We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Flammkuchen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spinnradl

Spinnradl
Schillerstr. 1, 67655 Kaiserslautern, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
+49 631 60511
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Try the Flammkuchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Real tasty regional food and wine from the Kaiserslautern area. Try the bread with Schmaltz and the Flammkuchen.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    49
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We selected Spinnradl based on the reviews here. The reviews are accurate, this is a great little authentic German restaurant. Although we didn't have reservations they were able to accommodate us since there was enough time between reservations. Our meals were very good and the staff was friendly. We highly recommend this restaurant and if you need more time to dine, be sure to make a reservation in advance.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Excellent food, service and ambiance. The English speaking staff were friendly and helpful. We went on a Friday night around 5:30 and there were tables available, but they quickly filled up and after our dinner, we understood why. Put this one on your list. I perfect stop near the Christmas Market.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The flammkuchen was really good, and the sausages and sauerkraut were good, too. The building has some historic charm.

Someone else was buying, so I don't know exactly how much we spent, but I don't think it was a lot.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Beach
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Food and Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Means "spinning wheel." Excellent German food and wine from the Pfalz wine region with friendly, English speaking staff and charming ambiance in the oldest half-timbered building in K-town. Has two floors, there is a bar on the first floor, and a small separate semi-private seating area off to the left side as you enter. Upstairs is a larger one room dining area. It fills up on the weekends so might want to reserve if going in a group. The bar on the main floor can get a bit loud. The menu has a varied and large selection. I had a very tender rump steak (new york strip) cooked to medium- rare perfection and it came with home style potatoes, and a salad with a bit too much dressing (ask for dressing on the side). My partner had the Jagerschnitzel with mushroom sauce which looked and smelled fantastic. The wine list features local wines from the region and the Riesling was amazing. With most Restos closing around 22:30 it was nice to know that this one is open until 24:00. Prices were moderate.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spinnradl also viewed

Kaiserslautern, Rhineland-Palatinate
Kaiserslautern, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Kaiserslautern, Rhineland-Palatinate
Kaiserslautern, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Spinnradl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spinnradl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.