We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good night's stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Hotel Moenchengladbach

Save Saved
You added Leonardo Hotel Moenchengladbach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Moenchengladbach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Speicker Strasse 49, 41061 Monchengladbach, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Moenchengladbach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 37 hotels in Monchengladbac...
London UK
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Very good night's stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed for a night at this hotel and everything worked very well. Room was comfortable, well appointed and cool (very hot outside!). The breakfast had a really good selection and the food was tasty. All the staff I encountered were pleasant and helpful. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    40
    30
    10
    6
See reviews for
2
14
16
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed once in this hotel it was all right, small issue was with the material of the cover of bed linen - I prefer natural cotton over polyester. The breakfast is delicious, the staff is nice but only some of them speak english fluently, it's all clean and the rooms are re-designed and equipped quite nice. Unfortunately the pool is too small I'd rather call it a a thub.
Don't pick your room on the front side 'cause even with the windows closed you'll hear the road noise from the outside really loud - there should be more sound-proofing installed.

Room Tip: Don't pick your room on the front side 'cause even with the windows closed you'll hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for business (one night), the hotel is easy to find, ahs it's own parking and is walkable to the centre - maybe 10 mins. There isn't a lot in the immediate vicinity but it is well placed to get around MG. The staff were friendly and the reception was well lit.

The room was adequately sized, with enough space for my things. The bed wasn't well made, it looked like someone had ruffled it all up (immediate appearance wasn't good), stains on the carpet, and a distinct smell from the bathroom drains.

Breakfast buffet was good and quickly replenished and they let us take an extra banana for the journey.

A/C worked well, bathroom and room appeared a little dated. There isn't much choice of good quality hotels in MG but this is adequate and better than the Dorint.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Moenchengladbach, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear monkeyalan5,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed three nights and loved it. Arriving around midnight the check in was smooth and welcoming. Our room on the 6th floor had a stunning view of the church. The room was spotlessly clean and the aircon worked. Despite reviews on other websites, the room had a fridge, kettle and tea/coffee. The beds were comfortable with a choice of pillow density.

On the downside there was no room safe (though arrangements for valuables could be made at reception) and the heating system hot water supply pipe in the room remained boiling even though the radiators were off. The tv, a portable sized old CRT, was a little dated in these times of flat screen LCDs and plasmas. The channel selection was poor for an international hotel chain.

We had excellent service in the bar and the drinks were not that expensive in comparison to the local bars. The bar had a big screen tv and we were given complimentary bar snacks.

If the price of breakfast at the hotel had been more reasonable we would have dined in. Instead either head up just past the church to the old town square or, as we did, turn left out of the hotel and after 75m there is a little bakery on the corner. It was at least 70% cheaper.

The hotel is in easy walking distance of the shopping area and there are frequent buses and taxis to explore further afield.

All of the staff we met at the hotel were friendly, the room was cleaned daily to a very high standard and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rear rooms are quieter but if you don't mind the traffic noise the front rooms have views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duesseldorf
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

As we were meeting up with a guest stying here for a few days - and as I have previously had good meals here - I suggetsed rather than venture out into the night we could easily eat well here.

Wrong.

The meal was slightly overcooked, the pasta was straight out of a tin and so were the tomatoes. Quantity well exceeded quality which was poor. And to add insult to injury we appeared to be as welcome as the plague.

The hotel is well away from the town centre on a cold evening so I would consider another hotel if you need to stay the night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Moenchengladbach, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear thomasatatamus,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the service you received from the restaurant staff. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

nice hotel, great steaks at the bar nice breakfast, nice people are running this hotel, stayed for business, fitted my schedule downside, you pay for parking, 8.50 euro per day if you stay in the hotel, nowt if you visit the bar or restaurant, should be free these days.

Room Tip: central to the town, and easy reach of the airport, good road access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

As Holiday Inns go this place looks OK from the outside, but the experience inside was sadly lacking.

Customer service was probably the worst point - the barman always preferred talking to his friends rather than actually serving drinks, the restaurant waitress was abrupt to the point of rudeness and one of the receptionists was completely ineffectual over the simplest request (a refill of milk sachets for my room).

The bar itself was characterless and the restaurant food quality was poor and with a very limited menu choice - happily there were some lovely restaurants we found in Monchengladbach itself - mainly through Trip Advisor reviews. Reception gave us a sheet of suggestions, but no-one seemed to know anything about any of them.

The cost of WiFi was extortionate - even by business hotel standards. €19 for 2 days use or €5 for 1 hour - much more than other Holiday Inns in Germany, and the hotel price itself was steep - certainly for what it was (breakfast was an extra 17.50 too - I can't comment on the quality as I wasn't paying that much each day on top of the high room price).

I spotted an extra charge on the bill when I left - an extra charge for WiFi - by which stage they'd processed my card. Normally I'd expect to check the bill first. When investigated, it turned out that the date 7/12 that was scribbled on a piece of paper had been charged to my room 712. I did get that refunded but it summed up the experience for me.

Finally the hot water was tepid one morning.

Several of these points were mentioned to the reception staff - who were very dismissive of me.

The only good point was the view of the church was pleasant in the snow. Beyond that, it was an expensive, rude and dated experience. I won't stay there again and would never recommend anyone else to.

Holiday Inn generally gives good value for money. Not so in Monchengladbach. I stayed with them two weeks before in Neuss and it was like a different chain.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a nice view of the church, but there seemed to be a lot of wind noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Moenchengladbach, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Apieroux,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are glad you enjoyed the views and glad to read you were able to get the refund. Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the unacceptable service you have experienced with the staff and if our internet policy was less than satisfactory. Please be assured that we treat this matter seriously and actions will be taken by the management accordingly. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with exceptional service.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Leonardo Hotel Moenchengladbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Moenchengladbach

Address: Speicker Strasse 49, 41061 Monchengladbach, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Moenchengladbach)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Monchengladbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 hotels in Monchengladbac...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Moenchengladbach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonardo Hotel Moenchengladbach is the ideal destination and perfect located. Imagine having all the space and tools you need for business, high speed internet access, a work area in your room and plenty of electrical outlets. Make a success out of your next conference. The Leonardo Hotel Mönchengladbach can host meetings and functions in up to 120 attendees. The very friendly front office staff will assist you with copies and faxing. We can help make your day. Enjoy a swim in our pool or re-energize in our sauna. If you are here for pleasure you are just 30 minutes away from the Dutch Border (Venlo & Roermond) with outstanding shopping outlets. If you are looking for a hotel to visit sport events like Borussia Mönchengladbach game, Nordpark stadium or Warsteiner Hockeypark are just 2.5 km away from Leonardo Hotel Mönchengladbach. Experience fine dining at our Restaurant L Image or enjoy for favourite drink in our Bar Ciel. From a great breakfast to start your day to a relaxing meal in the evening our team looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Moenchengladbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Monchengladbach
mönchengladbach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Hotel Moenchengladbach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.