We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a hotel....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterCity Hotel Wuppertal

Save Saved
You added InterCity Hotel Wuppertal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterCity Hotel Wuppertal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Doeppersberg 50, 42103 Wuppertal, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 27 hotels in Wuppertal
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“It was a hotel....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

I went with a friend of mine (March 2008), and we were on a tight budget. So, we chose the least expensive hotel we could find. This was it!

When we entered, it seemed okay. The lobby was pretty nice. They gave us an actual key to get into the room, which I haven't seen.. well, maybe ever?

We entered the room and we laughed. It was so incredibly small - I had never seen anything like it!! My friend and I had to spoon every night because the beds were jammed together and so tiny that, well.. we had to spoon. Haha. It was hysterically funny. The pillows were also so flat that we had to call the lobby to ask for MANY MORE and stacked about 3 high to equal the depth of one normal pillow.

We had 2 suitcases, but the room was so small we had to take turns opening them!! The shower was a stand-up. So small you could barely wash. It was funny.

We also awoke nearly every morning to a housekeeper busting into the room while we were sleeping... we slept late because of jet lag - it was a 6 hour difference. The housekeepers didn't speak English.. and we didn't speak German, so it was a bit of a problem at times.

I don't know if they have better rooms, but you may want to find out before you go. It was so tiny that is was comical!

However, we didn't go there for the hotel, so it wasn't a big deal.

My recommendation would be to seek out a different hotel in Wuppertal, but this one did have an EXCELLENT location to everything downtown. It was a short walk to malls, food, whatever... And you could see the Schwebebahn from the room. That was neat.

Room Tip: Ask if they have rooms available that are larger than a walk-in closet available before booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    30
    37
    14
    3
See reviews for
9
20
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Located right across the road from the main station in Wuppertal, this hotel is nice but starting to show its age. I stayed in a single room, which was on the small side and the decor was a little out of fashion but functional. The TV reception could have been better and WiFi was there but all but unusable. Either it was too slow or simply dropped out. Other than that, the stay was excellent. My room was very quiet, the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was adequate and the breakfast buffet and restaurant were very good. The staff were helpful and friendly. The location of the hotel is perfect. Close to the station and the centre of town, a mere 5 minute walk to the major pedestrian strips and shopping centres and access to the Schwebebahn, rail and bus. And as a nice bonus, all local public transport is free while staying at the Intercity Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tula, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

In need for an accommodation for a big team during ANUGA 2011 in Cologne I got across this hotel and never regret it. Location is superb - just a few steps from the station (if you need another town) and from the city center.
The rooms are provided both for smoking and non-smoking, what's VERY important.
The pillows are too small, but overall impression of the rooms is good, all is clean and changed every day.
Breakfast is plentiful.
But service is the best of all. Reception is extremely helpful and friendly, very efficient and polite.
SUPERB!
I'll definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

This is a really nice hotel! Not much to see and do in Wuppertal, but if you do plan to stop in this little town, definitely stay here. It's right across from the main train station, so it's very convenient and absolutely safe! You are within walking distance(5 min max)of the downtown area with pedestrian streets and lots of stores. The monorail is less than 5min away : a nice way to go from one end of the town to the other and get a feel of the area. You get a free public transportation card when you check in-which is a great deal! The staff speaks English, which is very helpful because elsewhere in town very few people do. (so bring your dictionary if you plan to explore the town). Breakfast buffet is fine.
I must add that the staff are very pleasant and accomodating! The person in the room next door was a very loud snorer! You could hear him in the hallway! I asked if it was possible to get another room. It was taken care of immediately, with a smile!
My only regret is that there are no free bathroom samples. There is a soap dispenser and a shower gel dispenser, but no shampoo or body lotion available. I realise that this is being eco-wise and I approve. I just suggest for future travelers, to bring your own.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011 via mobile

Decent business hotel in Wuppertal city center. Rooms clean and boring, plastic wall mounted soap dispensers in bathroom, very thin pillows( really not comfortable). We arrived late and the hotels kitchen had already closed, but front desk staff immediately called nearby Italian place which waited for us - very nice. Housekeeping staff came in at 8.00 am, which even on a Friday morning is too early to wake travelers and tried again at 8.50- a bit more discretion would have been nice.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Hotel is well situated near the central station, 2min walk, rooms are OK, perfect hotel for business travelers- messe travalers, dusseldorf is 20min by train, a bit noisy from the street noise, but after some beers no prob!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellijay, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

In Wuppertal visiting friends and stayed at the InterCity for the first time and it was good. Location is great and slept very good and A/C was fine as compared to some of the other reviews. I would totally reccomend InterCity to any one visiting Wuppertal.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterCity Hotel Wuppertal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterCity Hotel Wuppertal

Address: Doeppersberg 50, 42103 Wuppertal, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Wuppertal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 hotels in Wuppertal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — InterCity Hotel Wuppertal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located InterCityHotel offers modern and comfortable rooms with the convenience of free use of local public transport, with the use of your room ID card. The rooms in the InterCityHotel offer perfect facilities, such as TV and mini-bar, as well as the convenience of free W-LAN internet connection. For efficient and relaxing meetings, the InterCityHotel Wuppertal offers the ideal conditions; six modern meeting rooms with a capacity for up to 170 persons, suitable for all types of meetings. Enjoy the diverse culinary delicacies and manifold international wine offer in the Fleming's Brasserie & Wine Bar. More info ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your InterCity Hotel Wuppertal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuppertal Intercity Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterCity Hotel Wuppertal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.