We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice & relaxing shelter BUT stay far from reception...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Mainz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Mainz to your Saves list
Hilton Mainz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rheinstrasse 68, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Mainz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glyfada, Greece
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“nice & relaxing shelter BUT stay far from reception...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

second time here and i reconfirm the good impressions overall. if they could 'reboot' the reception staff it will increase the level of the hotel.
Staff at reception are usually young ladies most of them I understood are still learning the job but who 'pays' the expenses of their inexperience are the customers...In my case I booked 1 dbl with breakfast and 1 single without breakfast. Finally instead of 3 people we were only 2 for 2 rooms and we needed only 1 breakfast. I had to pay the same price as we were 3 people ... for all the stay (4 nites)!!! There was no way to discuss the matter. above all the staff is much arrogant and unfriendly. The 'manager' who was behind the wall of the reception, did not even bother to come out and discuss: the reception lady had to go in and out to ask and report... On top of all they messed up with my credit card asking a much high authorization than needed and after days of my cheout they did not yet arrange to cancell it. So the amount is still blocked...
Next time I will try elsewhere in Mainz because of thereception staff!!!

Room Tip: river side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback on your recent stay in the Hilton Mainz. Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience you experienced with our staff. I will address this matter with them to ensure similar incidents could be avoided. I can assure you that this is not our standard.

The amount of EUR 50,00 per day as per Policy was only authorized on your credit card, which
however has already been released when you checked out. The release must have been
done in the meantime by your credit card partner. This procedure can, however, last up to 14 days.
If you need any information for your bank, please do not hesitate to contact me.

We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Kind Regards,

Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    223
    69
    24
    9
See reviews for
55
140
40
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Northport, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The title says it all. Restaurant & parking garage is overpriced. Front desk could be friendlier. No sense of security at this hotel. Maid service left dirty glasses and cups in room. Man urinating outside my window. Mistake!

Room Tip: If you have a heavy bag & like to carry it yourself, then DON'T request the 1st floor. No e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at the Hilton Mainz hotel. Receiving feedback from our guests is one of the highest priorities as it allows us to constantly improve our level of service.

I really regret that you were not satisfied with our prices in the restaurant. Especially our daily All-Inclusive Dinner-Buffett is gladly often chosen by our guests, because it offers for 41 € per person a great variety of hot and cold dishes and all beverages like wines, beer, soft drinks and coffee are included.
The parking space is a public facility and does not belong to the hotel. Therefore we unfortunately do not have any influence on its operation and price structure, but we will forward your comments to the responsible company.

Please be assured that we comply with all in Germany provided safety standards and we do have security in the hotel as well as video supervision.

In regard to your comments about your room, I want to apologize for the inconvenience caused. The situation you described is not our standard. Corrective actions have been taken with our team in order to avoid such shortcomings in the future and to guarantee the expected Hilton-Standards and quality.

I am very sorry that you had to experience one of the less nice things that happen during Carnival and I confirm that this was really an exceptional situation.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

With kind regards,

Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is my favorite Hilton property. The hotel is very nice, the staff is wonderful, and the restaurant is unmatched! The hotel is located immediately on the Rheine River and the view is beautiful. I stay here anytime I am in the Frankfurt/Mainz area.

Room Tip: The evening buffet is a bit expensive, but once you start eating you will be happy you spent the mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at HILTON Mainz and would like to thank for the great 5 stars review in Tripadvisor.

Your comments are very important to us, as they help us to review and increase our standard. It is a great pleasure for us to see that you were satisfied with our services as well as with the location of Hilton Mainz. The Rhine River, promenade and many small restaurants and shops make Mainz a nice place to relax.

Your recommendation is much appreciated and we look forward to the week your travel plans will bring you back to Mainz.

With kind regards,

Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is amazing. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. The rooms were extremely clean. One side of the hotel has beautiful views of the river. I receive a welcome tray that included a 1 L of water, a 375 ml of Riesling (very good), a cream filled doughnut (awesome), a pretzel (great), and 2 apples (good). The room was sooooo quiet and dark which allowed me to get a great night's sleep. The windows are sound proofed. The restaurant in the hotel was a little expensive, however, the food was good. The breakfast at the hotel was one of the best I have ever had at a Hilton. My only complaint about the hotel was the HVAC in the room. I like to leave the fan on in the room, vice putting it on auto which normally means the heat or a/c (whichever season it is) will come on and off but the fan will always run. In the room I had this meant the heat ran constantly. I woke up in the middle of the night and had to shut the heat off because it was way, way too hot in the room. They also have a very nice gym in this hotel. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have an awesome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your stay in our HILTON Mainz and for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travellers through tripadvisor.com. It was a pleasure to read your most kind feedback. Thank you very much for your words.

However we are very sorry that not all of our facilities have been to your fullest satisfaction.
I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused regarding the heating system in your room. Please be assured that the situation you described is not our standard. We always strive to improve our service and therefore your comments are very much appreciated.

Whilst hoping you had a save trip back home we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel looks like a totally different hotel from 2yrs ago.......very nic renovation.....chambres are very nic & modern. loads of work space, hard beds (I like them anyway) nic decor...very soothering colours, ambitious. Staff are very busy, but not 1 request went unfilled. Now hilton should renovate the other hilton hotel here n mainz.....hilton city centre......stayed there a few times...it NEEDS IT like this hotel needed it a few years ago......

Room Tip: If you re paying for the chambre, get a chambre on the river side......great views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please allow me to thank you for your most kind feedback about your stay at the Hilton Mainz shared with us and other travellers.

Receiving feedback from our guests is one of the highest priorities as it allows us to constantly
improve our level of service and therefore your comments are very much appreciated and we will consider your comments for future plannings.

We look forward to the week your travel plans will bring you back to Mainz.

With kind regards,
Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for Christmas Markets. It's only a short walk to many attractions (Gutenberg Museum and the Dom for example), plus it's right on the Rhine. Great views, good service and overall a nice property. I prefer the City Hilton in Mainz, but this is a great property as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at HILTON Mainz and would like to thank you for choosing the Hilton Mainz for your stay as well as for the great review in Tripadvisor.

Your comments are very important to us, as they help us to review and increase our standard. It is a great pleasure for us to see that you were satisfied with our services as well as with the location of Hilton Mainz.

The whole team of our HILTON Mainz will be looking forward to host you once again at the Hilton Mainz or Hilton Mainz City.

If you have any question in the meantime I will be more than happy to assist you.

Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Once in a while I have a business meeting in Mainz area, so this was my third stay in this hotel over the years. Once, the hotel was in the progress of renovation. The renovation however is completed and most of the public areas are refurbished. Outside its still looking a bit old, but inside things have changed to the better. The lobby is modern. The rooms are better than before, with warm colors, mainly brown tones, good beds. I had a room to the street not to the rhine river, however could sleep well at night, was not loud. The bathroom is still a bit old fashioned, more modern design would give more points. The breakfast is of good quality and variety, the best thing however was the magnificent view in the morning, with a beautiful sunrise over the rhine river. Service at breakfast was good. As most of the reviewers already told, the hotel is located AT the rhine river, at one of the entrances of the old town of Mainz and opposite the casino. Hilton is as you know an international hotel chain thus it offers lots of international TV channels and in Mainz they host lots of airline crew. The international airport of Frankfurt is around 35 minutes away, taxis are usually in front of hotel, charging 45 to 50 euros to the Airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your stay at the HILTON Mainz and for taking the time to post a comment in TripAdvisor.

It is a great pleasure for us to see that you were satisfied with our services as well as with the location of Hilton Mainz. It is really near to Frankfurt Airport and easy to get there. The Rhine River, promenade and many small restaurants and shops make Mainz a nice place to relax.

Receiving feedback from our guests is one of the highest priorities as it allows us to constantly improve our level of service. Please be assured that we will consider your comments for future plannings.

If you have any question in the meantime I will be more than happy to assist you.

Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Mainz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mainz

Address: Rheinstrasse 68, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mainz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
#4 Business Hotel in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Mainz 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Mainz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mainz Hotel Mainz
Mainz Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Mainz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.