We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and breakfast but cold pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim Hotel Duesseldorf

Save Saved
You added Maritim Hotel Duesseldorf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Duesseldorf
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Maritim-platz 1, 40474 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 242 hotels in Dusseldorf
Manchester
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great room and breakfast but cold pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I needed to stay at Dusseldorf Airport and the Maritim seemed a good bet. The room was very comfortable though coffee making facilities would have helped. I fancied a swim before breakfast and descended in the dedicated lift to the pool area. It looked very attractive with a good view and pleasant ambience but, surprise, surprise , is unheated. What a disappointment!
The breakfast was excellent if expensive at €23 per person. We enjoyed it very much with wide variety of hot and cold food. Freshly made fried eggs and omelettes were very tasty.
I recommend it as long as a swim is not too important to you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    208
    47
    21
    6
See reviews for
51
92
50
279
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

had a chance to stay for 8 hrs while in transit . good thing is next to the airport but the price for a day was 199 euros breakfast not included . the rooms are nice clean and modren but tthe room I was staying in I think the exhaust of the toilet was not working . it was more like premier inn with Four seasons prices.
The good thing they get this breakfast set up at 4 .30 in the morning which is free like tea coffee .
Any ways I would stay again but this time will try to book in advance may they will go easy on the price.
I was also charged 5 euros when I put a childrens cartoon chanel on. They dont have any options on their tv sets in english so be aware

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night since our flight got cancelled and we were given a room here. The staff was very friendly, the rooms clean and the bed very comfortable. One of the staff even phoned the cooks so that we could get some hot meals a la carte although the kitchen was officially closed. The pool is below average why we only give for points but besides this there is nothing to complain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Rooms good apart from rubbish plastic shower head. Food is good. Check in and check out is appalling it took 20 mins on both occasions! Business meeting rooms smelled of sewage as a result of air conditioning fault, apparently this was a recognised problem. No wifi in the rooms-essential for a business hotel. In summary it could be a good 4 star hotel if they fixed these problems but they fail to meet the standard.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Arrived at the hotel after a long day to be greeted by long queues at check-in. It took 25min to check in. When it was my turn, the registration had not been filled out in advance (which it had not either for others). Unacceptable.

The room was large and quiet. It was relatively clean, but certainly not four stars clean, i.e. I did find a hair on the floor, the bath tub did have limescale marks and the carpets were not vacuumed in the corners, but the bed was very nice and comfortable.

Upside: no noise, nice bed, lots of space. I have not used any bars or restaurants, but they seemed cool and were busy with people.

Downsides: wireless internet was only availble via an external (hotel external) provider and the hotel did not provide any information on how to connect. Despite having a big spa, the hotel offered no bathrobe or slippers.

Breakfast for EUR23 was too expensive and I decline it.

Checkout took another 20min - there was no express service.

Overall, good hotel, but Maritim does lack some international standards when it comes to services that are basic fare in other places (express check out etc.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Absolutely marvellous, quality hotel. Nice spacious rooms, courteous well behaved staff. Would recommend it to any one planning to stay business or otherwise. Of note was good quality high variety breakfast.
Now some constructive criticism: At this level of business, mainly aimed at corporate sector, it was very surprising not to have internet as part of the package. Room Internet packages offered did not suit as either these were for 60 min or a full day (did support VPN). The T-Mobile wi-fi did not specify whether it supported VPN and again the duration of package meant it was a no-go. I did end up buying internet for a 24-hr period (Euro 15) but as I was in the conference most of the day, it meant most of it went waste.
Asked for iron/board in the room and despite asking twice, wasn't brought. No tea facilities in the room and had to ask for it and again the tea bags weren't replenished the next day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for two nights while attending a conference within the hotel. Very nice room, very clean and all modcons. However, given it's mainly aiming at the business traveller and delegates for meetings, the hotel my benefit from having wifi included in the room fee. Huge variety at breakfast, however, considering the reputation of the hotel, the food of an evening is very average.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces away from the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maritim Hotel Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Duesseldorf

Address: Maritim-platz 1, 40474 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#4 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#17 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Maritim Hotel Duesseldorf 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Maritim Hotel Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel düsseldorf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritim Hotel Duesseldorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.