We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great German food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zum Schiffchen

Zum Schiffchen
Hafenstrasse 5, Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
0211-132421
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 1,421 Restaurants in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Berlin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great German food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I always take friends and family from the US here when the visit. Reliably good traditional German food with a great atmosphere!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    202
    59
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I was not able to get a table on their patio, so I sat inside.
What a pleasant surprise! A cozy charming interior, excellent and fast service.
The atmosphere added to the good food, a traditional Sauerbraten with the Kloesse (dumplings) and red cabbage. I found the price very adequate.
It was my last evening before flying back home, and I was looking for a place that makes a good Sauerbraten. Loved it, absolutely loved it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Food and Drink at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I ate hachsen and saurkreut washed down with the local Dusseldorf dark beer. The atmosphere was magic with lots of people making happy noise. The location is also great, right in the old quarter.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“excellent food, nice service and cool location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

we find this resturant by change while hanging around Düsseldorf city centre. It is on a side street..away from touristic street not easy to be noticed!but it was definitely worth finding it!The food was delicious..served in a really nice combination on the dish!excellent meat with wonderful dressing!the waiter was taking care of us in a nice way!the location insíde was supercool..old style forniture..even on corner there is written that Napoleon was sitting there! :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“waited all week for this!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This restaurant was on my travel list and was my grand final dinner before departing back to the USA. Can be summed up in 3 easy words....DON'T MISS IT!..... I tried the famous Saurbratten dinner with potato dumpling and red cabbage, fantastic!!! Their Alt bier is excellent. Can't say enough, all the hype, they earn it!! Don't miss out on a chance to eat there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Schiffchen also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Zum Schiffchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zum Schiffchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.