We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping in a mining heritage building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alte Lohnhalle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Alte Lohnhalle to your Saves list
Alte Lohnhalle
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Rotthauser Strasse 40 | Kultur- und Tagungshotel, 45309 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Essen B&B and Inns
Mechelen, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sleeping in a mining heritage building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

It's located a bit of the grid, but that's part of the charm. Helpful and friendly staff. Excellent and copious breakfast. The real treat is being able to overnight in this building. It has a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
6
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I really loved this hotel! It's a converted mine and has managed to maintain lots of the original features, whilst also offering a modern twist. When I arrived I was greeted very warmly and told I'd been upgraded to a suite. This consisted of a work room with a decent sized desk and comfy chairs as well as a massive bedroom with double bed and more seating areas. There were 3 large windows so plenty of light. I didn't try the restaurant, as it is closed on Sundays (unless you've arranged in advance with the hotel) & also Mondays. However, there is a restaurant just opposite the hotel, so you won't go hungry. Breakfast is tasty and there is a good choice. For anyone with mobility issues, there are no lifts, just a staircase (see photo). I advise anyone to try this hotel if you're looking for something a bit different, to be treated well and to have a good night's sleep (it's nice & quiet at night).

Room Tip: The suite I had (no 10) was very spacious & pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel is located buildings of a former mine that have been transformed to a hotel. The interior is modern and clean. I had a duplex with the living room and the bath room on the first floor and the bed on a gallery. The bathroom was very tiny. The surrounding is really calme.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

I had my money and credit cards stolen before I arrived at the hotel. I was given coffee, offered food, and the staff contacted my bank in England and also the police on my behalf. So much kindness and friendliness was shown to me throughout my 10 day stay. My room was large, clean, bright and comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel also because of the history and the way in which the building is preserved. ok, no lift but ' bags are taken to the room on your behalf anyway. There are wonderful books in the lounge area , the building is facinating.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alte Lohnhalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alte Lohnhalle

Address: Rotthauser Strasse 40 | Kultur- und Tagungshotel, 45309 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Essen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alte Lohnhalle 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alte Lohnhalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alte Lohnhalle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.