We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIND BETTER Mo&Pat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rockhaye Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Witheridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rockhaye Cottage B&B
Save
You added Rockhaye Cottage B&B to your Saves list
Dart Hill | Nr. Tiverton, Witheridge, Tiverton EX16 8PX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Witheridge B&B and Inns
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
“FIND BETTER Mo&Pat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

What a delightful place to stay,what delightful hosts.A very enjoyable stay,with all the feeling of being not just a visitor, but of a prevoius relationship with the owners.
Fred and Maggie offer a superb service at a very competitive price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

What more can you add to the reviews posted?
We picked this at random as it sounded just what we wanted and looked idyllic in its location.
Visiting relatives whom had just moved down we needed some where close to stay and comfortable and we were not let down.
Firstly your hosts Fred & Maggie feel just like family warm and welcoming and make you feel at home not intrusive but there if you need any thing .
Fred will give you a lift and collect you from the pub restaurant or a relatives as was our case brilliant especially if you had a drink and just drove a considerable distance which is a big help.
Maggie you just warm to very friendly and enjoys a good chat as we do but also bakes the most delicious cookies which if I had a complaint would be more please and keeps a lovely home.
The accommodation first class in all aspects you will be very pleased and the bed we had one of the best nights sleep ever being away from home .
We could not find any fault with the hosts and the rooms, we say rooms as you have your own sitting room with log fire ,bed room en-suite plus a bath and shower & wc in another room.
Then the breakfast sets you up nicely all fresh produce and we will now buy a juicer as Fred,s freshly squeezed orange and grapefruit made you realize what you miss out on, the local girls provide the eggs whom roam around freely and let you pet them .
The location you could not want better the river practically at the bottom of the garden and plenty of walks around you being between the moors and we hope we get back there in the spring or summer to see the countryside in bloom.
Well I mentioned to Maggie I did not want to give a review as they may get to many bookings and we will not be able to get in when we visit the relatives again .
Book your stay here and you will not be disappointed if your just passing through or looking for a base to strike out from

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NrSheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

A truly enjoyable B&B. Immaculately clean suite of rooms. Delicious breakfasts. Comfortable bed. Lifts to the pub. And completely, blissfully quiet. Fred and Maggie have got this absolutely right. They are extremely welcoming, very accomodating, good-humoured conversationalists, but never intrusive. We felt the most relaxed we have ever felt in anyone's home.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

In a quiet Devon village we enjoyed two very comfortable nights in this self contained annex in a traditional cottage. It had a large, well appointed bedroom, a private sitting room and all the little extras you could possibly wish for. Delicious biscuits and an amazing breakfast made us feel very welcome and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Home made biscuits to welcome us , home baked bread for breakfast with eggs from the chickens and the most comfortable bed we have ever slept ,Maggie and Fred are excellent hosts

Room Tip: Beautiful room with spacious bathroom and your own siting room- amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We had a most perfect time at Rockhaye. A beautiful and peaceful location. Maggie and Fred are genuinely wonderful hosts who would do anything to make your stay great. The bed and breakfast was immaculately cleaned, cosy, we had a delicious breakfast and the door was opened to the smell of freshly baked biscuits :) which were very tasty!. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

When you arrive at Rockhaye you will be welcomed with the biggest smile from Fred and Maggie, such a smile you wonder why?
After your stay you will understand why. This beautiful Cottage is set in a valley and the only sound you will hear are the sound of silence and the smell of fresh bread being baked for your Breakfast.
The accommodation is very spacious with the most amazing bed that hugs you to a peaceful sleep where you are only woken by the birds feeding outside your window.
Then you meet the stars of the show in Chequers the Cat and the Chicken.
Fred and Maggie do everything possible to make your stay an experience to remember and Fred’s breakfasts are going to become legend.
If you want peace and silence with service and smile then this is for you. We spent a week with Fred & Maggie and did not want to leave and hopefully made new friends for life.

Room Tip: There is only one accomadation available and the only advice is to Relax and Enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rockhaye Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockhaye Cottage B&B

Address: Dart Hill | Nr. Tiverton, Witheridge, Tiverton EX16 8PX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tiverton > Witheridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Witheridge
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockhaye is a charming old thatched cottage which is idyllically situated in front of the Little Dart River in the heart of the Devon countryside. We only have two guests at a time so can give them an 'old fashioned' special service not normally found in other B&Bs, for example breakfast when you want it anytime up until 12 noon, hot water bottles, etc. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockhaye Cottage B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.