We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Smelled like Sewer” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Schottenhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Schottenhof to your Saves list
Hotel Schottenhof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schottstrasse 6, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 42 Hotels in Mainz
Schwedelbach, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Room Smelled like Sewer”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Walking distance to train station and there are a few restaurants accessible by foot which is ideal for location. However, we stayed one night in 90 degree heat and there was no air conditioning, not even a central air system to circulate the air. The room was small and hot. We kept the window which opened on a busy street, open all night. Thank goodness we had ear plugs. We had to keep the bathroom room closed as it made the whole room smell like sewer. The food buffet had no hot foods and a very small selection of cold items.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    12
    10
    9
See reviews for
5
10
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaunas, Lithuania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The location is good. You can reach restaurants and cafes in 5 minutes by foot. The train station is nearby (also some bars make some noise especially in weekend - but you can close the windows). The breakfast was good. For one or couple days is a good value option.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I was there for a 2 days.. The hotel is just across the bahnhof, there are enough car parking space just outside the hotel and if one want to sight seeing the city on foot or use the public transport is a perfect place in Mainz to stay. I had booked a single room, it had all the basic amenity in the room, but I think it was very small, the paint, design, furniture of the rooms all are very old fashioned. If you looking for a new contemporary hotel this is not the place you should be staying at. Breakfast was just fine, everything is served cold except the coffee. In all an average business hotel or budget hotel if one need to see the city on low expenses.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukachevo, Zakarpats'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I was dissapointed by old fashioned design and really noisy rooms in the hotel. It has a horrible elevator which can carry only one person and is not funktioning very well, also I could hear in my room everytime someone has entered or exited the elevator, because the walls and doors are not keeping away the noise. You will hear eevrything what is happening on the whole floor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My daughter and I traveled through Mainz Germany recently and spent one night at this Hotel. We had booked it through booking.com and I had read reviews here on Trip Advisor which were not encouraging. We were very pleased and surprised with the quality of our stay. We were able to park in the area in front of the hotel for free. Our room was spacious, very clean, and appropriately appointed. The included breakfast the next morning was typical european buffet and the quality and quantity of selections were equal to other breakfast buffets we had encountered. Our room was on the first floor and faced the street corner. We did hear people walking and passing by during the late night. The bar/restaurant at the hotel closes at midnight. We felt very safe walking to and from our evening exploring. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel based on our experience but others might want to check out any assigned room to make sure it met with satisfaction.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor, facing the road. Light sleepers might want to request a different f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The only positive for this hotel is location in terms of the main railway station. Lift is so small only 1 person plus luggage can fit in. No wifi in bedrooms. Breakfast is the bare minimum- no pastries, no cooked food, v poor quality and small quantity of cold meats/cheese etc. we paid €175 for 2 nights B/B for 2. It was worth €50 max.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

In November 2012 me and my wife were traveling to Luxembourg City, and as we were flying into Frankfurt to late to get a train onwards, we decided to stay in Mainz rather than head into Frankfurt, as I had previously visited the city and found it nice enough.
With regards to Hotel Schottenhof, location-wise it is perfect. Just directly across from the train station (Mianz HBf) and right in the heart of the action within Mainz, with plenty of bars and shops just outside the hotel.
The hotel itself is nice enough, and the staff were friendly and helpful, but the hotel is in some REAL need of updating. The rooms are VERY basic, with beds that are long past their sell by date, and the furnature and bathroom/shower look like they have not been changed since the 1970's!
If I had to spend more than one night here I would be very unhappy, but as we were only passing through and in need of a place to sleep till our train at 10am the next morning, it would do.
Mainz is really nice and when I return, I would look elsewhere if I was planning to spend more than a night there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Schottenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schottenhof

Address: Schottstrasse 6, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 42 Hotels in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schottenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Schottenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schottenhof Hotel Mainz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Schottenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.