We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location with German **** hospitality both for business and leisure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TOP CCL Hotel Essener Hof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added TOP CCL Hotel Essener Hof to your Saves list
TOP CCL Hotel Essener Hof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Handelshof 5 | Teichstrasse 2, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Stadtkern)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Essen
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent location with German **** hospitality both for business and leisure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is extremely convenient both for business and leisure as it is just a 100 meters from the central railway station and a few meters away from the main pedestrian zone which is a real shopping paradise. One can find nearby not only the renowned international brand names but also local shops with high quality "Made in Germany" stuff. Rooms are of good size, bed is very comfortable and the neighbourhood is quiet thus usually offering a calm and restful night. I also found the reception quite efficient and helpful in response to various questions about city's amenities and sights.

It seems that in certain periods the hotel prices are quite reasonable, compared to other overpriced hotels in Essen.

The only deficiency for me was the slow Wi-Fi connection which is free but quite annoying if you need it for business.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
10
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in July - no air conditioning in our room. It was too hot & uncomfortable. We did not sleep well.The receptionist gave us an electric fan, which helped a little but really, a 4 star hotel, costing €115 a night, should have air-con in all rooms. Apparently there are some rooms with air-con, which you can request when booking. We were not aware of this when we booked 5 months ago. Also, I wish we had taken heed of other Trip Advisor comments, with regard to requesting a room overlooking the courtyard. Our room faced out towards the main road, with a pub close by. Drunken shouting/singing went on all night until after 05:00 both Friday & Saturday night - this really disturbed our sleep. With no air-con, the room was hotter when forced to close windows due to street noise from midnight until 05:30. The breakfast was very good and staff were friendly. Rooms and around hotel was very clean. Our room was on the second floor. There was a lift but there were still a flight of stairs to climb to reach our room level - we had a baby in a pushchair, so this is not suitable if you require level access. Overall, it was a nice hotel and convenient if you must stay close to the train station, however we did have friends staying only a minute away in a lovely hotel for €70 a night, which included their breakfast & they got other perks, such as vouchers for free public transport, so overall, with hot room, noise from outside & expensive, perhaps not a hotel we'd fully recommend or stay in again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very nice,quiet hotel close to the main train station (very important for the people coming by train from the airport in Dusseldorf or Frankfurt am Main). Rooms are very clean,spacious with nice bad.Deliocious breakfast,very helpful staff,free wi-fi.
For the shopping fans a big pedestrian zone with the shops for everyone only 2 min.away.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiter room that opens onto the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinkeveen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

A robust, solid typical German building, a few meters from the pedestrian zone and main railway station. Garage at corner of the next street. Friendly and helpful people at the reception, neat rooms, well-appointed bathroom, shower in the large bath. Excellent breakfast. The four stars well worth. We got an unsolicited upgrade to a larger room. Disadvantage was, but that may have been a coincidence, that the bed headboard and one side was to the wall. Ask for a room that opens onto the courtyard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that opens onto the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirepoix
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great stay. The hotel staff was amazingly competent. Nice bed, nice bathroom, very clean.
Though very close to the station, the room was situated with a view to the inside court and you couldn't hear a thing. Very calm at night.
And a desk large enough to work. Wifi at its best.

A clear thumb up!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Very good location next to the main train station. The shopin area just few minutes away by foot. Confortable rooms with free internet conection. Big bath room with nice bath tub. Clean rooms and good desk to work. Good price-quality-location relationship.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here whilst visiting the Christmas market at Essen . Great central location in the city center. Car parking facility within 2 mins walking and central station just across the road / square. Clean good size rooms, with comfortable beds, although the twin beds we had were a little small. All facilities you need for a weekend. Only thing missing was tea / coffee facility in the room.

Room Tip: Ours was a twin, good size room, all the usual necessities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TOP CCL Hotel Essener Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TOP CCL Hotel Essener Hof

Address: Am Handelshof 5 | Teichstrasse 2, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen > Stadtkern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Essen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — TOP CCL Hotel Essener Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your TOP CCL Hotel Essener Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TOP CCL Hotel Essener Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.