We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location for a railway traveller” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterCityHotel Essen

Save Saved
You added InterCityHotel Essen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterCityHotel Essen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hachestrasse 10, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Stadtkern)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 68 hotels in Essen
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“perfect location for a railway traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

only 5 minutes by foot from the main railway station to the hotel makes it very convienient.
the room is nice and if you have a room to the back it's quite.
The bed is comfortable.

You have to pay for the internet and also for the breakfast.
But in the railwaystation there is free internet for example at Starbucks and you
get probably a cheaper breakfast in any of the places in the station.

Room Tip: get a room to the back or the inner court
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    38
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
7
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Fab place.... all staff very helpful and aways smiling.... room was clean and really enjoyed my stay....I would recommend this hotel to stay at....outside patio area small.... not a great view but the service was excellent....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with my 5mth old; 2 year old and my husband whilst working in Essen. This hotel provided for us a "studio" (don't be fooled - NO self-catering facilities other than a kettle.) This room was their largest room and it was more than adequately sized for a family. No shower, which is typical in Germany and typically annoying for bathing children, but for a short stay, bearable. They provided a low bed for my toddler, which was comfortable and safe - no danger of her falling out! The room was extremely clean and the room facilities were good - though the hair dryer was quite pathetic.

It is extremely close to the Essen Hauptbahnhoff and that is jolly convenient if travelling by train or needing to get to the airport (which is 22 mins direct train journey to Dusselfdorf Airport.) We had a room on the side of the railway but didn't hear it through the German double glazing! The air conditioning can be switched off, which is better than a lot of hotels. The hotel is very close to good restaurants and shops.

The wifi was an absolute rip off - EUR14.50 for 24 hrs. Needless to say, we didn't use it. Unacceptable in this day and age to charge that. That has knocked my overall rating down.

The breakfast is good and the were staff helpful enough, though I was surprised they were not able to tell me where there to find a children's playground. (Behind the Philharmonie concert hall! I found it.)

For a hotel in a convenient location, this is rather good. It's certainly clean!

Room Tip: We were on the railway side but undisturbed due to the good double glazing. In the height of summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in December. It is an average hotel, 4 stars quoted but more like 3 stars. The rooms are small in size, small beds with furniture too old for a 4 star rating. As an additional note in the right bathroom that is clean and modern with a nice shower. Breakfast is modest restaurant is medium in size. The staff is not very communicative and gives the impression of a boring hotel. The advantage for this hotel would be its center location. I do not know how are other hotels in Essen but I will not come back at Intercity Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Conveniently placed, 200m from the railway station. A bit too long the waiting time at the reception. Absurd price for wifi Internet, 14€ a day, and no LAN. Breakfast ok. Rooms are clean and staff is nice. I'll go again, but Internet is not a plus.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velden am Worther See, Austria
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Relying on public transport the location is excellent. It is maybe a three minutes walk from the main railway station, albeit it is not visible from the exit. Walk a few steps to the left (westwards) and you see it. My main meeting was actually not in Essen but in Düsseldorf, what is an easy 30 minutes train ride away, Düsseldorf airport is closer. You can't go a lot more central in Essen either, with shops, bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. The hotel is in a complex that looks quite new. Front desk staff was a little indifferent upon my arrival, though to be fair I arrived fairly late. On other occasions staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was on the second floor, towards the road and the railway tracks. This was not an issue for me since the sound insulation is very good. The room was very modern, functional and comfortable, with a good bed and a desk. I spent some wake time there as well since I had a few things to prepare and outside it was pouring with rain anyway. The bathroom too was good sized and the shower head impressive. Everything was absolutely spotless. On departure I could leave my luggage at the reception without extra charge. Tickets for local public transport are included in the rate. I did not have breakfast at the hotel. WiFi is available at an outrageously high price. Otherwise value for money was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Stayed here at least 25 times in last 12 months, very nice Hotel, not the cheapest but very nice. Reception staff very helpful, rooms really nice, modern and clean, bed is a bit hard but fine. Breakfast is really good, great selection. Hotel has a bar but no food other than breakfast, Wi Fi is not free but in reception is computer with internet access and printer which is free. If you are light sleeper ask for rooms on upper floors. All rooms have A/C which you need in summer months. Hotel location very central to main train station and main shopping area.

Room Tip: Nice Hotel, central, clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterCityHotel Essen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterCityHotel Essen

Address: Hachestrasse 10, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen > Stadtkern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 68 hotels in Essen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — InterCityHotel Essen 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your InterCityHotel Essen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterCityHotel Essen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.