We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Intercity Hotel Gelsenkirchen

Save Saved
You added Intercity Hotel Gelsenkirchen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Intercity Hotel Gelsenkirchen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ringstrasse 1-3, 45879 Gelsenkirchen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Gelsenkirchen
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very close to station and main shops. Clean and tidy - staff were excellent. Very good value for money and the only reason it got four stars was the terrible pillows and bedding! I am sure that had I asked for others or more I'd have got them but was late in for the two nights I was there....perfect for what I needed (there with friends to see a football match)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    32
    19
    10
    3
See reviews for
2
11
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I was in Germany for Drupa 2012(a media fair held in Dusseldof every 4 years) and this is one the worst Hotel that I have stayed in my entire life - even when compared to hotels in other countries and smaller towns. The staff is unfriendly the breakfast spread is not good. The rooms are small. I have stayed in smaller hotels in Asia but this hotel is terrible. If the hotel staff is so terrible why should the managers/owners run the Hotel? Hotel business is about hospitality right? Hotel staff are supposed to be courteous to their guests. We were a large group of 70 visitors from SOTC (now Kuoni) and I can confidently say that most guests were unhappy with the services.

Room Tip: chose the rooms not adjacent to the road. Guests in rooms close to the road will have disturbed slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Good and clean hotel.the room is small.they have only a few free of charge parking spaces and in the underground parking they are charging 8,5 euro per day.the breakfast buffet is 9 euro/person but they are serving very tasty and healthy food.Wi fi internet i believe they asked for 4 euro an hour:)))

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verden (Aller), Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

For a night on business travel and a good night of sleep it is good. Nothing special, but it has what you need. It is comfortable, modern, the bed is quite good and it is quiet (at least the business room i stayed in).
Staff was polite and helpful.
i think the best choice if you need to stay in Gelsenkirchen for a night.

Room Tip: ask for a business room in the back of the hotel. It is 10 euros more
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Very convenient, near the railway station but difficult to find. As you leave the station, immediately turn right, then after 50 yards you pass Sparkasse (cash machines). Then bear left and keep going for about 90 yards and you are there!! It is particularly difficult to find at night.. I received a very friendly welcome but it took about 15 minutes for them to book me in even though they had my booking form ready for me to sign. Everything else was competent: breakfast, comfortable room, service at meals and in the bar. When I contacted them after I thought I had left some items behind, they went looking for them and emailed me back within minutes. Very helpful and assuring.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

It was a good hotel and almost Okay for what you pay. It is very close to Gelsenkirchen station. The shopping street is also very close by. Inspite of all that, it is almost quit (when windows are closed). Room and buffet breakfast were also good. So in upsort nothing very great but good for what you pay. It is clean and spacious hotel. Staffs are very good. Although they understand very little English but they will cooperate and try to understand what you want. Internet Wi-fi is having some issue, so always ask for multi-login internet access card. TV remote is having pay channel button also(will show you erotica and blockbuster movies), thus take care and decision is yours. Thus, it is overall good to stay hotel for simple budget.

  • Liked — close to station
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

We stayed here in Jun 09 for 5 nights, room only as the breakfast is over-priced by a long way (go to the Hibernia bar 2 mins stroll away instead for a really good and cheap buffet breakfast). Where do I start? The reception staff were uninterested, sometimes surly. Towels were taken away but not replaced, bedding not replaced at all, beds not even made some days - and collecting one’s own toilet paper from reception always makes you feel like you’re staying in a quality establishment. Room was reasonable size and clean (apart from somewhat mouldy grout in the shower). If you are from the UK think “Travelodge that’s seen better days” Lots of TV channels, though if you aren’t German there are only two in English. No tea/coffee maker. Hairdryer which overheated and shut itself off after only two minute’s use. Beware rooms at the front of the building – the hotel is on a busy ring-road, and the traffic noise is constant 24 hours a day, and very loud. No air conditioning means you either boil at night or stay sleepless because of the noise. Another gem was the “muzac” which played in the corridors 24 hours a day – the speaker was right outside our door and lying awake listening to a poor version of Celine Dion at 3 am isn’t our idea of fun. Reception staff expressed surprise every night when we rang them to ask that they switch it off (which thankfully they did). The elevators were on the blink also, and since we were on the fourth floor this would have proved very difficult if we had had mobility problems. We booked this hotel through hotels.com for a very cheap rate and, as the hotel includes a pass for public transport (meaning you can get trains, buses, trams etc to as far away as Dusseldorf) this was very good value for us, as we were exploring the area. It was also very near the station. We had stayed in 2008 for 3 nights on a B&B package, which had been very well priced, but this special was not available this year. We would have to conclude that this hotel has gone downhill quite a lot in recent times. The only reason we’d stay here again is the free public transport pass, and only if we got a very cheap deal, as there is an Ibis nearby.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Intercity Hotel Gelsenkirchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intercity Hotel Gelsenkirchen

Address: Ringstrasse 1-3, 45879 Gelsenkirchen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Gelsenkirchen > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Gelsenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Intercity Hotel Gelsenkirchen 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das InterCityHotel liegt direkt am Hauptbahnhof von Gelsenkirchen und hat eine exzellente Verkehrsanbindung an alle Ruhrgebietsgrossstadte. Das Stadtzentrum ist nur 80 m vom Hotel Gelsenkirchen entfernt und bequem zu Fuss zu erreichen. Auch die Essener Messe liegt mit einer Entfernung von nur 15 km in der naheren Umgebung des Hotels. Ob Industriekultur, moderne Architektur oder alte Schlosser, Gelsenkirchen ist reich an interessanten Orten und Kontrasten, die zum Entdecken einladen. Mit dem im Zimmerpreis enthaltenen FreeCityTicket nutzen Sie den offentlichen Nahverkehr im gesamten Verkehrsverbund Rhein-Ruhr kostenfrei, ideal fur Ihre Ubernachtung in Gelsenkirchen. Alle 135 Zimmer des InterCityHotels sind wohnlich und gemutlich hergerichtet und laden zum Verweilen ein. Ausserdem bietet das Hotel drei helle Tagungs- und Veranstaltungsraume. Sie sind komplett verdunkelbar und mit moderner Tagungstechnik ausgestattet. Ab sofort ist die Nutzung des WLANs fur Gaste aller Hotels der InterCityHotel GmbH kostenfrei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Intercity Hotel Gelsenkirchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gelsenkirchen Intercity Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Intercity Hotel Gelsenkirchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.