We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Lammhaxe/ lamb shank” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Altes Gasthaus Leve

Altes Gasthaus Leve
Alter Steinweg 37, 48143 Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
0251 / 455 95
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 379 Restaurants in Muenster
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Toenisvorst, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good Lammhaxe/ lamb shank”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

My wife and I visited this locale yesterday through tripadvisor. We tried to book a table but they said it was that evening we should just turn up and try. After 1 minute there we had a table, but only if we left in under 2 hours. We got served very fast. I ordered the lammhaxe, beautifully cooked with great sides. My wife ordered the pilzragaout with pasta.she had a side salad which was just lettuce with dressing (which was a bit gritty). I tried my wifes ragout and enjoyed it (wife said it was too much for her). Overall we enjoyed this restaurant and would revisit, though we would book a lot earlier

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    49
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“typical westphalian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

A busy bustling place with typical muenster dishes. Friendly, english speaking staff. Huge portions

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Traditional place with an urban crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Very solid food, really nice atmosphere in an authentic, rustic setting, classy but not pretentious. As a local I can tell you that this place has been around for a long time and manages to attract all generations which I personally like.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very traditional and well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011 via mobile

Great atmosphere and oozes character. Food is very good and if you ask, they have an english menu which helps.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Westphalian food at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We shuffled up on a table with a bunch of other diners and had a great meal. The food was not 100% fantastic but the ambience made up for it.

Visited December 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altes Gasthaus Leve also viewed

Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia
Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Altes Gasthaus Leve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altes Gasthaus Leve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.