We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Menschenschlachthaus: Great War special exhibition” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Von der Heydt-Museum

Von der Heydt-Museum
Turmhof 8, 42103 Wuppertal, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Elberfeld-Mitte)
02 02/5 63 62 31
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 Attractions in Wuppertal
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Menschenschlachthaus: Great War special exhibition”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This is a special exhibition of French and German war art. The art on show is wonderful especially Otto Dix drawings and self portraits exploring the transformation through war. The French art was less dynamic than I expected. For anyone interested in the war, art or culture this is well worth a visit. However....

Be aware: There are no subtitled captions or English guides so be warned unless you have some competence in German or French you might lose the meaning. Students on a budget take some form of identification to reduce the price of entry. At 12€ for normal entrance, some might find too much for the overall content. The guidebook is 25€, only in German and is simply a rip-off of what's available on the internet. Take a note of the objects and search afterwards. The staff are intrusive and prevent all attempts at photography.

Poor rating: Comes down to poor welcome and dreadful attitudes. Quite possibly the least friendly museum in the entire Ruhr area.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    9
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach Fla. USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Grand orchestra inclusive ..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stroll through the museum and enjoy at the Cafe the grand orchestra with your favorite drink and see the passersby, delightful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Von der Heydt_Museum - Rubens collection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

In Wuppetal for family Christas and didn't want to miss opportunity to see this show. Mostly portrates and sketches. A well laid out show in the centre of Elberfeld with easy access, plenty of parking nearby and a good range of cafes and shops if you want to spend the day there.
I enjoyed looking at the show but struggled due to the lack of any translated matrerials. All display materials were in German only and no audio either other than German.
I realise that not everyone agrees with the requirement to translate and visitors should make an effort to learn the langage of the country they visit most often. I agree to an extent and speak a small amont of German - my reading skills are not up to this type of technical language however and I missed out a great deal on the maximum opportunity to enjoy the work of this internationally renound artist as a result.
Rather expensive too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not bad but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The museum was rather small, just one floor with several rooms. Overall, not many paintings at all, even with the Peter Paul Rubens exhibit. Nothing was in English, not even summaries. Overall, I guess we are glad we went.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awfull”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I've been there to see Peter Paul Rubens exhibition. People that work there are very unpolite and they don't speak English as well, there is nothing in English there. They don't have that audio guide in English either! You can't take picture even with flash off. They screen with you if you take picture, but they don't advise you before that it's not allowded. The exhibition was ok, but if you don't know German, it's only images! The inside museum isn't interesting at all and small. Poor. The tickets are expensive for it! €12,- per person.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Von der Heydt-Museum also viewed

Wuppertal, North Rhine-Westphalia
Wuppertal, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Wuppertal, North Rhine-Westphalia
Wuppertal, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Von der Heydt-Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Von der Heydt-Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.