We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mauritzhof Hotel Muenster

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mauritzhof Hotel Muenster to your Saves list
Mauritzhof Hotel Muenster
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eisenbahnstrasse 17, 48143 Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Muenster
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Hotel close to the grand central station in Munster, at an attractive price. The rooms were nice and clean, service was good and the breakfast buffe was great. The street room was a tad niosy though, with a lot of traffic outside. Choose a room facing away from the street if possible. However, in total a very good experience, well worth the money

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    39
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
25
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

A great place to stay in Muenster. Its very close to the train station and to the city center. The staff is very courteous and friendly. The rooms are decent sized and very clean. Just two minor points of critic- the bathroom and the shower were a bit small(though that was not really a problem) and they dont have a safe for valuables in the room. You can leave your valuables at the front desk though and the staff is very accomodating about this.
They serve you an absolutely delicious and HUGE buffet breakfast every morning with fresh fruit and yoghurt, all kinds of breads and pastries and salads. Try their home made muesli with some fresh fruit and nuts.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We actually stayed here some time ago (December 2009). I was reminded of how nice the hotel is when I went to book again for this year and found they are fully booked! It's a great design hotel, very clean, lovely rooms. Bathroom a bit small, but hey, what are you planning to do in there anyway?

We came for the Christmas markets and were so pleased with the location of the hotel - a short walk and you are at the markets. The front desk were very helpful. We didn't eat or drink at the hotel as there are so many things to do outside but the hotel did recommend a restaurant to us in the Altstadt (Altes Gasthaus Leve) and we enjoyed that very much.

There is a paid parking lot across the street.

The only thing we found was that the room was a bit cold but this was during a huge cold snap and it was -17 outside. I think in normal circumstances it would have been fine!

PS. The quality of the linens and towels is VERY good as are the bathroom amenities.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed here in August so we could visit our exchange student's family and get to know her hometown. The hotel is very accommodating for parents with small kids and allowed us to keep our stroller set up in the lobby, we didn't have to struggle with getting it up to our rooms. They made up the sofa bed for our boys in preparation for us. The breakfast isn't free..but not as expensive as another hotel we stayed at in Frankfurt. Good selection and decent coffee with friendly helpful people. Our room had a little balcony and we could sit there and watch the people go past on the Promenade. We rented bikes and used them to travel to town and even rode out to some castles. There are also two nice playgrounds close by via the promenade for when kids need some playtime and a break from touring. You can also walk there from the train station... it's a few blocks but Munster is very walking friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

The hotel is located near the old town area with shops and reataurants in this unniversity town. A good location for waliking but stay out of the side walk bike lanes with their heavy bike traffic. The staff is informaly courteous and polite. The rooms are sizable and clean, but with inadequate lighting. Complimentary slippers are supplied. The breakfast buffet has a selection of hot food items at a price of 16 euro. Wi-fi is available in the rooms and help in getting access is available at the desk.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

We did a weekend trip Münster to celebrate our anniversary. Münster is not the town you immediately think of going but the town is actually very nice with a modern part around the harbour and the old town. But this hotel definetly added to the trip, Great service, great room, top location (just between the old town and the harbour district) and yes a good breakfast buffet. I could recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

Spent two nights here with my son. Good hotel, priced about right. Clean, with rooms that are big enough, and comfortable beds. The "design" tag is well warranted, it feels smart and modern. We were on the street side, not much of a view but not noisy either. There's no bath, but a very good shower. The service was friendly, helpful, and efficient, with a good concierge service that helped us enjoy Muenster to the full. Overall, it was a good choice.

Breakfast is excellent for a small hotel, good quality and plenty of choice, but rather cheekily the price is just wrapped up into a higher room rate when you check out - there's no indication as you check in, as you sit down for breakfast, or even on the final bill, that breakfast's an extra cost; in fact I'd go so far as to say the hotel does a good job of inferring that breakfast's included. There was no kettle in the room to make tea/coffee, which in a hotel of this class was disappointing.

  • Liked — Smart, comfortable, good staff
  • Disliked — breakfast pricing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauritzhof Hotel Muenster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauritzhof Hotel Muenster

Address: Eisenbahnstrasse 17, 48143 Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Muenster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Muenster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mauritzhof Hotel Muenster 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mauritzhof Hotel Muenster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauritzhof Hotel Muenster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.