We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Mainz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Mainz to your Saves list
Novotel Mainz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Augustusstrasse 6, 55131 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Mainz
Copenhagen
1 review
“Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Service was very polite and helpful. Rooms had good size and were clean. My room faced the backyard with singing blackbirds and green areas. I could hear the elevator, but other than that it was pretty quiet in the room. Breakfast good. Good location in between the train station and the old city center.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    203
    98
    14
    5
See reviews for
79
143
44
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We unfortunately checked in late and checked out first thing the next morning so could not make use of the spa area which was a major selling point in our initial booking. However, the front counter staff were pleasant and assisted us with recommended visits in the town and the room was clean and warm. The only negative was the exorbitant charge for parking overnight, 11 Euro's for one night. However this did not dampen what was a good experience in Mainz.

Room Tip: Facing the road gives a good view of the surrounding architecture. Double glazing ensures all sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location for any visitor who wants to be able to easily walk in to the city centre but doesn't want the noise of city centre life. The staff were universally polite and friendly. The quality of the food at breakfast was excellent and comprehensive.
There are three aspects that need improvement. One, the mattresses and pillows were basic and did not aid restful sleep. Two, the breakfast staff did not check with guests about the availability of coffee, leading to empty pots being left on tables that had been re-set for the next guests. Three, the number of guests in a room is known to the hotel and yet the rooms had no additional robe, towels or bedding.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavle, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a business hotel that is neither particularly good nor bad. The rooms are clean and average sized. The continental breakfast is OK and so is the service. The main problem of the hotel is the price. I paid more than 200 Euro/night for the stay. I expected a lot more. If you can get a good price, it is worth staying here a night or two.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Won't mention which airline I work for, but we've been staying at this hotel for about 16-17 years on our layovers. Every two years, when the hotel contract is about to expire, we launch a grass-roots campaign to continue to stay here, and so far, it has worked. For us, this trip has the highest seniority of any European destination (translation: we're generally not the hot, cute, young things who party loudly late into the night -- that's a different airline) and we take this layover very seriously for shopping and eating, because it's one of the best.
All the rooms in the hotel were re-done about seven years ago, and it's probably time for another freshening. But the rooms are large and comfortable, and all the windows open. If you wish for a different pillow/duvet, you need only ask or call reception, and housekeeping cheerfully delivers what you need quickly. The contents of the mini-bar are not really significant, and can be set aside on a shelf so that you can refrigerate your own items (thankfully, it's not one of those auto-minibars that charge you when you remove an item.) There are only two European-style electrical plug receptacles located on the desk, so bring a universal adapter or two. There is also a plug in the bathroom, and another adjacent to the light switches next to the door. The shower doors in the bathrooms only reach half-way across the tub, but keep the shower head centered toward the wall, and you won't soak your floors. Bathroom amenities are standard and minimal (shampoo, lotion, soap, shower gel.) The hotel staff is uniformly pleasant, helpful, and friendly. The restaurant is quite good, if you want to stay in, and I believe they have 24 hour room service with a slightly limited menu. In the summer, they have a Biergarten in the courtyard.
One can walk to the center of Mainz in about 10 minutes, where there are a ton of great mom-and-pop restaurants offering authentic German cuisine (most don't accept credit cards -- take Euros.) If you don't want to negotiate stairs on your way back, walk up the hill on Emmerich-Josef Strasse (across from the famous fountain in the Schillerplatz) and walk straight into the tunnel (which closes at 10:00pm). Go to the end, then turn right and walk straight to the elevators. The city center is on level one, the hotel is on level 5. When you reach the top, exit the elevator, walk through the apartment courtyard, and the hotel is on your right. However, after a hearty meal of schnitzel and bratkartoffeln, the 100 steps up to the hotel level is probably a good idea.
From the first day we came here, the management told us they wanted us to feel like it was our "home away from home." They were successful. It is my favorite layover and favorite hotel.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteldirektion_H5407, Manager at Novotel Mainz, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Anne,

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us several times and your compliments are greatly appreciated. You can be sure that we will give our best effort "to be your home away from home" of course also in the future.

We would be glad to welcome you back in the future at the Novotel Mainz.

Yours sincerely,

Ruediger Schild
General Manager
Novotel Mainz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Arriving in Germany from SFO, my family of four stayed 4 nights at the Novotel Mainz in Dec 2012, on a city breaks deal, which included the breakfast buffet. This was our second time in a Novotel, and the experience was very good, as it was the first time. The room was comfortable and relatively spacious, with a queen bed and fold-out couch bed for the kids (watch out for those metal legs, though!), a desk at the large window, which faced a courtyard, and even a live tree in the room! I liked the in-room waterpot & tea option, although the tea selection was not refilled often. The kids were each given a small toy at check-in, which was a nice gesture.

Breakfast buffet had a grand selection of food, including local offerings such as black forest ham, breads & rolls, numerous kinds of wurst, and organic honey. There was hot food, cold cuts, cheeses, cereal, muesli, yogurt, pretty much something for everyone including picky eaters. The staff were attentive and hard-working, kept things clean and well stocked, and made us tea or espresso drinks upon request. We ate at the restaurant one night for dinner, and the food was good & ample, and the service excellent.

The hotel is located in a largely residential neighborhood, roughly 1/4 mile straight uphill from the Mainz train station. We found the walk very do-able with kids and carry-on sized suitcases. It was not snowy or icy when we visited, but that is a consideration if you visit in winter (the roads are graveled when icy). There is a park with walking paths just a bit further up the hill from the hotel, and of course the neighborhood has nice sidewalks for strolling.

The hotel has many amenities including a fitness room, spa and pool. The only one we got around to using was the pool. Shower before and after in the Roman-inspired shower room! There is an in-pool jacuzzi-type thing that may or may not be controlled by buttons underwater, at the sides. My son got a little panicked when the jets suddenly came on out of the blue.

Specific areas for improvement, and these are a tad nit-picky, I'll admit: 1) shower doors do not prevent water from leaking onto the slick tile floor, 2) lose the mini-bar so we can actually use the tiny refrigerator, 3) consider free coffee/tea in the lobby for everyone, not just the flight attendants? Just an idea.

Location Tip: The hotel is walking distance down to the center of Mainz, with restaurants, laundromat, shops, museums, the riverfront and historic buildings, but it is not a short walk, probably a mile or more round trip. Mainz is a walkable city; it has public transportation in the form of buses or trams, but we did not use them for getting around the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteldirektion_H5407, Manager at Novotel Mainz, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear LibbyGH,

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your compliments are greatly appreciated.

We would be glad to welcome you back in the future at the Novotel Mainz.

Yours sincerely,

Ruediger Schild
General Manager
Novotel Mainz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Pierce County, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel is a mixed bag- love the fitness center, the wi-fi, the pool, and the on-site restaurant. Some of the employees are excellent, and a couple are only so-so. However, they need to pick up the room cleanliness a bit. There was obvious body hair on the beds/mattresses and the carpets could use a refresh. Also, for some reason, the power will not charge my computer (both times I stayed there, I thought my charger was broken.) I don't know if I am the only one- it's not a big deal, but I didn't have that problem anywhere else in Europe, even in the oldest of buildings. Please, Novotel, this place could be world class, if you put just a tiny bit of effort into human resources!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Mainz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Mainz

Address: Augustusstrasse 6, 55131 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mainz
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
#7 Business Hotel in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Mainz 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Novotel Mainz is located in the central and peaceful historical area "Auf dem Kästrich", just a few minutes' walk from Mainz city center. Modern architecture and a heritage-protected vault dating back to the 17th century create a charming contrast in the hotel's interior, giving the hotel a distinctive edge. The 217 modern rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with flat-screen TV and free WIFI. The hotel has a restaurant, bar and wellness center complete with pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness center. The 12 meeting rooms can accommodate up to 150 people. Chargeable parking is available in the indoor car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Mainz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Mainz Hotel Mainz
Mainz Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Mainz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.