy to find. You can have dinner outside in the summer which is very nice. The staff is always friendly and very efficient. Service is fast, your meal always includes a salad and you can have an excellent german meal including 2 drinks for under 15 euros. A place to go in Mainz.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stadthausschanke also viewed

Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate
Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Stadthausschanke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stadthausschanke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.