We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad plece to go, but not the best in town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Deutsches Haus

Deutsches Haus
Kisau 9, 33098 Paderborn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
0 52 51 / 2 21 36
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 163 Restaurants in Paderborn
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Paderborn, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Not a bad plece to go, but not the best in town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We visited here mid week as normally on a weekend there no room, the inside is a bit cramped as people squeeze past you're table to get by, it's a family friendly establishment so can get a tad noisy if you go too early,
But apart from that it's a nice place the staff are very friendly and helpful,
I had the steak, which was good, the wife had a pasta dish, which was not fresh and quite rubbery and hard to chew.
I would return tho as it's was good value for money

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    30
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paderborn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great German Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have eaten at this restaurant a number of times now. The food and service is as ways of the highest standard. The meals are not only a good size but always very enjoyable to eat. It has an old English pub feel,with wooden beams and wooden benches to sit at. Anyone seen there always seems more than happy with their choice. The prices are very reasonable too. I always recommend this venue without hesitation.
The only downside is you have to pass the bar where people are always indoors smoking. I am not a smoker so it is not an enjoyable thing to have to face going in and out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Great food, tasty beer and always worth a visit. The service is competent, fast and friendly. Absolutely love the place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paderborn, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Typical German cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is one of the places to go if you want typical German cuisine in Paderborn. Large portions, reasonably priced, good beer. The interior has a rustic feel to it and the service is kind and helpful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deventer, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good German food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a nice meal here with good white (weiss) beer. The service is great, although we have had better food in Germany we still had a great evening here. Prices are fair and the portions are big enough. The restaurant has a nice atmosphere.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deutsches Haus also viewed

Paderborn, North Rhine-Westphalia
Paderborn, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Paderborn, North Rhine-Westphalia
Paderborn, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Deutsches Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deutsches Haus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.