We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Dusseldorf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Dusseldorf to your Saves list
InterContinental Dusseldorf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koenigsallee 59, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 243 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lugano, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Business hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

For business I stayed at this hotel just for 1 night. My room was on the second floor so I had access to the business facilities as well as for breakfast and other snacks during the day. The hotel is closed to everything, near the shopping street and closed enough to the old town, I walked there and he took me 5 minutes. I must admit it is one of the convinient business hotel I ever stayed, excellent value for money! You must try the bar and ask for Elisabeth an excellent bartender.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    145
    32
    11
    6
See reviews for
60
146
25
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Having left the hotel after just under a week staying in a suite there are a couple of things I would like to express, firstly congratulations on a great bunch of enthusiastic young staff who appear to love what they do, you can't buy that attitude and we encounterd it so many times, executive floor, concierge, doorman, even our babysitter!!!!!!!!

Unfortunately there are a couple of negative comments, I think a family of three staying in a suite need more than a small bottle of water????!!!!!!

In addition we found that the food in the club lounge wasn't acceptable on a couple of occasions! I tried a cheese cake, took a mouthful and it was frozen. I also encounterd my worst French toast I have ever had !!!!! My husband had poached eggs that were terrible. These are basic items I honestly couldn't believe how you could get them so wrong!!!!!!!!!

We also found the water would run hot and cold which can be dangerous when children are having a shower.

Besides theses couple of comments, we loved the location of the hotel, there's no better location in Dusseldorf.

Room Tip: Get a room on high floor away from Tram noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_DUS, Manager of Quality and Performance at InterContinental Dusseldorf, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
​Dear ​Daisy,

thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about you experiences during your recent stay. You are so right, we are proud to have a fantastic team of young and enthusiastic professionals which really love their job.

Please take our sincere apologies regarding your visit at our Club Lounge. It seems that we have not been able to provide you with the usually high standard of food at this outlet. In the meantime I have analysed your observations with our Executive Chief and improvement measures​ have already been taken.

Thank you for mentioning the ​hot and cold running water​. We immediately controlled the water management system on all floors, finding that everything is working properly. Nevertheless those remarks help us a lot to ensure our guest safety.

Thank you again for staying with us ​at the InterContinental Düsseldorf ​and ​ we hope to see you again soon.

​Kind regards,

Michaela Weisskopf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Just got back from a buissiness trip. Stayed at this hotel 3 nights and evevrything was just perfect.
Great location, friendly staff, rooms and food at a very high level. BEST SPOT IN THE CITY !
I will come back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_DUS, Manager of Quality and Performance at InterContinental Dusseldorf, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Dayana C,
we are so glad to read, that you really enjoyed your stay at the InterContinental Düsseldorf.
Hope you come back very soon!
Kind regards,
Michaela Weisskopf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zottegem, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Brief summary: luxury @ the best spot in the city

As from upon arrival by car we had a warm welcome from the staff; the gratitude of the staff was really remarkable during the whole stay. You feel important as a guest.

Rooms are spacious & spotless.

Room service was excellent; service with an added value!

5 stars for sure...

Room Tip: Non smoking room on a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We chose the Intercontinental for a short visit to the city before travelling further in Germany. The location, on the the Konigsallee is ideal, being so close to the excellent shops on the other side of an ornamental, tree-lined canal.
As expected of a top-quality hotel, the staff were extremely welcoming and professional. They were also friendly, courteous and helpful. We arrived earlier than expected, several hours before normal check-in time, but the desk staff went out of their way to give us a room immediately. We found the room to be of a generous size, well-appointed and with an excellent bathroom with separate shower cubicle. Air-con was good and quiet. Room service was quick and efficient. Wonderful pillows!
We had a reasonable meal in the restaurant on one night (not cheap) but went out for breakfast as we thought the quoted hotel price, at €31 p/p was rather too much.
The pianist in the lobby played the kind of muzak normally heard in the lift!
We would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: To avoid the noise from trams at the rear of the hotel, ask for a room overlooking Konigsallee (like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pijnacker
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

It is not the first time I go to Dusseldorf and prefer to stay at the Intercontinental which is directly on the Konigsallee. A really fantastic shopping lane. The staff of the Hotel is fantastic from the moment you arrive by car. Check in is very friendly and the business lounge is a great place to be and relax. So when you are in Dusseldorf - It is fantastic to be at the IC.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This is the only InterContinental Hotel I've ever stayed at...I usually do more Holiday Inns and Crowne Plazas. In comparison to those other brands, the InterContinental Dusseldorf was definitely glitzy, but that was mostly apparent in the lobby and didn't translate to the room, which was by necessity smaller than what I could get at a Crowne Plaza since everything is up-charged for the InterContinental brand. Also, no complimentary upgrade for being an IHG Platinum member. Value for price-wise, this is not a hotel I would recommend. I really think Crowne Plaza hits the sweet spot between utility and luxury; I'm sure the InterContinental offers services that the lower tier IHG brands do not, and those may be fantastic. So my advice is: if you want to stay here, you should be prepared to shell out a hefty sum to truly take advantage of the marque. I'm obviously not the type of guest this hotel is targeted toward, and this review is really intended for those who are like me, people who enjoy some perks but nevertheless want to get the most bang out of their buck.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_DUS, Manager of Quality and Performance at InterContinental Dusseldorf, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear MD2Be,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are very sorry that you have not been fascinated during your recent InterContinental experience, but as our IHG Family of Brands offers 11 different hotel types everybody should be able to find exactly the brand that suits its own needs.

Nevertheless, let me mention some points why our guests love to stay at the InterContinental Düsseldorf. We are located directly on the famous Königsallee where numerous flagship-stores, small boutiques, luxurious jewelers and impressive shopping-malls invite for a leisurely stroll. We are close to our famous Altstadt (old town) where more than 260 pubs line the "longest bar in the world" and in addition you can find a huge number of cultural highlights, like museums, exhibitions and musical venues. Not to forget our ambitious staff, regularly going the extra mile to meet the needs of our guests.

We wish you a beautiful summer and remarkable IHG experiences in the future.

Kind regards,

Michaela Weisskopf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Dusseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Dusseldorf

Address: Koenigsallee 59, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#4 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#4 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Dusseldorf 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Man sagt, es sei DAS HOTEL "FUR KUNST UND KULTUR" AUF DER KO...Denn wer das InterContinental Dusseldorf an der Konigsallee betritt, spurt sofort die moderne Ausrichtung mit der Konzentration auf zeitgenossische Kunst und Lifestyle: eine Artist Wall mit 33 Namen bekannter Dusseldorfer Personlichkeiten, wie Heinrich Heine, Max Ernst, Clara Schumann und Joseph Beuys, schmuckt das 40m hohe Atrium der Lobby. Seit der Eroffung des Hotels 2005 wurde kontinuierlich an Kunst- und Kulturinitiativen gearbeitet, um die lokale Verankerung mit der Kunstmetropole Dusseldorf zu festigen und als der ,,place to stay" fur Kunst- und Kultur weltweit wahrgenommen zu werden. Das Luxushotel auf der wunderschonen Konigsallee ist aber nicht nur aufgrund der besonderen Architektur und Ausrichtung Hot Spot der Stadt: auch kulinarisch hat es Vieles zu bieten, so das Restaurant PEGA und die stylische bar fifty nine, deren Cocktails und Latte Macchiatos legendar sind...An Wochenenden rockige Live Musik meist bis in die fruhen Morgenstunden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your InterContinental Dusseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Dusseldorf Hotel
Intercontinental Hotel Duesseldorf
Intercontinental Hotel düsseldorf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Dusseldorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.