We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novotel Mainz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Mainz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Mainz to your Saves list
Novotel Mainz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Augustusstrasse 6, 55131 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Mainz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    213
    104
    15
    7
See reviews for
84
155
47
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Location – Although in the city, easy to arrive with a car and 10 minutes walk down the hill from the old city.

Haven't used dinning services.

Hotel and Room – Standard, basic and clean.

Reception - Friendly.

Bottom line – Nice hotel in the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I've stayed in all the hotels in Mainz at one time or another. The thing I like best about the hotel is the bar. away from the front door, laid out so you can sit with large groups or intimate tables. All the bar staff are friendly and attentive and you get nibbles with your drink. not too far from the town centre. has a small gym which is a luxury and what they call a swimming pool but its more spa than lengths swimming. rooms are large but feel more budget end of the market. most uncomfortable pillow ever, like a rag bag, and the thinnest towels ever. couldn't decide whether the noise every night I could not ignore was the lift (which wasn't that close to my room) or the air conditioning. Food is fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in Sept’13. Nice big and comfortable room on 4th floor, hence hot water just dripping! Not acceptable for 4 Star and the price we paid. Toiletry items missing upon arrival. Booked 5 months ahead for 2 people – only one bath robe and one pair of slippers provided. After calling reception – nothing happened. Poor service. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

No complaints
Hotel is located at top of hill above the town. - So get a taxi to hotel,
it is a 10-15 minute walk down lots of steps, bit of a chore on the way back from town

I have stayed in better Novotels - so nothing special

I thought from the pictures it had a reasonable pool, but the pool was very small so i did not bother to go in

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed in this hotel recently. The rooms are large, comfortable, luminous and well furnished.
Altogether, very confortable. They have a reasonable restaurant and even had some tables outdoors. The hotel is located in a nice neighbourhood but some distance from the center of town. It might take 15 minutes if one takes a lift at a parking that brings you down to street level of the city center. The personnel were extremely nice to me. Initially it was a room for me only, but due to my health problems my wife had to come to Mainz. We could both stay in the room at the same price. The room was spatious for two persons as well. I hope I can come back since my health problems prevented me from enjoying the city.

One problem is wifi is not for free and it costs a lot. In our case we were given this service for free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Mainz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Mainz

Address: Augustusstrasse 6, 55131 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mainz
#6 Business Hotel in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Mainz 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Novotel Mainz is located in the central and peaceful historical area "Auf dem Kästrich", just a few minutes' walk from Mainz city center. Modern architecture and a heritage-protected vault dating back to the 17th century create a charming contrast in the hotel's interior, giving the hotel a distinctive edge. The 217 modern rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with flat-screen TV and free WIFI. The hotel has a restaurant, bar and wellness center complete with pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness center. The 12 meeting rooms can accommodate up to 150 people. Chargeable parking is available in the indoor car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Mainz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Mainz Hotel Mainz
Mainz Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Mainz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.