We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Challenging if you don't speak German” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Provincial Museum of the Central Rhineland (Landesmuseum Mainz)

Provincial Museum of the Central Rhineland (Landesmuseum Mainz)
Grosse Bleiche 49-51, Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
06131/285-70
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 16 Attractions in Mainz
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Highland Park, New Jersey
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Challenging if you don't speak German”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I appreciated the collection in this museum, but, no doubt, would have appreciated even more had I been able to understand the signage. I rented an audio guide to help me through, but found that a very small number of pieces had explanations available in English. Upon entering each exhibit area, there is a short explanation in English, but it left me wanting more.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle WA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Small but choice collection of art and artifacts, well presented”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This museum is a little off the tourist beaten track perhaps, so it was almost entirely empty of visitors when I toured it. (There were more security guards than visitors!) The art and Roman artifacts are extremely well presented, and the collection, while not overwhelmingly large, has many fine pieces. The guards are a little overbearing--I was yelled at by one for trying to open a door without using the automatic button. (Seriously, just pointing it out would have sufficed, I didn't need to be shouted at so hostilely!)

Still, I enjoyed my visit, especially the Jugenstil art nouveau glass pieces.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Landesmuseum has an astonishing collection of Roman sculptures, such as gravestones, altars, pillars and even a complete gate. The museum has modernised the first part of the rooms, so some of the most important pieces are shown with great lighting/atmosphere. For those interested in Roman archaeology, this museum is a must!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“History and Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great museum devoted to the history and art of Mainz and the Rhineland Palatinate. When we were there in May 2013 there was a terrific little exhibition of Mainz's roman military history.

One of its highlights for me is its collection of Art Nouveau glass. It is well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
120 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
“A huge collection of art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

It's well worth visiting this museum - it has a dozen or so permanent art collections of different sorts, including Medieval, Dutch, Romantic and Modern. You could really spend all day here, but better to choose two or three departments and spend an hour or so in each. There is an audio guide in English for one euro, although only a selection of pieces are described. Nice cafe on the ground floor.

It's a shame it wasn't very busy when I visited - the security guards felt obliged to follow me round to check what I was doing!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Provincial Museum of the Central Rhineland (Landesmuseum Mainz) also viewed

Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Provincial Museum of the Central Rhineland (Landesmuseum Mainz)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Provincial Museum of the Central Rhineland (Landesmuseum Mainz), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.