We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a drink” 4 of 5 stars
Review of meerbar

meerbar
Neuer Zollhof 1, 40221 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Unterbilk)
0211 / 339 84 10
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #127 of 1,329 restaurants in Dusseldorf
Price range: $0 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Unterbilk
Athens
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place for a drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The customers are quite old, over 45...:(
The atmosphere is great!
It is also very nice for a coffee during the day, when the weather is good for sitting outside

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    35
    65
    20
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great scenery, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Was here this week with a group of clients. The location on the harbor is beautiful - check out the metal clad Frank Gehry building just up the street while you are here. The inside of the restaurant contrasts brick walls with glittering mirror balls, intersting artwork and fresh Japanese cherry blossoms that are flown in weekly. The scene is trendy and fun with a young, attractive crowd. The food is good but not exceptional. Portions were on the small side. The entrees were very good, the desserts and side dishes were not. Come to enjoy the scene and the setting but do not expect to be knocked out by the food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Trendy venue with good view but average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Really liked the staff, the venue is one of the best in Dusseldorf for looks, and the location is nice (right by the water). It's not too far from the old town either. But if you're looking for food, go to Reef and Beef.

I'd still definitely recommend Meerbar if you're passing through, but make the effort to go to Reef and Beef if you're more of a foodie.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Trendy, interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Meerbar was the selection for dinner and it was a good experience. It is tucked in between other buildings and probably not easily noticed by those who don't know, but its reputation make it somewhat of a landmark.
When I first walked in, I only noticed the very large bar area, but just to the right was an equally large dining area with long tables and quite busy. The lighting was provided by large, hanging globes over what appeared to be a plain concrete floor - or maybe that is just what it felt like. The tables and chairs are heavy, solid wood and don't slide easily, but they don't wobble either. Though it was Thursday, the place was quite busy and a bit noisy, but not too loud. We were seated near a rear door used for smokers to stand outside and smoke (rear of the building), and this as a bit annoying especially as it cooled later in the evening. But the waitress kept closing the door while the smoking patrons kept leaving it open.
But this is a restaurant and I was here for the food. As the name indicates, this is primarily a sea-food place and so we placed appropriate orders for food - I took an Asparagus-cream soup with shrimp as appetizer. It was served in a huge bowl and was a bit sweet for my taste, but still very good.
My main meal was Yellow-fin tuna served on hash browns and vegetables with a tasty little sauce. It was delicious! The tuna was seasoned just right, cooked medium to keep it juicy and the vegetables (asparagus, beans, carrots) were fresh and crispy. We had Hugo - sparkling wine, juice and mineral water and of course regular sparkling water. It was not a cheap meal, but it was worth it.
It is a site of sorts in D-dorf and fills it's niche. The service was equally good, attentive and prompt. Though quite busy, our food was served quickly and was hot and tasty. For anyone who doesn't mind a bit of noise and bustle, this is a great place for a business or private dinner.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I really like this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Meerbar is a really neat place at the harbour of Dusseldorf. Go there for a drink, the bar is excellent with a very cosy interior. There are comfy seats if you just want to sit at ease for a drink but for those full of energy, there is a dance floor too which becomes more crowded later in the evening. I have eaten there too, the setting of the restaurant is great, the food is good, but the service lacked a bit. I would anyway still recommend this place if visiting Dusseldorf (travel or business).

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed meerbar also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to meerbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage meerbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.