We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go with the flow of the zoo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zoo Wuppertal

Zoo Wuppertal
Hubertusallee 30, Wuppertal, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 15 Attractions in Wuppertal
Attraction details
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Go with the flow of the zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The lush green Wuppertal Zoo is very easy to reach with public train transport. Once inside the Zoo offers some modern animal attractions such as the elephants' housing. Pushing a pram around can be a bit daunting as the Zoo is hilly. The kids play area draws the families wanting to take time out. Looking forward to a better dining possibility...

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    39
    6
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“4.0”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

this zoo has several major attractions : elephants, polar and codiac bears, sea lions, lions and tigers. i brought my family and it tooks 4~5 hours to cover the whole area of the zoo. it was beautiful place and very recommended for family trip.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Very nice zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The zoo was really nice, with a lot of different kind of animals. Some of the pens were quite big and offered wide spaces for animals, but some others were a bit too small, I think. There were some big animals in the zoo, like lions, tigers, elephants and polar bears... Lions had a really huge area for them, but two polar bears shared a rather small compound. If you like zoos, you probably like this one too, but on the other hand it didn't offer anything spectacular that you wouldn't have seen before in some other zoos...

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuppertal, Germany
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
98 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Different to others, totally worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I went to this zoo several times since I'm born in that town. Sure, its no comparison to the large, famous zoos all over the world. But its a unique one. Its set within a wonderful landscape, there are trees dozens or hundreds of years old, many different single paths you can walk by yourself and the whole design is very similar to a city park. There is so much nature over there. Some compounds are old and need to be restored, but many already got so nowadays there are beautiful ones like the lions who got a really huge compound.
By the way, the whole zoo is set in a very old fashioned area with a lot of buildings from the 19th century. If you have time you should walk around a bit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, bring camera with you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This was my 2 visit, this time I went with my camera ;) it was a beautiful day, so many people... The is a lot of animals, interesting too. Love the lions - got a bit scared when I was alone with them, they sow me as a food :) forgot to say you do get a discount as a student. Visit this place when it suuny, beautiful day you want regret.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zoo Wuppertal also viewed

Wuppertal, North Rhine-Westphalia
Wuppertal, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Wuppertal, North Rhine-Westphalia
Wuppertal, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Zoo Wuppertal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zoo Wuppertal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.