We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Germany style hotel with river view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Diehls Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Diehls Hotel to your Saves list
Diehls Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rheinsteigufer 1, 56077 Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Koblenz
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Germany style hotel with river view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I recently had a short one night stay at this hotel upon recommendation from a local business partner.
The hotel is in typical "German decor style" . . . Some like that :-) It has good parking and is next to the river
The room was a good size, it was clean and furniture and appliances seemed to be of good and new standards
Wlan was free but very slow. Breakfast was OK but not impressive
All in all OK but service was very good and add to this a price level which is very acceptable it is not a bad choice

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    59
    25
    13
    11
See reviews for
16
69
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We chose this hotel for the great location near the Rhine. We were doing a car journey so we chose the hotel for a overnight.
The view in the morning was great, seeing the Rhine and the Electoral Palace. The rooms are well warmed, even in December it is easy to wake up.
I could hear the trains while I was awake and if there were not other noises, but I did not wake up because of the trains.
The Swimming pool is in the basement floor with view for the Rhine.
If you are getting there by car, be attentive to the street signs, the GPS was sending us very near the Hotel but not to the park.

Weird thing, I realized I could not lock the door from inside. I found this important after someone accidentally opened our door at 22:00, after realizing someone was inside they promptly closed our door, since we were sleepy, I do not know where they went after, but that was the only incident.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We were passing through Koblenz, staying the night here as it was a convenient mid point on a long car journey. Diehl's Hotel attracted us because of the generally positive reviews on TripAdvisor, a very good advance purchase rate, and free parking.

I found the hotel very easy to find after only studying the map cursorily. Head straight through Koblenz, past the Mercure Hotel (on the right) and over the Rhein on the main road bridge. Enter the short tunnel ahead, take the first right at the lights, turn right and the hotel is right there just beyond the railway line. It's literally on the bank of the Rhein in a very impressive location. The railway line was not an issue at all; as far as I could see the vast majority of rooms face the Rhein and the trains were not an intrusion at all. It might be wise to ask for a Rhein facing room to be on the safe side. Location-wise this hotel is not the most central. It's an excellent choice for those with a car, but otherwise I understand there to be a number of options for getting across the Rhein, including a walk across the bridge which would probably be something to be endured rather than enjoyed (it's a busy traffic bridge). In summer, the ferry would be the best choice.

Our room was apparently one of the hotel's smallest but was nevertheless generously proportioned, clean, modern and very comfortable. External blinds, electrically operated, provided total privacy. Our bathroom had only a shower, but it was clean, warm and functional, and had the requisite courtesy items. It took quite a while for the cold water to run cold, but it got there eventually. We did not use the TV, which was a modestly sized flat screen, but understood it to have a range of free to air channels, with premium Pay TV available at around EUR11 per day. There was also a minibar, some comfortable chairs, and a very comfortable king size bed with what seemed to be an orthopaedic/memory foam type mattress.

We dined in the hotel's main restaurant, ClementS. This was the highlight of our stay. Service was good, friendly and attentive. It was the day before Christmas Eve and the hotel was quiet but very festively decorated. The dining room was very attractive and had a nice ambience. There was a good a la carte menu, and we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Rhein - for views and to avoid any possibility of being disturbed by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Every time we travel we spend a night or two in this hotel the room so clean and the room has the view for the Rhine river which make it' so romantic for any couple to stay in they have wifi in every room at the end of the day enjoy the spa and the massage it's one of my favorite
Thanks to everyone who is working there

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

What a view to wake up to in the morning, overlooking the Rhine with activity galore on the river. Only yards from where the Mosselle joins the Rhine this hotel is very good. Rooms on 3 floor have great views. Though a limited menu the food is fabulous. Chef is an American lady who knows how to cook. Chateaubriant was to die for and best ever tasted, followed by best Rack of lamb. We didnt eat out except for snacks, food was that good. Very good breakfast buffet. Young staff where extremly helpful, in particular Michelle, Corina and Elina, nothing was to much trouble. Room prices are on the high side but it was lovely. Railway line at rear of hotel was not a problem, though on first site it could put you off. It was so enjoyable that we drove back from Oberammergau to spend a further 3 days before driving home.

Room Tip: Third floor overlooking river (room 302)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The hotel es placed in a hill over the Rhein. Less than 500 meters from the ferry dock and from a "walkable" (but not short) distance from Koblenz's downtown. Friendly staff, quick check-in and a superb view of the Rhein from my room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We arrived at Diehl's Hotel after a long hot drive from Austria, and were delighted by the warm and friendly welcome - and also by the very convenient on site car parking. Our room was extremely clean, well provided with all amenities, a luxurious bathroom, very quiet and efficient air conditioning and excellent views of the Rhine and the Altstadt. The free wifi was very acceptable.
We took advantage of the ferry across the river when sightseeing, which made the hotel very convenient for all we needed.
All staff we encountered were exceptionally friendly and efficient. The food at breakfast and dinner was very high quality - the local wine was also very good!

All in all , a hotel we would return to with pleasure, and one we can highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Diehls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diehls Hotel

Address: Rheinsteigufer 1, 56077 Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Koblenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Koblenz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diehls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diehls Hotel is your address of choice in the Middle Rhine Valley, a World Heritage region, and situated on the banks of the Rhine just across the river from Koblenz' old town.The family-operated establishment in Koblenz, Diehls Hotel has been owned and run by the family for almost 93 years. With 57 individually furnished rooms, a-la-carte dining in our Restaurant "ClemenS", five banquet and seven conference rooms we invite private and corporate guests to enjoy a sophisticated ambiance and look forward to welcoming you! If you book your room on our website or contact us directly by phone, fax or mail, you will receive a free use of our hotel sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Diehls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diehls Hotel Koblenz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diehls Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.