We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Accomodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Berghof Hotel

Berghof Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Berghof Hotel to your Saves list
Berghof Hotel
Lehrhohl 38, 56077 Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Koblenz
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Value Accomodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We spent 4 days at the Berghof, visiting the Rhine and Mosel Valleys. The host, Christian, was very welcoming and great in helping us acclimatise to the area. The room was a good size, and the wifi was fast and uninterrupted. The walk into the centre of the city is approximately 30 minutes and is all downhill. We chose to take a taxi back as the hill is steep. The only negative is that the room was a bit dated, especially the bathroom. However it is at a level consistent with the price you pay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Only stayed here for one night on our cycle touring trip, and didn't eat in the restaurant as we wanted to see the town. Room was ok, but a bit basic, and very hot with limited options for ventilation or cooling down. Staff were nice though, and hotel was just about walkable to the fortress.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our host Christian was such a lovely man, so helpful and kind, making us feel so welcome and well cared for. By far, the kindest and most wonderful person we met on our 3 weeks tour of Germany. We stayed for 4 days and enjoyed our stay tremendously! The food was great and very reasonable, and he even went out of his way to cook a special dish for my husband. Would definitely recommend this hotel especially for the price, it is clean and well maintained. Very convenient, with the bus stop just 40 meters from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, england
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We came from Rotterdam by car to Koblenz and fortunately had satnav to guide us. Without that it may have been hard to go directly to the hotel. But it was worth the effort as the hotel is a gem for the price. The rooms are basic but are clean and well maintained. Access to the rooms is via a stairway that some might find steep so being fit helps. Downstairs is the bar and dining room. Locals use the bar for a few evening drinks and it was smokey when we were there, unusual in Europe nowadays. The food was excellent and filling, so several courses would need a huge appetite but the little ladies at the next table seemed to manage by taking their time and chatting throughout. Although out of the city centre it is a pleasant twenty minute walk through some pretty streets to the city. If you keep to the east bank of the river then there is a ferry that crosses every 15 minutes for 2 euros. From that the views of the river traffic and the city waterfront can be appreciated. The ferry drops you off near the cable car up to the fortress, worth a visit. To return to the hotel catch a 27 bus and show the driver your hotel card and she will tell when to get off (20 minutes because of the route) don't walk. Great staff and value.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

What a gem this hotel is, we were greeted upon arrival by Christian who made us feel very welcome. After a short visit into Koblenz, returned for evening meal prepared and cooked by Christian and what a wonderful meal we had, the rump steak was possibly the best steak i have had.
Unfortunatly we had to move on next day but assured Christian we would return and have already booked to stay for 4 nights next year.
Can't wait to see more of Koblenz, roll on next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

great hotel, which is just like staying in your own little house as all doors to the rooms are from the outside, so you're free to come and go as you please without disturbing others. great host, came in on his day off to greet us, and gave us a map of Koblenz. It's a nice walk down the road to the river Rheine...although the road in which the hotel is on is very steep, so walking home was NOT my idea of fun!!! Koblenz is a lovely city, i first went as a child, so had to put it into the tour! Breakfast was typically continental, although my partner was very happy as this was the only hotel we stayed at that did smoked salmon for breakfast! think he ate most of it!!! will definiately stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ge
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Great breakfast, excellent dining in the evening.
Exceptionally gracious host Christian Michel speaks English fluently.
There was no charge for parking at the hotel parking lot.
A great place to start our Rhine river cruise.
We will definitely stay there on our next trip to Germany.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Berghof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghof Hotel

Address: Lehrhohl 38, 56077 Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Koblenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Koblenz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Berghof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berghof Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.