We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Mainz City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Mainz City to your Saves list
Hilton Mainz City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Munsterstrasse 11, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Mainz
Oakland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hilton?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I just returned from a 12 night stay at the Hilton Mainz City. Arrived from US with plenty of luggage and after check in, there was no offer of assistance to take our luggage to our rooms. We had to carry our suitcases. The front desk was not rude, but did not seem to care either way.
One of the shift managers seemed to be busy talking on his handy most of the time.

Rooms were quiet, worn but clean.
Housekeeping was very friendly and they did an excellent job.

This hotel is a Best Western with the Hilton name.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, General Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your comments and most certainly the opportunity given to review.

It is unfortunate and we deeply regret that we were not able to have you completely satisfied. Please rest assured that your feedback will be communicated with the respective department accordingly for future service enhancements.

Dear guest, although we did not entirely meet your expectations this time it would be a big pleasure for the whole team to convince you at future stays and we look forward to host you once again at the Hilton Mainz City.

With kind regards,

Aurelia Fleck
p.p. (Roland Rößler)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    115
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
30
70
36
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owasso, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have stayed here many times over the years and always have enjoyed it. Mainz is a 25 minute s-bahn ride to FRA (Frankfurt International Airport). This hotel is an easy walk from the train station and also a short walk to Mainz old town. We always stop here the first and last night of our trips to Germany which is 2-3 times a year and still love Mainz and The Mainz City Hilton. We have tryed staying at the Hilton at the airport (FRA) and it is a great hotel, however you are at the airport. The Mainz City Hilton is perfectly located to enjoy the wonderful old town of Mainz which is full of wonderful restaurants and interesting sites. We will stay at least two more time this year for Xmas Market (Mainz Xmas Market is a good one)

Room Tip: We have stayed in at least 25 different rooms over the years, all were fine. They have good weekend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, General Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us; it is an absolute pleasure to learn that we were able to live up to the expectations of your holiday.

Your recommendation is much appreciated and we look forward to the week your travel plans will bring you back to Mainz.

With kind regards,

Aurelia Fleck
p.p. (Roland Rößler)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We just finished our first stop in Germany and WOW, this hotel really took care of us! During check in, we found the room to be too small as well as the beds. The front desk quickly found us a new room with no issues! Our room was clean and fresh and so was the fruit that was unexpectedly delivered to our room, Thanks! Breakfast was outstanding and so was the Staff! Very courteous and eager to please, Thanks again! The front desk staff was very helpful for giving accurate directions and ideas for things to do! Very nice! The hotel is in a great location for any activity in the city center! Easy to find!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, General Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your complimenting review on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to read that you had an amazing stay with us on your recent visit and delighted to learn that you were pleased with the overall stay. Sharing your friendly remarks with my team was absolutely a highlight.

We hope to have the opportunity to be of service should your upcoming travel plans bring you to Mainz.

With kind regards,

Aurelia Fleck
p.p. (Roland Rößler)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Spent three nights here for business. The hotel is well located and is in easy walking distance from the waterfront. I was on the basic fare but got upgraded and they were very accommodating for an early check-in, having landed at 5am in Frankfurt from Boston. Food (breakfast and dinner) was fresh and good, nothing exceptional. Room was spacious and very comfortable, including espresso machine in the room. Note that the gym in the hotel is very small but they have an agreement with a nearby gym which allows access to hotel guests - it's less than 5min walk from the hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, General Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to share your experience with us and other travellers through tripadvisor.com.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you were satisfied with our services as well as with the location of the Hilton Mainz City.

Whilst hoping you had a save trip back home we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Aurelia Fleck
p.p. (Roland Rößler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

located right on the edge of the city centre with easy access to great restaurants. visited here lots of times for work, reception staff and waiting staff always extremely helpful and friendly, its a Hilton, you know what to expect. Rooms a good size and clean and tidy. Breakfast is great but there are far better places to eat, just wander outside for a couple of minutes and try anywhere, hotel menu is uninispiring. Bar is a bit strung out and the one thing I don;t like it the barman. far more interested in chatting to the locals\air crew guests than clearing table or serving the less regular clientelle. have often been to meetings in the meeting centre, always supported by friendly and helpful staff, a great coffee machine and always lovely staff in the meeting centre. no gym although I believe they do provde free access to a gym down the road

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. It is great to read that you felt most comfortable during your stay in April.

Concerning your comments regarding the service in our bar, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused. Please be assured that the situation you described is not our standard. Corrective actions have been taken with our team in order to avoid such shortcomings in the future and to guarantee the expected Hilton-Standards and quality.

We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback allows us to constantly improve our level of service and therefore your comments are very much appreciated.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

With kind regards

Aurelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. It seems to cater to business clients, and the hotel staff were fluent in many languages. The hotel was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and our room was the perfect size for my husband and me. The front desk staff were very helpful. They suggested great restaurants and sight-seeing options. Breakfast was included and was very good, with a good variety of options, including soy, gluten-, and lactose-free options.

Dinner in the hotel was pricey and not as tasty as other food we tried at restaurants in the city. I'd recommend having dinner outside of the hotel. I was disappointed that wifi was not available in the room, only in the hotel lobby. For a hotel that caters to business clients, it would seem wifi in the room would be a better option. On the last night, we waited and waited and waited for service. The waiter was a nice guy, but seemed overwhelmed and the restaurant and bar understaffed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to share your experience with us and other travellers through tripadvisor.com. It is great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Especially our Front Desk Team will be pleased to learn about your kind words.

We regret, that your expectations in regard to our restaurant couldn’t been met and I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused. Please be assured that the situation you described is not our standard. Corrective actions have been taken with our Team in order to avoid such shortcomings in the future and to guarantee the expected Hilton-Standards and quality.

Concerning the Internet, we already changed the internet provider and we can now deliver a very good quality of the connection with lower price. As you already mentioned you may use the internet in the public area with your own laptop free of charge. We always strive to improve our service and therefore your comments are very much appreciated and we will consider your comments for future plannings.

Whilst hoping you had a save trip back home we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I used this hotel for a business trip. The hotel is not new, but the rooms are clean. No Executive Lounge, but the Hilton at the river Rhein has also no lounge. It's a small hotel. Nice breakfast buffet. In 3 minutes walking distance from the place with the dom.

Room Tip: Choose a room to the court, than it's very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please allow me to thank you for your most kind feedback about your stay at the Hilton Mainz City shared with us and other travellers.

However we are very sorry that not all of our facilities have been to your fullest satisfaction and I want to apologize for the inconvenience caused. Receiving feedback from our guests is one of the highest priorities as it allows us to constantly improve our level of service and therefore your comments are very much appreciated and we will consider your comments for future plannings.

We look forward to the week your travel plans will bring you back to Mainz.

With kind regards,

Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Mainz City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mainz City

Address: Munsterstrasse 11, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mainz
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Mainz City 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Mainz City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mainz City Hotel Mainz
Mainz Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Mainz City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.