We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel in which we have had many enjoyable breaks.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romantik Hotel Hof Zur Linde

Save Saved
You added Romantik Hotel Hof Zur Linde to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Hof Zur Linde
Handorfer Werseufer 1, 48157 Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 48 hotels in Muenster
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A hotel in which we have had many enjoyable breaks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We have returned to this hotel many times, as it never fails to deliver. We are usually the only English guests, the core business seems to be locals enjoying the excellent food, or business travelers. Christmas time is wonderful, Germany does the festive season extremely well, and the hotel is festooned with decorations and trees, all delightful, and roaring log fire, which is in one of the three dining areas. It is without doubt very German, rather like a hunting lodge, with twists of very up to the minute design.
The food is excellent, we usually opt for the 4 day country stay, which includes breakfast (a buffet which seems to offer all imaginable treats) and 4 course set menu for dinner. This is good value for money, not cheap, but absolutely worth every penny. Arriving on a Sunday and leaving on a Thursday gives a 10% reduction, a good option, as travelling on these days is preferable traffic wise.
The hotel is family run, I believe that the same family have owned it for many years, and,as can be expected, this means that there is excellent service from friendly staff.
Munster is approximately 5 miles away. This is a university town, lively and vibrant, with bicycles absolutely everywhere. Beware, as they certainly seem to take precedence over every other road user! The town has been sensitively restored following the war, and has a splendid cathedral with astrological clock. The shops are a joy, many independent retailers, I particularly like Schnitzler for clothes, though save up for a visit.
Our trips to Munster are usually for Christmas shopping, though it is lovely all the year round. There are markets besides the cathedral on Wednesdays and Saturdays (fabulous) and also a Christmas market with wooden toys etc and food from stalls which even I would eat.
The hotel rooms are all very individual, we have stayed in The Woodman's House, The Fisherman's House, spa suites, and the tower house. The 2 houses are about 30 yards from the hotel, on the banks of the River Werse, and a little more private, quite small, but imaginatively decorated. Both have sitting out areas, and The Fisherman's House has a sauna. The spa suites are in the main hotel, and spacious with contemporary decor.
We are returning to The Hof zur Linde again at the end of November. A bit more Christmas shopping!
Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    21
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
26
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

We spent several nights at Hof zur Linde and had a lovely stay. The hotel is very charming, in an old-fashioned style. We stayed in a junior suite and especially liked the free-standing bathtub (ask for one with bathtub, not all junior suites have one). The room was beautifully decorated and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast is very good and varied. Make sure not to miss to have dinner at least once in the hotel's restaurant as the food is superb. Service was very friendly/correct at all times, tending towards the formal. If you are a younger couple, be prepared that this hotel is mostly frequented by people aged around 50 or older and that the atmosphere in the breakfast room and at dinner is rather formal. Therefore, less suitable for small children (unless very well raised). We have very pleasant memories and may come back when in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

After a long drive to reach this lovely place was such a relief. When you drive up the entrance to the hotel you cannot help to think to yourself oh how beautiful this is. You instantly feel relaxed and have a sense of going into a peaceful spot. You wont be disappointed. The hotel is situated on a river, and surroundings of trees, and beautiful gardens.

The hotel is very well decorated, reception staff very friendly and keen to show you your room. Our room was very nice, windows overlooking the side of the hotel, and the big trees just cascading near our window. Bed very comfortable, and everything so quiet.
Theres even a lift to take you to the upper floors.

Breakfast was very good, the dining room is amazing, wish I could of taken it home with me. If you wanted to you could go and sit down by the river with a nice drink and enjoy these beautiful gardens.

We had room service one night and the food was very good. There is an internet near the front desk for those who require it. Very handy for us.

We thoroughly enjoyed this stay, unfortunately it was only for 1 night stopover as we were on our way to Amsterdam. Lovely stay thank you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010 via mobile

Fabulous hotel near the lovely town of Muenster. The rooms are beautifully and tastefully appointed and are clean and comfortable. The restaurant is first class and we had some great evenings in the bar. Plenty of parking, lovely grounds, and the hotel has masses of character. Thoroughly enjoyed it and would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

This weekend we had our second stay in this beautiful hotel, located just by the Werse river near Munster. I can and will recommend this hotel to others because the staff is friendly and very helpful, the hotel is cosy and looks well maintained and cleaned. Breakfast is a treat, there is a free internet table, and no matter what you might think of (if you forgot something for your child or just want to hire a laptop) there is not much that this hotel has not got covered. The distance to Munster centre is quite okay if you travel by car, about 20 km. So this should suffice in a 5 star rating...

...if it wasn't for the beds. First of all let me state there is a difference depending on what room you are staying. Some have modern and comfortable boxsprings and some, guess which one I had, look old, soft and comfortable but will give you a hard time catching your sleep. And that is just a pitty if you want to have a nice relaxing stay, your sleep is quite important. So let's just hope they replace all the beds in their hotel so this 5 star rating could be theirs quite quickly. (allthough, to be fair...they had a choice of 3 different pillows for all kinds of wishes).

So, when in Munster check out Hof Zur Linde and be prepared for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Romantik Hotel Hof Zur Linde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Hof Zur Linde

Address: Handorfer Werseufer 1, 48157 Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Muenster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 hotels in Muenster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Romantik Hotel Hof Zur Linde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romantik Hotel Hof Zur Linde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.