We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and breakfast but cold pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim Hotel Duesseldorf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Maritim Hotel Duesseldorf to your Saves list
Maritim Hotel Duesseldorf
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Maritim-platz 1, 40474 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 243 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great room and breakfast but cold pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I needed to stay at Dusseldorf Airport and the Maritim seemed a good bet. The room was very comfortable though coffee making facilities would have helped. I fancied a swim before breakfast and descended in the dedicated lift to the pool area. It looked very attractive with a good view and pleasant ambience but, surprise, surprise , is unheated. What a disappointment!
The breakfast was excellent if expensive at €23 per person. We enjoyed it very much with wide variety of hot and cold food. Freshly made fried eggs and omelettes were very tasty.
I recommend it as long as a swim is not too important to you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peglegManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dubai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

had a chance to stay for 8 hrs while in transit . good thing is next to the airport but the price for a day was 199 euros breakfast not included . the rooms are nice clean and modren but tthe room I was staying in I think the exhaust of the toilet was not working . it was more like premier inn with Four seasons prices.
The good thing they get this breakfast set up at 4 .30 in the morning which is free like tea coffee .
Any ways I would stay again but this time will try to book in advance may they will go easy on the price.
I was also charged 5 euros when I put a childrens cartoon chanel on. They dont have any options on their tv sets in english so be aware

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanwar Adnan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night since our flight got cancelled and we were given a room here. The staff was very friendly, the rooms clean and the bed very comfortable. One of the staff even phoned the cooks so that we could get some hot meals a la carte although the kitchen was officially closed. The pool is below average why we only give for points but besides this there is nothing to complain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltheworld34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Rooms good apart from rubbish plastic shower head. Food is good. Check in and check out is appalling it took 20 mins on both occasions! Business meeting rooms smelled of sewage as a result of air conditioning fault, apparently this was a recognised problem. No wifi in the rooms-essential for a business hotel. In summary it could be a good 4 star hotel if they fixed these problems but they fail to meet the standard.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Arrived at the hotel after a long day to be greeted by long queues at check-in. It took 25min to check in. When it was my turn, the registration had not been filled out in advance (which it had not either for others). Unacceptable.

The room was large and quiet. It was relatively clean, but certainly not four stars clean, i.e. I did find a hair on the floor, the bath tub did have limescale marks and the carpets were not vacuumed in the corners, but the bed was very nice and comfortable.

Upside: no noise, nice bed, lots of space. I have not used any bars or restaurants, but they seemed cool and were busy with people.

Downsides: wireless internet was only availble via an external (hotel external) provider and the hotel did not provide any information on how to connect. Despite having a big spa, the hotel offered no bathrobe or slippers.

Breakfast for EUR23 was too expensive and I decline it.

Checkout took another 20min - there was no express service.

Overall, good hotel, but Maritim does lack some international standards when it comes to services that are basic fare in other places (express check out etc.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Critical_Mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Absolutely marvellous, quality hotel. Nice spacious rooms, courteous well behaved staff. Would recommend it to any one planning to stay business or otherwise. Of note was good quality high variety breakfast.
Now some constructive criticism: At this level of business, mainly aimed at corporate sector, it was very surprising not to have internet as part of the package. Room Internet packages offered did not suit as either these were for 60 min or a full day (did support VPN). The T-Mobile wi-fi did not specify whether it supported VPN and again the duration of package meant it was a no-go. I did end up buying internet for a 24-hr period (Euro 15) but as I was in the conference most of the day, it meant most of it went waste.
Asked for iron/board in the room and despite asking twice, wasn't brought. No tea facilities in the room and had to ask for it and again the tea bags weren't replenished the next day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrazanaqvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for two nights while attending a conference within the hotel. Very nice room, very clean and all modcons. However, given it's mainly aiming at the business traveller and delegates for meetings, the hotel my benefit from having wifi included in the room fee. Huge variety at breakfast, however, considering the reputation of the hotel, the food of an evening is very average.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces away from the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMed_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Lindner Hotel Airport
#73 of 243 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Dusseldorf
#3 of 243 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Avidon Art & Design Hotel
#54 of 243 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Duesseldorf

Address: Maritim-platz 1, 40474 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#14 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#19 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Maritim Hotel Duesseldorf 4.5*
Number of rooms: 533
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Maritim Hotel Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing