We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming Münster” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Munster City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Munster City to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Munster City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Engelstrasse 39, 48143 Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Frühbucher zahlen weniger
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Muenster
A TripAdvisor Member
“charming Münster”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Mercure in Münster is located between the main railway station and the city center close to the "promenade" (former citywall, today stroll around city center).
The hotel fulfilled all expectation: new clean and silent rooms (mid-size) with friendly and good service..

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    118
    86
    29
    8
See reviews for
35
99
49
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

Hotel is in excelent position and as my husband works in Munster it proved the ideal base for visiting the Christmas markets.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enkhuizen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

This is a very nice hotel, located on the edge of the 'old' town, near the central station. The staff and crew are very friendly and do listen to any problems you have. Room was very clean, and quality of the room was very good. The only drawback was that we had a room next to the elevators....

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Devon, UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

The Mercure in Munster City is an archetypal business hotel. The staff are professional and rooms functional, though it did not live up to its 4 star billing. The room I was in was circa 1990s decor – it had everything I needed but was not easy on the eye. The only real ‘issue’ with the room was the shower – with low water pressure you need to invest in a pump Mercure! Wifi was reasonable at €6 for 5 hours, the room service menu was good value and breakfast fine. But, if you’re looking for a ‘home away from home’ this is not the place for you. It is impersonal. The hotel is located a block away from the railway station – and like most cities this is not the nicest part of town. The town centre, which is extremely pretty and has lots to do (including a Picasso Museum), is only a few minutes walk away from the Mercure. If I were ever to come back, I would go for one of the hotels in the centre.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

Spent two nights at the Mercure which is conveniently located close to the station and only a few minutes from the town centre. The room was excellent and we slept well both nights. We didn't eat at the hotel so cant comment on that, but we did have a couple of drinks at the bar, and found the ambience very pleasant. There was a reasonable lounge area opposite it. The staff were all very polite and efficient.

We loved Muenster where our daughter is a student for the year. It has an interesting town centre, some great churches, a smashing shopping area, university, a brewery and a lake - the Ah See (probably spelt it wrong but it works phoenetically. There were a number of Christmas markets. we visited at least four and enjoyed the atmosphere, the stalls and the gluwein, and bought some beautiful christmas decorations and presents.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

We stayed at the Mercure for two nights in May while visiting Munester for a music festival. We booked on a discount site and were dismayed to find out when we arrived that we had somehow booked a smoking room. There were no non-smoking rooms available in the entire hotel, so we went up to take a look. The room was clean and didn't smell at all like smoke, so we were happy.

The room was a good size, as was the bathroom. Unfortunately although we booked a "double" the room had two single beds that were held in place so we couldn't push them together. (You really have to be careful booking with those discount sites!) The mini bar was of course expensive but the room came with a complementary bottle of mineral water and two small bags of gummi bears.

As for the town of Muenster, I can't say enough. We were there on a mostly sunny weekend and brought our bicycles and had a wonderful time checking out the town and the surrounding countryside. The land outside of Munester is called the Muensterland, home of the 100 castle route, which many people take bicycle tours on, seeing different castles. I especially recommend Burg Visering in Luedinghausen. (You can take a bus near the Muenster main train station.) We never found any place spectacular to eat around Muenster, but we did make a great picnic lunch one day by visiting the local market in the Domplatz - probably the best cheese we have ever tasted!

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Two twin beds instead of a double
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Munster City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Munster City

Address: Engelstrasse 39, 48143 Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Muenster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Muenster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Munster City 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star hotel offering 156 rooms, the Mercure Muenster City is located downtown, a 5 minute walk, approximately 600m, from the historic town centre and also close to the main railway station. The hotel offers easy access to the A1 and A43 motorways.Along with modern facilities, the hotel features a restaurant, a bistro, a lobby bar, a basement garage, a wellness centre and conference facilities for 4 to 200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Hotel Munster City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Munster City
Mercure Hotel Muenster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Munster City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.