We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen to your Saves list
ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norbertstr. 2a, 45131 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Essen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Modern business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Atlantic hotel is a fairly new and modern business hotel, right next to the cities fairground and Gruga hall.

The location cannot necessarily be called 'downtown' but access is easy, be it by car (the highway is nearby), train (drive time to mainstation is about 5 minutes by taxi) or public transport (subway station is about 500 meters away from the hotel entrace).

Rooms are spacious and modernly funished, the bathroom is equally spacious and functional. I liked teh idea of a sliding work place so that one can decide to face the window or to have it in the back.

The breakfast buffet provides ample choices of cold and warm dishes and should cater for everyones needs/taste.

The spa and fitness club opens at 6 am and has a decent selection of machines, the early opening time even gives early birds to do something for their fitness before heading to their meetings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticessen, Manager at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are happy that you had a pleasent stay at the ATLANTIC Essen.
Regarding our location please note, that downtown Essen is about 3.5 km away but if you are looking for some boutiques or restaurant and bars, we are very close to the "RÜ". This is Essen´s most popular restaurant area, only 500m away (5 minutes walk).
We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Kind regards
the ATLANTIC-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    78
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
7
39
15
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I travel a lot for business, and this is definitely one of the more comfortable hotels I have stayed in. The beds are big and comfortable, the rooms are a decent size, and the showers are excellent. The staff was always friendly, and remembered me after visiting a couple of times. Free wireless internet is all over (only needs a room number and departure date), and there is also wired access in the room. Breakfast was pretty decent. It is next to Mess Ost/Gruga-Halle station, and there are many restaurants nearby on Rüttenscheider Straße.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticessen, Manager at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear guest
thank you so much for that kind feedback. We would be happy to welcome you again very soon!
Kind regards
the ATLANTIC-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Modern, immaculate hotel with friendly staff and excellent service. Good value with a complementary bottle of water in the mini bar, tea and coffee facilities and a varied menu. I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticessen, Manager at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear guest
wow - thank you so much for that kind feedback. We would be happy to welcome you again very soon!
Kind regards
the ATLANTIC-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed spent a night in one of the suites in March 2013. Suffice it to say that the hotel leaves nothing to be desired. The hotel is located directly next to Messe Essen and caters to business travelers, but the location is excellent for anyone looking to stay for pleasure as well. In fact, as many of the guests are traveling strictly for business, leisure guests are free to indulge in the hotel's many amenities undisturbed. A subway station is located directly in front of the hotel--the main station is located just a few stops away--so reaching any of the area's attractions via public transportation is quite convenient. The hotel was impeccably clean, and very pleasing to the eye in terms of its design. The staff was professional, and the food exceeded our expectations. The suite was large, and equipped with everything one would expect from a hotel of this caliber. The bathroom was particularly impressive, and we especially enjoyed the rainfall shower. All in all, the Atlantic truly offers guests much more than a good night's sleep, and shouldn't be passed up by those looking to stay in the Essen area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticessen, Manager at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear guest
thank you so much for that extensive feedback regarding our ATLANTIC Essen.
We are happy that you had a comfortable stay with us and we are happy to welcome you again very soon.
Kind regards
the ATLANTIC-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebic, Croatia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Big, confortable room with relaxing rainfall shower. Free wifi, water and haribo's! Tea and coffe facilities in room.

Right next to Essen messe and only 5 minutes to city centar by metro.

It is the best choice if you are visiting messe in Essen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticessen, Manager at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear guest
thank you so much for that kind feedback. We would be happy to welcome you again very soon!
Kind regards
the ATLANTIC-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed 1 night for business trip with two colleagues. One colleague who travels the most said it met his 3 key criteria: mini bar, bar and restaurant. Rooms large, well appointed, bed firm, pillows comfy, Wedi style wet room with contrasting tiling, free wifi and simple card key mechanism. Germans put he room number on the facing wall outside he rooms rather on the door which speeds up finding your room. Ate in the restaurant and had a superb well cooked lamb chops main course. Breakfast choice was varied and high quality. My German colleague, Bernd marked the sausage own but I found it to my taste. This hotel was recommended by my customer and it was a great choice right next door o the famous Grugahalle. Would happily stay again and I was impressed with hotel security to and from parking area underneath hotel. Tom C Newark

Room Tip: Avoid being on the front as some of he music acts load up their lorries with kit after performing at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticessen, Manager at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear guest
wow-thank you so much for that kind feedback. We would be happy to welcome you again very soon!
Kind regards
the ATLANTIC-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I often have to travel to Essen for work and always stay at the Atlantic. It is quite close to the exibition centre and a very nice Park called Gruga.
The hotel itself is very beautiful and modern, everything looks brand new. The staff is very helpful and polite.
The rooms are excellent, good size, all that you need, workdesk, closet, TV, safe and minibar. Amenities in the bathroom, bathtube with shower. The bed is also excellent and comfortable. Linens feels clean and new.
The breakfast is totally worth the price. Very rich buffet, all you can imagine.
The only "but" is that if you arrive by car their parking lot is quite small. There are other public parking facilities outside the hotel, but they get very crowded during exibition periods, so bear in mind.
Taxi from Dusseldorf airport costs around 50 EUR. Taxi to the city centre around 10 EUR.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticessen, Manager at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear guest
thank you so much for that kind feedback. We are very happy that the ATLANTIC Essen is your 1st choice in Essen. We are looking forward to your next stay!
Kind regards
the ATLANTIC-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen

Address: Norbertstr. 2a, 45131 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Essen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.