We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Duisburg City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Duisburg City to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Duisburg City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Landfermann Strasse 20, 47051 Duisburg, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Novotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Duisburg
York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This Hotel is lovely. Very Central. The Hotel staff were all very nice and very helpful. The rooms were smart and very clean and warm as we stayed in November. We will return. Bar prices very reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    159
    96
    16
    14
See reviews for
81
84
50
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I stopped in Duisburg as a good stop off point for and evening in Dusseldorf and before a trip to Amsterdam.

The hotel is good value and a lower price than comparable hotels in Dusseldorf as long as you're ok with a 20 minute train ride or a short drive.

Can only really give comments on the room and the facilities.

Bit of a surprise when we arrive to be told there is no running water in the hotel until 18.00 (and hadn't been since 09.00); thankfully we checked-in at 16.00.

There is a swimming pool at the hotel but it's out of use with no confirmed date as to when it will be available.

Positives:
1. The beds are comfortable and the rooms spotless.
2. The front desk staff are polite and very helpful.
3. The wi-fi is free and very good connection allowing streaming (to a smartphone)

Negative:
1. The main entrance as directed from the train station takes you through a very underutilised shopping mall which is a bit unusual. If you're back to the hotel after 19.00 you have to walk around the shopping mall to get to the hotel entrance.
2. If you need a hotel with a pool the only option are public pools in the city.

We decided against the breakfast option at €18 per person.

If I was in the city again would stay but only after checking all the options available.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Easy access from the highways and nice location because very close to the city center and the big shopping center (Forum). Nice room with easy access to internet via wifi (6 euros per day), huge choice of TV channels, great design of the bathroom and the breakfast is great in terms of quality and choice. Nothing to declare, may be the swimming pool is closed for an unlimited time so please be honest inform the clients on your website, thanks in advance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Too cold in the room, you have no control over the heating (if was indeed turned on).
The blankets provided were more appropriate for a cold summer night than for the fall season.
Location is good, parking is ok, chap but not free.
Good points for free Internet access
Don't buy breakfast for 18 euro/person, at the corner of the street it's a nice café shop with everything and much cheaper.
Personal at the hotel didn't know about some of the city attractions like "Tiger and Turtle magic mountain" so I had to find it by myself (Take coordinates before going, it's not easy to find even with GPS).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We arrived after a very long journey and needed to get quickly to our room for some rest. The check in was very quick and we found our room tidy and excellent for our needs. Enough space for everything and comfortable shower let us calm down after a full day of driving. Then we enjoyed a complimentary welcome drink with hot dinner. I must admit that our drink was much better than the schnitzel with chips . We wanted to visit a swimming pool and when I had opened the door with my swipe card I fell into a hole- there was an ongoing refurbishment. Terrified we went back to our room and slept all night. The following day we had our breakfast with a good selection of food. The hotel itself is well situated with a close proximity to shopping centres and not far away from inner port- so you can enjoy a morning stroll.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Good all round experience. I was very tired when I arrived, but an efficient and friendly check-in, nice shower, complimentary beer in the bar, a choice of English speaking tv channels, crisp sheets, good mattress and a decent breakfast meant I left feeling fully refreshed. It was a Sunday night rate but £90 seemed like good value to me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Duisburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Duisburg City

Address: Landfermann Strasse 20, 47051 Duisburg, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Novotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Duisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Duisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Duisburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star hotel Mercure Duisburg City offers 162 comfortable rooms in an exclusive city location, close to the trade fair and congress centres in Essen and Dusseldorf. Have a cocktail and relax in our hotel bar Marina Lounge, then spoil yourselfin theMarina Club restaurant. Our five multifunctional conference rooms offer the perfect setting for all your functions for up to 200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Hotel Duisburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Duisburg City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Duisburg City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.